We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely French escape!”
other travellers have booked this property
4 Paws - the pool and view - a true holiday atmosphere.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
4 Paws - the pool and view - a true holiday atmosphere.
an excellent choice,4 Paws is a stunning ground floor Gîte next to the pool with both peace and privacy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
4 Paws - the pool and view - a true holiday atmosphere.
an excellent choice,4 Paws is a stunning ground floor Gîte next to the pool
with both peace and privacy
enchanting surroundings
exotic Mediterranean plants, shrubs and stunted trees in the landscaped garden
and welcoming hosts. Graham and Sabine are there to help make your stay memorable.
Inside the Gîte:- the sun lounge and kitchen
and, the lounge/tv area.
the adjoining 'Mint' Bedroom,
with its en suite shower room.
Outside, 20m further along by the pool, is the Plum Bedroom
and, as it faces due east the sun rises spectacularly on the horizon
Later in the p.m., you can enjoy an Aperitif on its terrace too, or
or just daydream looking across the pool, gardens, palm trees and BBQ ...
where you can eat 'al fresco' on a local stone table, floodlit at night.
The surrounding countryside - vineyards wherever you turn, the 'paysage rayé'
magical Castles, this one just 2 Km up the road in Margon, beneath the mountains and Garrigue
stroll along long sandy Mediterranean beaches, a short drive away
Pézenas, with its historic centre is pure faded grandeur, and just 10 minutes away
with fine craftsmen, artists' studios and original boutiques
there is an important street market held every Saturday
You can buy locally sourced fruit and vegetables. Just taste the difference, and
try 'Oc' specialities -  tapenades, olives, almond oil, marinated garlic gloves,
or fruit confit
as well as yummy distinctive cheeses (from Roujan).
throughout the region, discover unique local wines
see the translucent grapes ripening in the summer sun
and taste the discoveries to be made
and, last but not least enjoy fine food and restaurants, on most street corners.
or just lie back and sunbathe under a palm tree ........
BUT, life's tough - so much unwinding, eating, swimming, sleeping - and the SUN ..........
dusk comes and the night falls on 4 Paws - AN AMAZING PLACE TO STAY
enjoy this part of France and its traditions - ALL FROM 4 PAWS
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Roujan, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Jacqui296...
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely French escape!”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Attention to detail at 4 Paws is second to none! Graham and Sabine truly tailor every stay to the needs of their guests. There is one thing missing on the facilities listed for this gite on this site ..... And that is the charming and very welcoming hosts - Graham & Sabine. They invest their time in YOU during your stay to make sure that it meets, if not exceeds, your expectations. So many lovely little touches and thoughtful suggestions to make your holiday memorable and enjoyable. As other guests have said, the personalised welcome hamper is more a generous first shop and provides you with more than ample provisions - all selected for their quality. We found the bright and airy accommodation, Sabine's well tended garden and the large pool just perfect for the two of us. The dogs and cats were friendly and so well behaved. I am not generally a "dog person" but have to say that these 4 dogs were lovely, especially "the pups" - Thelma and Louise. Roujan is a lovely village with all the usual amenities you would want when self-catering, and all within walking distance from 4 Paws. If you like your wine then you will be appreciative of Graham's knowledge of the excellent local wines available in this area. An ideal place for a relaxing and very enjoyable break, and a perfect base to get to know this wonderful region.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mausta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 Paws - 5 Stars!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a wonderful week at 4 Paws. To say that Graham and Sabine's welcome was warm is an understatement. They went out of their way to ensure everything was perfect for us. It was our first drive holiday to France and Graham offered travel advice for routes and stopping off points, which worked out very well.

Graham and Sabine really do think of everything they can to provide you with a comfortable stay. We had a bountiful welcome basket awaiting us on arrival and the kitchen was amply stocked with all of the things one might need for self catering. I defy anyone to read all the literature provided in the accommodation with leaflets for attractions both nearby and further afield - helpfully catalogued to help you find those things which may interest you most.

In terms of accommodation, the rooms were spotless, the garden is beautifully maintained and we catered for four easily in the kitchen and used the BBQ at the bottom of the garden. There is a very good supermarket very close by - their meat counter has an impressive selection of high quality cuts. Roujan has butchers, bakers and a vegetarian restaurant. Nearby Pezenas was a real gem, with a beautiful old town and a host of shops selling works by local artisans.

Graham was happy to make reservations at recommended restaurants but where he truly excels is the joy with which he shares his knowledge of local wines. It is extensive and we tried many that we simply wouldn't have come across without his guidance.

We were in need of a rest so didn't venture far but loved Marseillan for the harbour and the Noilly Pratt, Bouzigues for its seafood restaurants overlooking the oyster farms in the Etang de Thau, and the ancient walled city of Carcassonne, not to mention the local wine producers.

We returned home with some great memories and experiences, some fabulous wines and having enjoyed our hosts company enormously. Our most memorable experiences were those recommended by Sabine and Graham. Highly recommended. We hope to return.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan O
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“4 Paws - a French Idyll”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from 2 weeks at 4 Paws where we have shared an idyllic holiday with old friends and with memories to treasure. The accommodation is superb - everything we could possibly need, comfortable beds, luxurious bathrooms, every attention to detail and with the most amazing welcome pack waiting for us. Our hosts, Graham and Sabine, we're so welcoming and thoughtful (without ever being intrusive), and our comfort and enjoyment were their main concern.
The pool area has everything possible for relaxing in the sun or shade, and the garden is an oasis of beauty and tranquility, with the scent of Sabine's lavender, and beautiful views.
There are so many wonderful places to visit in the area to suit all tastes, good amenities, and Graham and Sabine on hand to advise on trips and everything else, if asked.
The four of us agreed we couldn't have chosen a better place, and would love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and garden, location and having our hosts on hand, and having the company of adorable dogs which we encouraged
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scrud
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Two weeks of perfection”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

From the moment we arrived we loved 'Four Paws'. Graham and Sabine were the perfect hosts, they have extensive know,edge of the area and were always on hand if we needed advice. Graham is very knowledgable about local wines and will recommend a wine to try depending on your tastes.
The accomadation was first class and well equipped, the gardens and pool area is superb.
This is a holiday rental you should seriously consider.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCCLo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, refreshing and accommodating”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our holiday to 4 paws was delayed by a year because of the birth of our daughter. Graham and Sabine made an exception to allow us to stay with our four month old and we can't thank them enough for making our first family holiday an absolute pleasure.

The accommodation was perfect for our holiday. We could get up as late as we liked, lounge by the pool, swim with our daughter in peace and eat and drink at our leisure. What a treat!

The pre-arrival information was excellent and actually really came to life when we arrived at 4 Paws and were able to make the most of the fantastic villa and surrounding area.

The accommodation is actually nicer than the pictures indicate. Not like a five star hotel nice, but practical and welcoming nice. Sabine's garden is second to none! The fragrance and view of flowers at every turn is something that cannot be captured in pictures. Graham and Sabine's four legged family add to their home - whilst not being intrusive. Graham and Sabine really know the right level of friendly and generous hosting, and 'leave them to it'.

The kitchen has all you need for a self catering holiday - add the generous welcome pack to that and you are pretty set to go for the week. We did a minimal amount of shopping to add to our provided supplies.

Graham's knowledge of the local wine region is exceptional and we were treated to some of his recommendations. A real treat when on holiday in an unknown area.

We want to make a special note that the guest washing machine broke on day two and whilst Graham and Sabine were sourcing a replacement, they washed our baby's nappies and clothes in their personal laundry. This was above and beyond but demonstrates the type of people they are - sincere and generous. Thank you!

We want to thank Graham and Sabine for a wonderful holiday - we certainly feel that we have met friends and look forward to our next stay at 4 Paws!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that you were alone but also had company when
Liked least: Not having long enough - 14 days would have been ideal
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing