We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Marafiki Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Kiwengwa
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Description: The inspiration for our menu was the zanzibarian kitchen - an unusual blend of African, Arab and Indian tastes, based on fresh local ingredients (spices, fish, octopus, fruits). Local recipes combined with the European way of serving. Our menu includes vegetarians dishes. We are also preparing vegan meals and for allergy sufferers. Children can enjoy their favorite pizza, pancakes and home made chicken nuggets.
Restaurant details
Description: The inspiration for our menu was the zanzibarian kitchen - an unusual blend of African, Arab and Indian tastes, based on fresh local ingredients (spices, fish, octopus, fruits). Local recipes combined with the European way of serving. Our menu includes vegetarians dishes. We are also preparing vegan meals and for allergy sufferers. Children can enjoy their favorite pizza, pancakes and home made chicken nuggets.
Reviewed 5 May 2018

The restaurant offers good choice of fresh fish and seafood, as well as a lot of vegetables, but you will get also steak if you prefer. You will enjoy local delicacies at Swahili Dinner every Sunday, that’s really great.
Breakfast is the best entry to every day at Marafiki - a large set of delicious fresh fruit, bread and cinnamon buds for tea or coffee, fresh juice and several sets to choose, and you will enjoy all that watching the sea

Thank FineYoungTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We had a great dinner repeatedly. The staff and owner is very friendly. The waiters are always happy and dance after serving and while serving. We ordered steak and fish and both were delicious. One of the best food in Zanzibar with dancing waiters! Marvelous!!

Thank WetIceVlogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

had a lovely relaxed afternoon, two families with four kids under 10. Kids loved been so close to the sea and then running in to eat pizza. We enjoyed some fabulous cocktails and wine..lovely setting and great staff!

1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna F, Właściciel at Marafiki Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Daer Sarah,
Thank you for your revue! It means a lot to us.
Next time come to try our delicious seafood!
Whenever you come you can enjoy the pool, too
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Wonderful ocean breeze and good fresh fish, fruit, and vegetables served in a lovely low-key outdoor setting

Thank Michael Cutler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna F, Właściciel at Marafiki Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear MIchael,
Thank you for your opinion. We are glad that you enjoyed the "meals with ocean view".
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

After reading excellent reviews we decided to go to Marafiki for lunch and we didn't regret it. Restaurant is beautifully furnished, staff is very nice and the food is fantastic. We tried beef samosa, beef chapatis, tuna and avocado tartar (which I'm going to dream about forever) and king prawns in coconut sauce.
Best meal in whole Kiwengwa and definitely worth a walk from the Kiwengwa center.
Also prices are very reasonable especially compared to an overall generic offer in the other restaurants in the area (prices are same or even lower and the food quality is few notches above).
Highly recommended.

1  Thank cviju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna F, Właściciel at Marafiki Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

I'm so happy you've enjoyed your lunch! You shuld come back to try our avocado & cucumber gazpacho and grilled octopus.
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with other people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marafiki Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Kiwengwa, Zanzibar Island
Kiwengwa, Zanzibar Island
 
Kiwengwa, Zanzibar Island
Kumba Urembo, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Marafiki Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;