We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint getaway on Sao Miguel”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ribeira Grande, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Guide6563...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint getaway on Sao Miguel”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time staying at this little remodeled chapel during our vacation to the island of Sao Miguel. Francisco and little sweet dog Bennie greeted us when we arrived, and got us settled in and oriented to the house and property. The cottage is centrally located, so it was a good base and provided easy access to all parts of the island. We agree with other reviews that the staircase up to the bedroom is narrow - and would not be ideal for some travelers with mobility issues. We would book again. Enjoyed our stay very much. LM

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden area and the dog
Liked least: musty smell in the bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia1...
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay in a beautiful, well-located cottage”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for almost a week, celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary with a visit (our first) to Sao Miguel. It was a wonderful experience. To start, the house itself is beautiful, - the photos only begin to do it justice - with a large garden and beautiful view of the ocean. The location is very convenient - only about 20 minutes' drive to the airport at Ponta Delgada, a 5-10 minute drive to the supermarket and restaurants, and, as the house is close to a (very quiet) roundabout, it is easy to get out to see the other parts of Sao Miguel. The house's location on a hill allows for privacy and a feeling of getting away from it all; it was a peaceful place to come back to at the end of a day of exploring the island. Bennie, the dog of the house, is a dedicated watchdog, and also very lovable, affectionate, and well-trained. The one thing that I would caution potential visitors about are the stairs that lead from the first floor to the sleeping area above. They are narrow and steep, and it is necessary to go up and down them walking sideways. We managed this just fine, but you have to be focused, slow, and steady. Apart from that, I would highly recommend this beautiful place to anyone who is planning on visiting Sao Miguel. We are still dreaming about it...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the house and garden; the location and view; the dog.
Liked least: The stairs to the sleeping area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BattyBebi...
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A very interesting and unusual place”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want a sleek modern hotel with all the conveniences then don't come here. If you want to stay in an historic, atmospheric quirky house then this is the place for you.
It used to be a rural chapel but modern life has caught up with it and it is now surrounded by houses, on a main road roundabout. It is very private with extensive, beautiful well-tended gardens and a great barbecue area.
The house itself rambles over 2 floors and several rooms, all decorated with interesting objects d'art, memorabilia and paintings. The main room has a sofa, arm chair, dining table, wood burning stove (plenty of logs) gas heater, wifi and satellite TV. This leads to a small kitchen with an oven, toastie maker, kettle, kitchen sink,2 hotplates cupboards and working space. This leads to a smaller room with washing machine and fridge freezer. This leads to a bathroom with toilet, bidet, washbasin, bath with shower and a cobbled floor(Told you it was quirky) Plenty of toiletries. From the main room a steep ladder/staircase leads you to a low mezzanine where there are 2 single beds. This leads to the bedroom with a double bed. The stairs caused us no problems but they would be difficult for disabled or small children.
Our hosts were there to meet us when we arrived and greeted us with a pizza and some regional goodies............ and a dog. We had not expected a dog! He lives in the garden outside and just needs to be fed every day. He was very cute and friendly and they offered to remove him if it was a problem. Not a problem but unexpected.
This is an excellent place for exploring the island and only 15 minutes from the airport if you want to take a day trip to other islands.
We enjoyed this place very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The oddness of it all
Liked least: The unexpected dog
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Live Like a Local”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were extremely happy with our stay at Casa Santa. The pictures are true to the beauty, cleanliness, and open space that this property provides. The owner was prompt, professional, and easy to communicate with. The house was beautiful, with quick access to Ponta Delgada (15 minutes drive) and Ribeira Grande (5 minutes drive).

The property has a beautiful yard with seating areas, an outdoor shower, gardens, and ocean views from the front of the house. There is also an outdoor (wood) grill for cooking. Inside, we made good use of the rustic kitchen at felt right at home. The house is filled with antiques from the turn of the century, which give it an authentic vibe.

This was the perfect place for our first experience on Sao Miguel, and we will certainly stay here again, as it is quiet, serene, and very fairly priced.

The property is located near a busy street (traffic circle), but it was very quiet at night. Local dogs tend to bark, but if you prefer that to the sounds of city life, Casa Santa will provide the perfect escape.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is filled with local antiques and artwork.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awp562
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place is even better in person. We loved everything about it and didn't want to leave. It was a very comfortable stay with great TV and WiFi. The location made going anywhere easily accessible. Grocery store nearby was very convenient. It's just perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing