We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place on the beach to relax and unwind”
other traveller has booked this property
Beachfront, barefoot, shaded beach pagoda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beachfront, barefoot, shaded beach pagoda
Fenced off, private beach in front, villa sleeps 12 Direct beach access, private beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Beachfront, barefoot, shaded beach pagoda
Fenced off, private beach in front, villa sleeps 12
Direct beach access, private beach
Downstairs beach terrace, beachfront, ocean views
Refresher pool, with a sea view!
Kite lessons, surfing, SUP rental
Surfing lessons available
Dine Al Fresco on the lower level terrace
Pizza or Focaccia?
Chefs fabulous Seafood platters (24hr notice)
Crab Avocado Salad.
Discreet staff, 10 years experience, host on site
Upstairs terrace, amazing views
5 King Size suites, 5 en suite bathrooms, sleeps 12
All beds are King Size, quality linens, matresses
Wet rooms/Rain Showers with good pressure
5 Private en suite bathrooms, soap, towels, linen, reading lamps, cupboards,fans
Gas cooker, electric Oven, Toaster, Kettle, Microwave, Juicer, Blender, Electric frying pan.
Book your tours on site - kitesurfing, surfing, SUP, village walks, spice tours
Housekeeping service -Supporting the local community, village tours available
Lose your heart in Zanzibar
Fishing, diving, snorkeling, SUP, surfing tours available
Blue Safari day trip, Seafood BBQ
Snorkel Blue Lagoon
Jozani forest nearby
Visit the butterfly centre
Kite in the lagoon
Sunset boat cruises
Octopus fishing
Henna, afternoon tea in the village?
Kite from the beach in front of the villa
Fun time on the beach
Sunrise Bwejuu beach
afternoon shadows of coconut trees in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bwejuu, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sasbear
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A great place on the beach to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Chef was great, food was great, villa comfortable. Full service. Personnel wonderful. House service great. Manager worked very hard to give good service.

If you want wifi, the service is spotty, slow and sometimes not at all. Just enjoy the beach and the view.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being on the beach
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you for the lovely review!
We are pleased that you enjoyed the services of our new host, Anna and her fabulous team of 6 years, Chef Abedi and housekeeper Mama Sherry.
I hope you enjoyed the Swahili cooking lessons and Chef's Spice demonstrations! We believe that Chef is the first in the link to your cultural journey in Zanzibar!
Although dedicated WiFi, signals are subject to Service providers, usually the upstairs part of the Villa provides a good signal. In future, we will provide guests with a local sim card and they can enjoy 3G.
Having that said, we do agree, focus on that spectacular ocean view...the kids playing football on the beach, the odd cow walking past and the beautiful dhows sailing by or stop to chat to a fishermen at dawn, buy fresh fish off the beach!
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future as we enjoyed taking care of you and your family in Saffron Beach Villa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giofam201...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real “home from home” in Zanzibar, on a such great beach!”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had really super time at Saffron – the villa is set on an amazing stretch of beach...it's nowhere near any of the big resorts- thank goodness, peace and quiet at last, no beach boys trying to sell us stuff! The villa is nice and spacious, great for a big family like ours. I spent most of the day lounging on the upstairs terrace, watching the fishing boats go by. The kids were kite surfing from the beach in front of the villa, the rest went walking down the beach in search of pizza and cold beer, there are plenty of little places along the beach to stop and relax in the shade. The friendly manager and staff were most attentive and we had the best seafood dinners ever! Freshly prepared everyday and so tasty. The kids loved Chef's pancakes and donuts, oh and also his home made fish fingers, giving us moms a really enjoyable break, not having to worry about who is eating what today.
The rooms are lovely and cool, beds are huge and comfy, and big showers. The villa was spotless, fresh flowers placed everyday. We really appreciated the friendly cleaning service and the lady even came back in the evening to spray our rooms and put the nets down!
One day we did venture out in to the village and had tea with one of the local ladies – in her home – what an amazing experience, we met her family, had tea and cake and were pleasantly surprised by this, highly recommended.
We can't wait to come and stay again, looking forward to the new swimming pool!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: First, the beach then the Villa and staff!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H
1 review
“Hakuna Matata at Crazy Mzungos”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Location was beautiful, beach was nice and quiet but still had restaurants and bars within walking distance, house was clean and comfortable, staff was very attentive to needs and helped arrange activities (including snorkeling, a Stonetown/spice farm tour, bike riding on the beach, massages, henna tattoos, and even hospital visits for one of our guests who injured his foot), and our chef was wonderful and cooked fresh meals that suited everyone's preferences! Overall, a perfect Zanzibar getaway!

We were all university age, but I think it would be a great place for families too!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Hi Laura and friends!
Thank you for the wonderful review of Saffron Beach Villa! We're so glad you enjoyed the 7 day stay at Saffron, I know that the team worked really hard to make sure the group of 13 had a fabulous time! You had a very busy schedule.. beach BBQ's, drumming, so many great excursions arranged by Anne and the team. We hope you made wonderful memories..Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future...I think you will love the new swimming pool!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“intresting tranquil peaceful break away”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

we loved that our villa was private, that it was situated on the beach, that we had an excellent chef who was flexible and willing to adapt to our needs and tastes. the staff were friendly and accommodating and always present to check on our well being. Michelle's tips prior to our trip were useful and the manager went out of his way to help us with anything we needed or places we were interested in seeing. We enjoyed spending time with him as there were few guests at this time. We would have preferred an aircon in our bedroom but that was also due to our 'heat rashes' from the malaria meds we were taking!
A feast for the eyes and the soul. What a beautiful place and people! A hassle and hiccup free week away from the hustle and bustle of our lives. Thank you Michelle and Matthew and especially Ussi! You will see us again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nzukzau
Vientiane, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place to park off and relax”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a great place to park off and relax! Such a lovely setting. We stayed 5 nights and apart from a few excursions and daily dips in the sea, we did little but laze about reading, talking, eating, drinking, and napping. It was hot during our stay, so we spent most of our time outside on one of the covered terraces in the refreshing breeze. We seldom used the wi-fi... how liberating it was to be (mostly) technology free :)
We found the staff very friendly. Usi, the manager, popped in daily to say Jambo! (Hello!) and to check that everything was OK. He was also a great help arranging local tours/outings.
We hired bicycles (basic but rideable) one day and rode up to Dongwe Beach where we hired masks, snorkels and fins before boarding a dhow to go snorkelling at one of the reefs. Fantastic! The captain spoke little English (more than our Swahili!) but that didn't matter. He came snorkelling with us pointing out the giant clams and the multitude of fish, colourful and not. The dhow itself was impressive.
Fishing at Kizimkaze wasn't exactly what we expected (the captain cast the lines which were dragged along behind the boat as motored up the coast) and we didn't catch any fish, but we were rewarded with the sight of 2-3 pods of dolphin close by.
We did catch a stunning sunset from Michamvi Beach before returning to Pingwe for an evening at Upendo - another lovely setting serving great food and G&Ts with a smile. The seafood platter for 2 was enormous... enough for 3, but we gave it our best shot :)
We walked along the beach from Bwejuu to Paje (~15-20 mins) a few times to watch the kite surfing, and stopped at Paje by Night bar/restaurant for pizza and salad. It seems to be a happening kind of place, although sadly it's set back from the beach so no breezes wafting through. The owner ordered a taxi to take us back to the Villa, as we'd been advised not to walk along the beach at night. Fair enough, wouldn't do that at home either.
When not dining out, we arranged for chef Abedi to cook dinner at the Villa. Wonderful Abedi prepares breakfast at the Villa daily, and we can highly recommend his crepes :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing