We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kiwengwa Apartments(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mvuvi Resort(Kiwengwa)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
US$284
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$80
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Sipano Bungalow(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$396
US$210
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Zanzibar(Kiwengwa)
US$1 344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (995)
Filter reviews
995 results
Traveller rating
504
316
99
45
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
316
99
45
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue baysultan sandssuperior roomstone townevery nightsister hotelnice balconyhuge bednice resortlive bandseafoodwhite sandthemed dinnersindian oceangreat pooltable tennisdifferent theme
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 995 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Currently visiting this resort. Rooms tired could do with a refurb urgently. Bed hard as anything. The food and drink very expensive especially when not on all inclusive. The staff very friendly in the bar areas. The cleaning below par. Found hairs from previous guests in the shower room. Disgusting to say the least. Definitely not a 4 star. Would recommend you try elsewhere when visiting Zanzibar as the prices for things here are quite extortionate.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FELICITY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, Manager at Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear FELICITY M,

Thank you for your review. I was however disappointed that we have not lived up to your expectations. All feedback is taken in a very serious manner and put to good use to ensure we can deliver a great guest experience. I do recommend that any issue any guest may have should be reported to reception immediately where my team can take care of you and resolve any issues in a speedy manner.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

An amazing beach resort in Zanzibar.

The entire setup of the hotel is amazing. The service was great and the food variety was amazing. The chefs had different cuisines daily and the food was very fresh. Our waitress Tulla was simply outstanding. We would request her to make us masala tea everyday and she did just a perfect job of that. Thank you Tulla. I would suggest that the management have that on their beverage list, 'Chai ya Tulla'.

Chefs Erick and Fiona were also very polite and checking to make sure we are okay.

Just a few points for improvement;
1) The receptionist Asha did an amazing welcome but it felt a bit like a teacher talking to school children. A little enthusiasm would be more appreciated.

2) The sausages during breakfast were not cooked well.

I recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room or a room on the top level so that you can view the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FBirdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, Manager at Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jambo FBirdi,

I'm truly happy to read from your kind words that you had a great time here with us at Bluebay Resorts. Your feedback has been passed onto the hard working team here that makes all this possible. Come back to the amazing Island of Zanzibar soon!

Ashante sana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Hotel with a lot of green areas, palms, it looks like haven... there is a lot of spots where you can seat and drink or just chat to each other... Service very nice always smiling, always asking if there is anything that they can do for you... always saying "jambo" to welcome. Maybe service is a little bit slow, however it can make you feel as on vacation, where you do not need to rush.
Rooms are clean and nice with small terrace where you can have a coffee.
in this hotel they do care about local touch, there is a Masai who is really friendly and helpful, same as rest of the staff.

Room Tip: it is worth to book a room with a view to the garden
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Stene B, General Manager at Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Marta K,

Thank you so much for taking time to give us feedback from your recent stay with us. It is indeed a nice resort. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service and facilities.

We do hope to see you again here on Zanzibar.

Kind regards,
Thomas Stene
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

If you want to stay at one place, relax, swim or at pool or at the sea, have a wonderful spa, go to Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa at Kiwengwa.
Nice room, with facilities to do a tea or coffee, TV and nice balcony to enjoy early evening before going to dinner.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Katka161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, Manager at Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jambo Katka161,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm so happy you had a fabulous time here in Zanzibar, on behalf of the whole team here at Bluebay we hope to see you again very soon!

Ashante sana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

This was my wife and my 3rd visit to Zanzibar. For us the Blue Bay stood out in terms of the friendliness of the staff, food, housekeeping, location and amenities. The "beds scattered all over the place are awesome for those seeking to relax. The pool is good. We took an AI package and were not sorry. There were food choices to cater for anyone's taste.

The "beach boys" were much more persistent and even abusive but don't let them get to you. There is not much the Resort can do about it. Everyone wants to make a living.

The rooms are big enough and lucky for us we did not stay in the one of the top terrace rooms.

The bar is good and there are enough drinks to chose from if you are on and AI package.

Two complaints - the mattress was big but HARD. The other, it can be difficult to find a decent cup of coffee in the mornings, even at breakfast. The coffee in the room was not pleasant.

We both loved the in-house entertainment every night and the Masai show was awesome.

We went in the rainy season but that was not a problem - enough sun every day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the bottom of the terrace - not the best view but not a serious climb either
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Stene B, General Manager at Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Steven,

Thank you so much for taking time to give us feedback from your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that you were satisfied with our facilities and service. It is indeed a beautiful resort.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for the 4th time.

All the best,
Thomas Stene
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews