We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Villa - stunning views and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Il Santo

Villa il santo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views view of villa il santo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views
view of villa il santo
villa il santo sitting room with fireplace
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo living room with view
villa il santo tv sitting room
villa il santo masterroom
villa il santo master room
master room bath room
vilal il santo twin/double bedroom ground floor
twin bedroom
living room with views
annex bedroom at swimming pool  level
villa il santo master room fire place
il santo dining room
villa il santo dining room
al fresco dining area
Villa il santo areal view
Contemporary look renovation in a 1000 y old villa, heart of Chianti, stunning views, great location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J681
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa - stunning views and accommodations!”
Reviewed 3 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent a week at Villa Santo in October with five other couples. Such a beautiful villa - the views are stunning and the accommodations excellent. Enzo and Annagloria are gracious host and are full of suggestions for excursions/day trips. We enjoyed a photo tour with a local photographer, delicious Italian meals cooked in-house by Nadia, sight seeing adventures to Sienna, San Gimignano, Florence, Greve, Panzo, Monteriggioni, and the laughter and fellowship of great friends in this fabulous villa. Hope to return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Awesome view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2016
thank you for your nice review
happy you enjoyed your stay. it is such a pleasure to read our guests' words when they bring up good memories
hope to host you soon again
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillS3022
1 review
“A Slice of Tuscan Beauty!”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Over the past 17years we have stayed at this Villa as well as Annagloria and Enzos' other Villa Castellare in Tavarenella. Needless to say we keep returning for a reason!! The Villas are just beautiful and the owners are simply spectacular! All of the modern amenities, beautiful surroundings, delicious food, wine and the magnificent culture of the area and Italy itself abound!
The owners are amazing in their ability to provide you with the best advice, solutions and ideas to enhance your stay. Balloon rides, cooking classes,wine tours, in Villa chef, truffle hunting,tennis, golf,guided tours of Firenze, Sienna, Chianti and restaurant recommendations. In short they know everyone in the area and can solve any and all problems and questions.
All in all it is the consummate vacation experience. Be as active as you like or vegetate in and around the Villas. They are magical places waiting for you to discover and enjoy!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Returning to my second home and family!
Liked least: Stay was not long enough!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Bill
thank you for the nice review!! We have been blessed 17 years ago and al the years after to have met and hosted you and your friends...since them a strong friendship and the happiness of sharing so many important events in our houses with you n your family and your friends
thank you Annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren E
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Dream vacation in Tuscany”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Villa Il Santo is straight out of a Tuscan dream. The views of the Chianti valley are simply spectacular and can be appreciated from both inside the house and from the multiple outdoor terraces and seating areas. The villa is only 30 minutes from Florence and 10 minutes from the nearest grocery store and yet it is isolated and extremely peaceful. The buildings themselves have undergone extensive renovations that seamlessly blend old, Italian charm with stunning modern finishes. The kitchen is state of the art and easily accommodated our 12 guests. Our hosts, Annagloria and Enzo, were warm and professional and very prompt to respond to questions regarding the villa. Simply put, I cannot recommend this villa enough and cannot wait to return!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
HI Peggy
thank you for your beautiful review, happy you enjoyed your family reunion! it has been a great pleasure for both of us to meet n get to know all of you
You are a marvelous person and it was interesting to talk to you
hope to host you again
Annagloria and Enzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D
1 review
“Holiday of a lifetime”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wow....we really did stumble upon a Tuscan gem nestled in the Chianti hills, over looking the valley and rows of vineyards. We had spent hours on the internet earlier on in the year looking for somewhere for our friends and family to stay for the week as Mark and I had chosen to get married in Tuscany. Then, we came across Villa Il Santo.
On arrival, as we drove down the drive ,this magnificent building came into sight, standing proud on the edge of the hill over looking the most stunning scenery. The contrast of the bright colours in the garden set against the deep greens in the valley was just breathtaking. The sun was shining and as we got out of the car the first thing that struck me was the silence - it was just so peaceful there.
The villa is absolutely beautiful. It is large, and even with sixteen guests staying it still felt spacious with several different places for people to sit and relax quietly without feeling claustrophobic.
Annagloria and Enzo have renovated the villa to the highest spec possible. It is so tasteful - it retains all the old characteristics of the hay barn and watch tower and yet it is modern and fresh inside with every household appliance that you could ever wish for.
This was by far the best holiday we have ever had - obviously our wedding day was amazing but the stay in the villa was a magical holiday and one that none of us will ever forget. The scenery, the luxury of the villa and the peacefulness are the three things which stick in my mind the most. We will definitely be coming back next year.

Thank you Annagloria and Enzo - it was truly wonderful to meet you. You are both superb hosts.

The Harrimans

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery, luxury and peacefulness
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Dear MRT N MRS Harrimans....it 's nice to read the family name now eh......it took a while to me to get used to use my husband's name.......
thank you for your marvelous words, you are too generous.... we are so happy when our guests are favorable surprised when they arrive at the villa n tell me that pics do not make justice to it...
we work hard to have it coming out the way we were dreaming n happy to know you enjoyed it.
your beautiful group, so young n beautiful n full of joy was perfect for our location....we love joy n happyness!!
hope you will come back to celebrate yoru anniversary!!
Wishing you and Mark all the best
Annagloria n Enzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J G
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“50th Wedding Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

For our 50th Wedding Anniversary trip we were looking for a place that would work for the entire family, 6 adults and 5 children age 13 to 6. In Villa il Santo we found that place.While we did not have all the meals prepared by a Chef,Those that were,welcomming were great from the welcoming dinner to the extra effort they took for our anniversary dinner. What will be remembered by all will be the night the grandchildren were taught how to make pasta which was incorporated into a meal. IlSanto location was perfect for trips to all of the attractions in the area, from cities to small villages. The Villa was large enough for active play and swimming, and at the same time had nooks to quietly read a book.A special mention must be made of our hosts, Enzo e Annagloria who were most welcoming,gracious and a great resource for information. We would go back there in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Joe n Peggy
it has been such a pleasure to meet you and your family and to ad the honor you chose our house for your 50th anniversary"!! you have been delicious guests and hope to host you soon again
congratulation for your beautiful family!
Annagloria and Enzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing