We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical”
other travellers have booked this property
The Boathouse Cottage - steps from rocky shore
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boathouse Cottage - steps from rocky shore
Front deck View from upstairs loft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Boathouse Cottage - steps from rocky shore
Front deck
View from upstairs loft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eagle Head, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bgees2014
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the Boathouse Cottage. It is a beautifully constructed beach house; it looks simple and unassuming but the detailing is outstanding and very well thought out. The interior is cosy, fresh and welcoming with all modern comforts such as heating, an excellent shower and a well equipped kitchen. The creative combination of John’s carpentry skills and Carol’s artistic talents has made the Boathouse a most charming and comfortable place to stay.
Add to this the gorgeous location of being so close to the sea, you can almost feel the spray from the waves, two genuinely warm, generous and welcoming hosts and the result is perfection.
We were blessed with mostly warm sunny days and we ventured out to explore the area (the Kejimkujik National Park Seaside is well worth a visit; the amenities of Liverpool are not far, Beach Meadows is a lovely sandy beach and the Port Grocer at Port Medway serves excellent food)). But what we loved the most was just spending time at the cottage, sitting on the porch, watching the ever changing seascape in front of us; the frequently present seals, bobbing around looking for fish, the whales out in the distance, the spectacular sunsets and on a couple of stormier days, the stoical and very strong surfers.
At night it was exceptionally peaceful and we were soothed to sleep by the soft sounds of the wind and the waves.
Carol and John are excellent hosts and lovely down-to-earth people; they’re very hospitable and sensitive to their guests needs.
Even though we stayed for a whole wonderful week, we longed for more and we were sad to leave.
A truly magical place which will last long in our memory.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Perfect for a great Nova Scotia Experience!”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Located at the "end of the road", this was all we could have hoped for and more! Just a cozy place with the sound of wind and waves, and starry nights. Nearby Liverpool has a great history and wonderful visitors center. The drives along the coastal communities are the epitome of the maritimes. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place. Thanks to Marci for her hospitality! A wonderful experience!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim J
Kensington, Canada
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This cottage was a deffinent hidden jewel, the gentle surf on the beach made our stay. We loved the exposed beams and pine boards. I highly recommend this place to anybody who lobes the simple life it is to for for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes D
1 review
“" amazing place to stay!! and I actually got an opportunity to stay there."”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Transforming a cottage into a warm, inviting place takes effort ....John and Carol
you have attained that warm, special and welcoming feeling. If anyone is trying to
spend time around the ocean sights and sounds, this location is amazing!! We'll for sure visit again.:)

Warm regards,
Agnes

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breannasc...
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect Ocean Front Cottage”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you haven't fallen in love with this cottage by scrolling through the pictures on trip advisor, you most certainly will when you arrive! This cottage is charming and picturesque. It is perfect for two people. We dined every night with the sunset and were able to completely unwind after our day of being tourists. With Nova Scotia being a tad chilly at times, we were thankful for the fire place. We had a fire almost every night. John was very attentive to this and brought us more firewood without being asked. We would have liked a bigger fridge and a better curtain for the bedroom window. We would most certainly stay here again and we recommend this cottage to all friends looking to travel out east.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Thank you Breanna, and so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again, and now have new upgraded bedroom window treatments for your next visit!!

all the best,
Carol & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing