We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Il Santo - a stunning estate nestled in the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Il Santo

Villa il santo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views view of villa il santo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views
view of villa il santo
villa il santo sitting room with fireplace
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo living room with view
villa il santo tv sitting room
villa il santo masterroom
villa il santo master room
master room bath room
vilal il santo twin/double bedroom ground floor
twin bedroom
living room with views
annex bedroom at swimming pool  level
villa il santo master room fire place
il santo dining room
villa il santo dining room
al fresco dining area
Villa il santo areal view
Contemporary look renovation in a 1000 y old villa, heart of Chianti, stunning views, great location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon S
Burbank, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Villa Il Santo - a stunning estate nestled in the rolling Tuscan hills”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at this outstanding villa while celebrating a friend's birthday. Eleven adults were easily comfortable in this large, well-appointed home. All bedrooms are en suite, with two being master suites. There is excellent heating throughout, including the atrium passageway between the two historic structures. A recent and well thought out remodel has achieved today's expected comfort level without sacrificing the vintage charm of a typical Tuscan stone estate. Three living rooms, mammoth dining room and spacious, modern kitchen allow you to spread out and relax. The topper is the view from the Villa's oversized windows across the checker-boarded val d'elsa of San Gimiagano with its towers silhouetted in the morning light.

The owners of Villa Petragnano were warm and responsive to all of our needs. Their cook prepared our first night's dinner and it brought a standing ovation from all of us at the meal's conclusion. BTW - The sound of applause in the two-story dining room is joyous and energizing. We found ourselves applauding throughout our visit for the slightest reason - i.e. the appearance of the appetizers, the opening of a bottle of wine, the conclusion of dinner - you get the idea.

I asked the owners for suggestions for a mineral bath and a horseback ride excursion. Prompt response from owner, Annagloria, resulted in a relaxing afternoon soak in the town of Bagna Vignoni. The last full day at the Villa we had a pleasurable ride through the rolling countryside on delightful horses owned by neighboring Il Paretaio Stables.

This was the perfect place for the perfect Tuscan vacation/birthday party. Ciao!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
hI Jean
thank you for your nice review n for the wonderful words
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay, your birthday n activities we suggested
It has been such a pleasure to meet you n your lovely friends n to listen to some good guitarre sounds while stopping by...
hope to have the chance to host you in the future, so many more things to do n to discover n to enjoy!!
ciao annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neaf1
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“All you could hope and wish for in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

An outstanding week in a gorgeous setting! From start to finish, it was just an amazing experience and our 4 month old baby loved his first foreign holiday experience - it will be pretty hard to match it and it will take a while to recover from the Tuscan food and drink overload but many happy memories from a lovely holiday. Thank you for all your help and hospitality.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
HI
happy to know you hae fond memories fo your stay with your little gorgeous baby
wishin gyou all the best n hope to host you soon again, maybe with more kids!!
ciao
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
201Michel...
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
“The most luxurious villa and friendly service in all of Europe!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 for a stay in December 2012

There were 10 adults in our party ranging from 17-70 years of age and every single one of them had the best stay of their life! From the moment Annagloria personally met us late at night on the side of the road to direct us into the property; to the exhilaration of walking through every tastefully renovated room in the entire 1000 year old villa; to the majestic view from every window; to the cosy fireplaces situated throughout various rooms; to the locally grown wine and olive oil stored in our massive kitchen; to the great location of the villa itself - we could not fault this place or the service! There was literally not anything too much to ask of our hosts! They organised sensational local chefs to perform personalised cooking classes and several 4/5 course dinners all in the luxury of the villas magnificent formal dining room. They set up a gorgeous Christmas tree for us to put our presents under. When my father had to be rushed to hospital by ambulance they were there BEFORE the ambulance even arrived to assist in translating everything into Italian for us. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The majority of our family works in hospitably and not one of us could believe the level of personalised service and attention to detail that was provided by the owners. It was our first time not staying in a five star hotel and we were a bit nervous about what it would be like, but we continued around Europe in 5 star hotels for another 6 weeks after our stay at Villa Il Santo and honestly NOTHING compared!!!
If you want the best holiday/experience of your life you MUST stay here... Nothing else will suffice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The massive formal dining room where we had and amzing 4 course Christmas dinner cooked and served to us!
Liked least: Nothing! Except that we should have stayed longer:)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
wuauu, what a review!! thank you sooo much for your nice words n happy we succeeded in mantaining a good memory of your stay despite your father's problem
we enjoyed very much to see how much you enjoyed your stay, our guests' happyness makes our happiness....
it is such a pleasure for us to meet so many people coming from all over the world and we know how much people look forward to their vacation , so we are happy to know you enjoyed yours at our house and we were of some help to make it happened
ciao to all of you
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular 50th Birthday”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My husband and I and 12 friends flew from Australia for my 50th birthday to Villa il Santo. Wow!! The photos do not show how beautiful it is. When we drove down to the Villa and could see San Gimignano in the distance I cried. Every room was spectacular, the furnishings are beautiful. We are all food lovers and the kitchen enabled everyone to get in and enjoy. There are so many living spaces that if you need private time it is easy. Annagloria and Enzo could not have done more for us and Rosanna gave us a fun and informative cooking class. Definitely worth a visit and in summer you can use the pool. Thank yoy

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
HI Helen
thank you for your nice review n for your nice words
we were very emotional too to see you crying in front of our views: it has been the best premium to all the efforts we made to realize our house: once I mentioned to Enzo your sweet reaction he was very touched by it: it is important for us to succeed in making our guests happy!
I really hope to heav ethe chance to host you n your lovely friends again, Australia is far off but onc eyou comeback you will have the pleasure of discovering some new medieval hamlets or a little village, or a small little charming market....I wll be pleased to make sure your next vacation is as memorable as the past one
fondly
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sagebucke...
texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Paradise Under the Tuscan Sun”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This place and location are wonderful. It is truly paradise in Tuscany. The accomodations are extraordinary and the amenities with the pool and ground unsurpassed. Enough room for all to meet together or spread out for solitude. The location provide an excellent base camp for making many short drive daytrips.

The meals are prepared by 2 different cooks one for the morning and the other in evenings. Meals are done with flare and good use of local produce. The accompanying wine selection is quite a treat. Several good restaurants are nearby if you so desire we did so only on one evening.

The owners are wonderful and make you feel so at home. They reside about 5 minutes down the road but are in and out and available at anytime to assist with questions or arrangements.

It is truly one of those places when it comes time to go you want to stay longer and it is difficult to believe that you have already been here for 7 days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautifully restored/remodeled villa
Liked least: I truly can think of nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2013
HI it has been such a pleasure to have you back here...it is so nice to have returning guests...we feel like an old friend is coming to see us!
thank you for the nice words on your review, youa re too nice
we are now building a theatre in the garden of Villa Castellare, but guests of villa il santo are welcome to assist to events, concerts, wine tasting with a sommelier n much more....
next time you come you will have new experiences and will enjoy your stay in Tuscany
have a Merry Christmas and a healthy 2014!
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1 768
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing