We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect spot in Le Marche”
Sarnano from the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sarnano from the pool
Sarnano zoom with the villa Sarnano, the medieval village from Villa San raffaello cortile
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Sarnano from the pool
Sarnano zoom with the villa
Sarnano, the medieval village from Villa San raffaello cortile
Apartment damiano double bedroom
The villa and gardens from distance
Apartment Gigi Bedroom
Apartment Damiano  35m Lounge
Apartment Elisa Double bedroom
Apartment Gigi kitchen
The Villa from the pool
The barn apartment with Sibillini Mountains beyond
The Villa at Night
View from the villa
Medieval sarnano from the courtyard
Flank shot of barn apartment
Swings slide and climbing frame
One of the lounges
Apartment Damiano bedroom
The drive at Villa San Raffaello
The front of the villa in evening sun
Apartment Grazia Lounge
Posing at the pool
Dining al fresco in the courtyard
Apartment Gigi Lounge
Sarnano backdrop to some chilling
Apartment Gigi dining
The Sibillini mountains from the pool
The villa from the pool
Mountain views from the garden
Apartment Elisa balcony
Damiano dining and kitchen beyond
Villa from the pool at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sarnano, Province of Macerata, Marche

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Nadine V
Leuven
1 review
“Confused”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I booked Villa San Raffaelo for a week’s holiday for my family based on the many 5-star reviews and the Certificate of Excellence awarded by Tripadvisor. The price paid (E1050 for one week) also indicated a better class of rental. However, on arrival we were very disappointed to find it did not live up to the promise. The property in general was not maintained, with weeds everywhere, dirty garden furniture, broken hammocks, bulging rubbish bags in the parking area, broken gate, DIY repairs in the pool which looked awful, things just lying everywhere. The tables provided for outdoor dining were made from old wooden beams so were filthy as they were impossible to clean. The BBQ was actually a fire on the ground and the dirty grills were just lying next to it in the grass. Then inside our apartment – immediately we were hit by the greasy smell throughout the apartment, and everything was covered with a layer of grease - sticky walls, sticky table, even the TV was sticky. Pans provided for cooking were old and rusty¸and when I mentioned the state of the cake pan to the owner his response was ‘well, who wants to make cakes on holiday?’ The apartment obviously had not been cleaned as there were dead insects and grease on every surface, and I spent the first couple of hours just trying to clean it. We also noticed that towels that had been washed for new guests were just left hanging out on the washing line overnight. The reaction from the owners was very patronizing – I was told to go and have a drink and relax, tomorrow it would look better… but to their credit, after we spent one difficult night there, they did refund almost all the money we had paid in advance and we were lucky that were able to find alternative , very clean accommodation not too far away and left immediately. My confusion here is : how did this property get so many 5-star reviews and a Certificate of Excellence? The photos on their website, the 5-star reviews on Tripadvisor and the price lead the traveler to think that they are booking quality accommodation; however it is not. Not worth the price. (Photographs available).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the owner was correct
Liked least: property not well maintained
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2013
We would like to respond by repeating our shock and upset at the reaction of the Vanlangendonck family to our accommodation upon their arrival. Our 5 star review history on Trip Advisor is one we are very proud of and strive to achieve with each new guest. Our competitively priced apartments offer mid-range comfortable accommodation in a rural setting as depicted on our web site and has been enjoyed by all of our guests, without exception, over the last 6 years. The apartment rented by the family was cleaned by us together with an experienced cleaner, as were the other three apartments that day. However, we realised that a lack of communication resulted in the cleaning of one of the window sills in the living room being missed and unfortunately the tiled splash back in the kitchen was also not sufficiently cleaned. We apologised profusely for this and have insured that this will not happen again. However, in our defence the previous guests who had stayed for two weeks, had done an extraordinary amount of daily frying and we obviously had been unsuccessful in removing all traces of the smell of this.
The maintenance of the property is important to us and we aim to keep the surrounding gardens and natural planting in check without it appearing over manicured and formal. It can be difficult to keep 3 hectares completely weed free but we do try. Our recycling of wooden beams and floor boards as garden furniture reflects our desires to create a rustic and natural feel at the villa by retaining traditional materials where possible. However, we appreciate the comment made and have since covered the wooden table with a wipe clean table cloth. The BBQ is as described; a fire in the ground. Although, it is enclosed by a brick built surround and is in fact a BBQ pit that guests enjoy cooking on and sitting around together. We also have a more conventional portable BBQ available to guests. We have 5 hammocks around the property, none of which are broken. However, during the afternoon that our guests arrived the wind had picked up and one of the hammocks had regrettably been blown over.
In our car park we have 4 recycling wheelie bins which are collected on regular allotted days by the commune. We are obliged to situate them here for easy access for the rubbish lorries. On the changeover day, an excess of plastic bottles in plastic sacks was next to the wheelie bin awaiting collection, this unfortunately, was not a great first impression for the guests and we are sorry for that.
We apologise if we appeared patronizing, we simply realised that it was too late for the family to leave and find alternative accommodation. We did not want to inconvenience the family any further and as their expectations were not met, we agreed to the refund of €1000 the following morning. Fortunately they were able to find availability at their previous accommodation and re-join their friends there. It was a difficult and unpleasant situation that we have not experienced since opening the villa to guests in 2007 and will be doing our utmost in ensuring that it is not repeated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaytee48
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The perfect spot in Le Marche”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in September 2012

We arrived at Villa San Raffaello after an exhausting week of sightseeing in Rome. It was the perfect antidote. It's location, just a kilometre from the enchanting medieval town of Sarnano meant that shops and restaurants were nearby whilst at the same time the Villa's rural location provided peace, quiet and tranquility vital for a relaxing break. The old farmhouse has been brilliantly converted into four apartments and the pool and grounds were a delight. Damian was on hand to answer any questions and give advice and even took us and some of the other occupants for an amazing walk over the hills. This is also the perfect base for exploring this part of Le Marche.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley
Reviewed 15 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richmond
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jun 2013
Your visit opened my eyes up to the incredible array of rare wildlife in this area. Thanks for coming and for letting me accompany you on your guided tour.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colchester
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing