We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply lovely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lyndale Cottage

Lyndale Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lyndale Cottage
The south-facing garden Kitchen/diner/sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Lyndale Cottage
The south-facing garden
Kitchen/diner/sitting room
The kitchen
The main bedroom
The main bedroom
The main bedroom
The second bedroom
The second bedroom
Budleigh High Street
Budleigh Beach
Budleigh Beach
Budleigh Beach
Budleigh Beach
Beach huts at Budleigh
Pebbles on the beach
Otter Head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Budleigh Salterton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
summeradd...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage is really clean, well equiped, cjild friendly, perfect location, enclosed outside space, minutes from the sea or shops and an excellent fish n' chips! Highly recommed this little cottage.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H
1 review
“Comfy, cosy, and well equipped, in great location”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a great time at Lyndale Cottage and would definitely go back. The welcome was warm and a lot of thought had clearly gone into making the cottage feel homely. It's a light and airy space, tastefully decorated, clean, and well equipped; it has the feel of somewhere that the owners care about (e.g. quality beds!) and look after well. The outdoor space is very nicely done and well cared for.

The cottage is nicely tucked away in a quiet location, but very close to the high street (1 minute walk) and the beach (2 minutes). There's a decent chippy, Indian restaurant, Co-op, bakery, deli, and wine shop within a couple of minutes walk, and a snack "shack" on the beech with picnic tables. Further afield there's plenty to do in the surrounding area.

Thanks to Katie for helping to make it a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds, woodburner, open plan living space downstairs
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cld123201...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well equipped cottage in perfect British seaside location”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location close to beach, shops, cafes - all walking distance.
Perfect host who was on hand if/when we needed.
Handy for coastal walks - with/without buggy, lovely cycling routes nearby too.
Our 2 year old loved our stay - safe garden, beach, and park just down the road - perfect.
Visit Beer for some fresh fish.
Visit Topsham for cool shops & cafes esp pig&pallet.
Visit Lily's vineyard in budleigh.
We will be back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thanks Claire. I really appreciate your time in doing this and hopefully we'll see you again sometime. Love Katie x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigbirdUK
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect Half Term Retreat!”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Decided to escape Devon for a half term break with our children, and both Budleigh and Lyndale Cottage proved to be excellent choices irrespective of the time of year and weather.

Communication with the owner beforehand was excellent, gaining entry on arrival was painless, and we were made to feel totally at home from the outset with lots of advice and assistance on places to go and eat. The owners were extremely approachable and helpful throughout our stay.

The accommodation overall is first class. The cottage is extremely well maintained and furnished with a fully provisioned kitchen - perfect if you are keen to do a bit of cooking with the family. The bedrooms are bright and breezy and the beds very comfortable.

As with any stay, it's always the little details that matter - lots of books, DVD's and a good collection of toys on hand. My personal favourite was the enclosed fire - although the central heating is more than up to the task, I quickly became addicted to feeding the fire with logs as there is nothing to beat a nice winter fire in the evening. Luckily the nearby woodshed is also very well stocked!

It's also worth noting that Lyndale is barely a minutes walk from Budleigh high street and the beach is only a couple of minutes more. The town itself is charming and manages to balance being a lovely seaside town without being too brash or over-developed. A lovely place to wander around with plenty of cafes and shops.

If I had but one complaint it was that I let my family zero in on the welcome scones whilst I unloaded the car when we arrived - by the time I finished I'd missed the boat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and Proximity to Town and amenities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel A
1 review
“Perfect base for Jurassic coast ”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just spent a wonderful few days at Lyndale cottage. Ideal location for a Devon getaway with beautiful coastal walks, pretty towns and villages with some great shopping and local food nearby. The hosts are incredibly welcoming and provided lots of local recommendations, and the cottage itself is v cosy and really well stocked with everything you need... Including a good book selection for rainy days. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;