We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous!”
The Schoolhouse Saint-Romain
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Schoolhouse Saint-Romain
Garden and pool with the Poolhouse Gite behind
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
The Schoolhouse Saint-Romain
Garden and pool with the Poolhouse Gite behind
Upper Schoolhouse kitchen
Upper Schoolhouse dining room
Upper Schoolhouse lounge
Upper Schoolhouse lounge
Upper Schoolhouse lounge opening onto the veranda
Upper Schoolhouse superking bedroom with door opening to the veranda
Upper Schoolhouse superking bedroom
Upper Schoolhouse superking bedroom
Upper School superking bedroom en-suite
Upper Schoolhouse attic bedroom
Upper Schoolhouse attic bedroom
Attic bedroom en-suite bathroom
Attic bathroom
Upper Schoolhouse veranda
Outside dining on the upper School veranda
The lower Schoolhouse lounge
The lower Schoolhouse lounge
Lower Schoolhouse lounge
The lower Schoolhouse kitchen
Lower Schoolhouse outside dining area
The track (chemin) between Aubeterre and St Romain, (in view)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve L
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in August 2015

My wife, myself and my three daughters (ages 4,8,15) stayed in the Upper School House and had a really wonderful holiday. The house and grounds are excellent, the pool is lovely and the warm welcome we received from Carole and Richard was the beginning of a throughly enjoyable fortnight. They could not have made us more welcome and even threw a surprise birthday party for our 8 year old turning 9! Great cake too. The area is beautiful and there is so much to do - but we spent a fair bit of time just relaxing by the pool, eating/drinking on the veranda and chatting to the other guests. Basically, if you want a great place to stay, with or without kids, in this gorgeous part of France then you won't find a better place or better hosts for that matter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and the location both superb
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
Dear Steve, Clare and girls,
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your feedback.
We loved having you here. It was an absolute pleasure to have such a lovely family share our home - you really should be proud of your girls - they are delightful. We loved hearing you all singing! Brought the place alive!
We were honoured to be invited to the birthday party/dinner and have special memories of the very happy birthday girl and a superb dinner!
Hopefully our paths will cross again and once again thank you.
Carole and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BagpussHa...
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in a pretty village location”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, myself and our dog, had a very enjoyable 3 week stay in the Upper School House during October.
The property is very tastefully decorated, comfortable and well equipped. Even the bed is comfortable!
The pool was spotlessly clean and the “pool attendant” is obviously dedicated to his job. Good job Richard! It was slightly too cold to use when we were there but sure it would be lovely in the summer months.
The house is in a lovely village where all the locals are very friendly. We often walked to Aubeterre which only took about 15 minutes and is surrounded by beautiful countryside. There are 2 restaurants within walking distance of the “School House”, unfortunately we did not get the chance to try them but the menus looked good and seemed reasonably priced. The local shop stocks a wide range of goods, but the opening hours seem flexible, normalament!
There are so many places to explore without having to travel too far which makes this such an ideal holiday location – Brantome, La Jamaye, numerous small typically French villages, river beaches and lakes. Bordeaux and Bergerac are only about an hour’s drive away.
Carole and Richard are perfect hosts, always there for help and advice but never intrusive. They are always happy to suggest places to visit and help with reservations if required.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Confortable bed
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind words!
We really enjoyed having you all to stay and were so glad you extended your time with us.
We have tried hard to make The School House as comfortable as possible and really hope it's like a 'home from home'. That's what we always looked for in a holiday ourselves. Comfort, warmth and relaxation.
We really look forward to welcoming you all back one day soon
Kindest regards
Richard and Carole xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathie l
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate - book now”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This is the perfect place for couples & families alike. We were made so welcome, nothing was too much trouble and our hosts were delightful. The gite retained many of it's original features and was exceptionally clean and well equipped with excellent WI-Fi connection. Only 45 minutes drive to the famous vineyards of Saint Emilion and close to many other tourist areas and the beautiful historic village of Aubeterre just a 5 minute drive away.

We are already planning to return next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil setting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review!
It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay in The Upper School House, Saint-Romain and helping you to enjoy and get to know the local area!
Thank you, also, for sharing some lovely wine and your Saturday evening! I think we could definitely be the next 'Strictly' judges!!
Looking forward to seeing you both again next year.
Please take care.
Kind regards
Richard and Carole xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing