We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular 50th Birthday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Il Santo

Villa il santo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views view of villa il santo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views
view of villa il santo
villa il santo sitting room with fireplace
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo living room with view
villa il santo tv sitting room
villa il santo masterroom
villa il santo master room
master room bath room
vilal il santo twin/double bedroom ground floor
twin bedroom
living room with views
annex bedroom at swimming pool  level
villa il santo master room fire place
il santo dining room
villa il santo dining room
al fresco dining area
Villa il santo areal view
Contemporary look renovation in a 1000 y old villa, heart of Chianti, stunning views, great location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen R
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular 50th Birthday”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My husband and I and 12 friends flew from Australia for my 50th birthday to Villa il Santo. Wow!! The photos do not show how beautiful it is. When we drove down to the Villa and could see San Gimignano in the distance I cried. Every room was spectacular, the furnishings are beautiful. We are all food lovers and the kitchen enabled everyone to get in and enjoy. There are so many living spaces that if you need private time it is easy. Annagloria and Enzo could not have done more for us and Rosanna gave us a fun and informative cooking class. Definitely worth a visit and in summer you can use the pool. Thank yoy

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
HI Helen
thank you for your nice review n for your nice words
we were very emotional too to see you crying in front of our views: it has been the best premium to all the efforts we made to realize our house: once I mentioned to Enzo your sweet reaction he was very touched by it: it is important for us to succeed in making our guests happy!
I really hope to heav ethe chance to host you n your lovely friends again, Australia is far off but onc eyou comeback you will have the pleasure of discovering some new medieval hamlets or a little village, or a small little charming market....I wll be pleased to make sure your next vacation is as memorable as the past one
fondly
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sagebucke...
texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Paradise Under the Tuscan Sun”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This place and location are wonderful. It is truly paradise in Tuscany. The accomodations are extraordinary and the amenities with the pool and ground unsurpassed. Enough room for all to meet together or spread out for solitude. The location provide an excellent base camp for making many short drive daytrips.

The meals are prepared by 2 different cooks one for the morning and the other in evenings. Meals are done with flare and good use of local produce. The accompanying wine selection is quite a treat. Several good restaurants are nearby if you so desire we did so only on one evening.

The owners are wonderful and make you feel so at home. They reside about 5 minutes down the road but are in and out and available at anytime to assist with questions or arrangements.

It is truly one of those places when it comes time to go you want to stay longer and it is difficult to believe that you have already been here for 7 days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautifully restored/remodeled villa
Liked least: I truly can think of nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2013
HI it has been such a pleasure to have you back here...it is so nice to have returning guests...we feel like an old friend is coming to see us!
thank you for the nice words on your review, youa re too nice
we are now building a theatre in the garden of Villa Castellare, but guests of villa il santo are welcome to assist to events, concerts, wine tasting with a sommelier n much more....
next time you come you will have new experiences and will enjoy your stay in Tuscany
have a Merry Christmas and a healthy 2014!
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Practically perfect, in every way”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Our extended family group of 13 adults had a truly delightful stay in Villa Il Santo.

We loved:

The beautiful villa -- a plethora of lovely rooms, each with its own en-suite. The renovation of the villa is beautifully done. The kitchen and bathrooms are a pleasure to use. The details are thoughtful and tasteful.

The exquisite views -- these went on forever and encompassed vineyards, olive groves, cypresses, and lovely medieval structures, including the medieval Manhattan, San Gimignano.

Having a great base for visiting Tuscany -- the villa is situated midway between Siena and Florence (a full day visit ), in close proximity to Certaldo (historic centre is worth a quick visit), San Gimignano (beautiful, had dinner and a stroll there), Volterra (spent the afternoon and loved it; and the drive between San Gimignano and Volterra is spectacular), Monteriggioni (a fun and easy breakfast stop on the way to Rome). The villa is a short walking distance to the hamlet of Petrognano, site of a well-rated restaurant and a lovely collection of mostly abandoned honey-coloured stone buildings, and is a long walk (or short drive) to Barberino di Val d'Elsa, where the local co-op grocery store was convenient for quick supplies, and the Thursday morning market in the town square provided delicious treats (fine cheeses, excellent cured meats, fresh fish, etc.). We also made a day trip further afield, to the Cinque Terre, with a stop in Lucca, which we very much enjoyed. This is a two-hour drive though, so non North Americans may find it a little far to go. All that said, we also enjoyed just resting and relaxing on the property itself!

Annagloria -- She helped us a lot. She gave us terrific recommendations on what to see and do; she made arrangements and reservations for a wine tour, and a guided visit of Florence's Accademia, Uffizi and Vasari Corridor and organized a delightful classical concert for us in the Villa by a talented soprano and pianist.

Rosanna -- Rosanna, the cook, prepared our welcome meal. We hired her for breakfast the following day and for two more dinners. The food she prepared was traditional Tuscan, and very good home fare, with multiple courses based on local ingredients. But for several of us, even better was the opportunity to work with her in the kitchen and enjoy her instruction and company, while expanding our Italian vocabulary. She is a treasure.

Enzo and Annagloria's wine -- There is a wine fridge in the kitchen stocked with their very good and reasonably priced wine. We helped ourselves most liberally!

There were two drawbacks, one of which was very minor.

First, from the moment we arrived and for the next several days, there was an unfortunate septic odour that was pervasive outdoors. Thankfully, the smell dissipated with the arrival of the warmer weather towards the end of the week, so we were able to enjoy the outdoor areas and the (very cold!) pool. Since no other reviewer has mentioned this, I suppose that it is an unusual occurrence. Annagloria mentioned the weather/prevailing winds, and Enzo mentioned some recent work as the cause. Apparently, waiting for it to pass was the solution.

The second drawback was very minor (and would be easily addressed for the benefit of future guests): for such a high-end villa, offering perfect accommodation for large parties of adults, the coffee making set up is inadequate. Picture thirteen coffee-addicted adults standing around a mid-size electric drip coffee-maker and two small stove-top espresso percolators, waiting for their morning fix. We missed our Jura! Even having more of the espresso percolators (one per couple?) would be an acceptable solution.

These two issues aside, Villa Il Santo ranks with the most beautiful and comfortable places we have stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the style, the comfort...
Liked least: The unfortunate septic odour and the inadequate coffee-making facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2013
HI
thank you sooo much for your nice comments n most of all for pointing out to us the 2 inconveniences:
the smell: finally the week after your depart we found the reason why n solved it!!!!! so next time only nice countryside n roses smell.....;))
for the american coffee slow procedure, I think the major problem was that you were using the regular MOKA italian coffee ( which is a very fine powder) instead of the american coffee: now that you have poitned this to us, in order to solve the problem to future guests, we are supplying the coffee for that coffee maker...
again , thank you for having pointed all this to our attention: it is important for us to know things who don't work in order to try to solve the problem the soonest possible
Next time we will drink a good coffee together and it will be quick!!!
have a merry Christmas
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLisburn
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Most Perfect Tuscan Experience!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Such a wonderful Villa with the most breathtaking views. Anna Gloria and Enzo are wonderful hosts with a wealth of information regarding the area. They suggested perfect spots to eat, shop and see. Villa il Santo was well stocked so we did not have rush to the market upon arrival. The wine fridge filled with good wine at a good price. A lovely restaurant within an easy stroll from the Villa. The kitchen was such a joy to cook in but for the times when we were too tired / lazy to cook, they had a wonderful woman named Rosanna cook scrumptious Italian meals. Thank you Anna Gloria and Enzo for your hospitality and your attention to every detail. We hope to see you again but this time in the autumn so we can watch the olives being harvested and go truffle hunting with you. By the way, thank you for the olive oil...each time we have it, we can't help but remember our Most Perfect Tuscan Experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Villa itself and its location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2013
HI so glad to now you are enjoying hte olive oil n you have such good memories of your stay....re next visit, fall is wonderfull, not too hot, olive harvest, new oil pressing in the pressing mill ( Enzo will be VERY happy to have some help there....) and not only truffle,but some new wine too as well as sunrise on hot air balloon or a vespa ride in the country side and a concert in our new theatre!!
hope to see you soon again n enjoy all above
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSWSYD
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb villa, sublime views, gracious hosts”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Beautifully appointed villa in peaceful location overlooking the magnificent Tuscan countryside. Numerous indoor and outdoor entertaining areas and securely fenced pool in a spacious garden setting. Vistas of San Gimignano in the distance. We were a group of 16, including children, and yet were always able to find a quiet place of solitude within the premises. The fantastic kitchen and amenities made self-catering easy and we also enjoyed the delicious cuisine prepared by the cook the hosts arranged for us for several meals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious villa and grounds.
Liked least: Did not stay long enough.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing