We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house in great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Terrazza Barocca

View from the terrace (San Pietro Cathedral)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the terrace (San Pietro Cathedral)
The terrace in the morning with view (San Giorgio Cathedral) View from the terrace (San Pietro Cathedral)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
View from the terrace (San Pietro Cathedral)
The terrace in the morning with view (San Giorgio Cathedral)
View from the terrace (San Pietro Cathedral)
View from the terrace (San Pietro Cathedral)
View from below of the main house (stone wall) and the guests flat (white)
The view from the rooftops!
The main house
Main house and guest house with terrace for both houses!
Entrance of the main house
Entrance of the guest house
Sitting room (dining table) on top floor of the main house
Sitting room in the main house
Sitting room
kitchen, main house
kitchen, main house
Sitting room, dining table in the main house
Sitting room and dining table
Bedroom on the mezzanine floor in the main house
Bedroom on the mezzanine floor in the main house
amazing cave bathroom on the ground floor of the main house
Ground floor study with sofa bed in the main house
Guests' flat sitting area
Guests' flat sitting area showing the stairs leading up to the terrace
Guests' flat bedroom
Guests' flat bedroom
Guests' flat bathroom
Guests' flat bathroom
Guests' flat cooking area
Laundry and bathroom off the terrace
View
Evening view from the terrace
map showing position of property, access, free parking, etc
The view from the rooftops!
Entrance gate of the Terrace!
Terrace with view!
looking up towards the house from the Cathedral steps
View across to the fashionable Cartellone pedestrian district
View across to the Cartellone pedestrian district, with Terrazza Barocca in front of the Cathedral!
View across to the Cartellone pedestrian district, with Terrazza Barocca in front of the Cathedral!
View across to the Cartellone pedestrian district, with Terrazza Barocca in front of the Cathedral!
View across to the Cartellone pedestrian district, with Terrazza Barocca in front of the Cathedral!
View across to the fashionable Cartellone district, with Terrazza Barocca right in the centre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Modica, Province of Ragusa, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
PaulaPenD
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in great location”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Arriving by bus from Catania Airport, Terrazza Barocca was in the perfect location for us. It was a level walk from Modica bus terminal and, after a quick phone call, Vittorio and Fabio were there to meet us and carry our bags up the steps to the house. (You can't avoid steps in Modica but that's part of its charm.) The house benefits from great views across to Modica Alta, which really is a steep climb to the top!. It's close to the main restaurants and shops but far enough away to get a peaceful night's sleep. It's a great base for exploring Modica on foot, and travelling further afield by bus - during our stay we visited Marina di Modica, Ragusa, Scicli and Punta Secca (via Ragusa).

The house itself is very comfortable and a cool retreat from the heat of the afternoon. Vittorio and Fabio were great hosts: providing bowls of vegetables and fruit and a bottle of wine, some great restaurant recommendations, and books in a variety of languages. I particularly enjoyed looking at the scrapbook detailing the house renovations and the discovery of the caves.

Highly recommended!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Great guests, just the kind of people we love hosting! They left the apartment in perfect conditions. Very nice people, friendly and communicative! Highly recommended!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane K
Kingston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful accommodation - great view from the terrace”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The owners, Vittorio and Fabio, met us on our arrival in Modica. They helped us up the stairs to our accommodation which was right in the centre of the old city - two adjoining small dwellings, each of which was on three levels. They were linked by a wonderful terrace which looked over the old city and St George's cathedral. The kitchen/ dining room in the main house was spacious, modern and fully equipped. We spent most of our time there and on the terrace. Vittorio and Fabio had left us an enormous bowl of freshly picked vegetables and a bottle of wine, so our first meal was right in front of us. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable
The owners were very responsive
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Terazza Barocca

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Dear Diane!
It was a wonderful experience to host you and your friends in our house.
Unforgettable was the dinner were we had a lot of fun and it was a very nice experience to have the chance to talk with our guests and know them better in relaxed atmosphere.
Best wishes
Fabio and Vittorio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kh2568
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best place we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent 5 glorious days in this wonderful apartment overlooking the splendid cathedral of St Pietro.
Our hosts, Vittorio and Valeria, were so friendly and generous, providing us with a welcoming gift of a wide selection of homegrown vegetables and local wine which enabled us to have several excellent meals.
The apartment is the best appointed of any we have stayed in and the cave bathroom was such a unique and special feature. Our teenage daughters shared the guest flat. They were so excited to have a little flat for themselves and it gave us parents space to relax as a couple. The views of Modica were lovely - it is such a pretty little town which really wakes up in the evening when the street lights come on, dotted across the terraces, the trattorias set up along the main streets and the evening air fills with the sound of happy people and the delicious smells of Sicilian cuisine. Needless to say we sampled our fair share of arancini, canneli and, of course, Modican chocolate.
Terazza Barocca is a real gem and we will certainly try to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the apartment
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Dear Karen,
Thanks so much for your nice words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Terrazza Barocca.
It is always our goal that our guests spend a great time in Modica and when they are leaving they return home with a lot of beautiful memories.
We hope to welcome you again one day in our house you are the kind of guests which makes also the hosts happy!

Best wishes
Fabio and Vittorio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigor
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Holy cannoli ! Best view in Modica and fantastic apartment (with 4 caves)”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We loved the apartment with its wonderful terrace and balcony overlooking Cathedral and town . We were greeted by Vitorrio and huge bowls of homegrown veg and a bottle of wine. Everything was provided right down to a beach umbrella and beach towels and even a beach bag for our swim in Punta Secca the "Montalbano" beach.
It's a lovely town with great shops , restaurants and the cannoli and chocolate ( couldn't resist the Batman and Robin pun) are deservedly famous . We were just 2 but it would be perfect for 2 adult couples as both apparent so very comfy but separate and you'd share a wonderful terrace. Not good for small children or elderly as lots of steps in town and flat . good wifi no TV but wifi good enough for I player etc

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Dear Sarah,
Thanks so much for your nice words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Terrazza Barocca.
We hope to welcome you again one day in our house you are the kind of guests which makes also the hosts happy!

Best wishes
Fabio and Vittorio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ispica201...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was a perfect place to stay. Everything was generously appointed and the owner and his family were very welcoming and very responsive to any questions. It was - perfection!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The genourous spirit of the owners.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Great guests, just the kind of people we love hosting! They left the apartment in perfect conditions. Very nice people, friendly, communicative and super kind! Highly recommended and welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;