We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay - Highly recommended in Nungwi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2017

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the resort. The facilities are well maintained and clean. The staff is very helpful and very welcoming.
The beach is incredible, low or high tide. The room are correct, the beds are a bit hard, but it's common in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yadisaezzedine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

The staff was unfriendly we constantly got the feeling they didn’t want to serve or help us. On the very first day they tried to make us pay for our whole stay again even though we had already paid. Fortunately, we had our bank statement about the payment in 2 copies( they will ask for one so make sure you have another one). Also, be careful when you order any food or drunk because they will try to give you a massive bill at the and of your stay so I would recommend to pay at the end of each day. For the cheap price I didn’t expect much but the staff be friendly and helpful.

Beach is completely unswimmable because of the thousands of sea urchins and the massive waves when it’s high tide.

Food was alright but it was overpriced. I recommend to walk to the other side of Nungwi. There’s plenty of restaurants with fair prices and excellent food.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Szonja Zsanett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Beautiful beach side cottages, spacious beach side garden to spend leisure time, restaurant offers a range of foods and liquor, friendly staffs everywhere, a long white sandy beach for morning/evening walk, amenities are good, a budget resort.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Vineeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We spent four nights at Tanzanite and wish we had stayed longer. The staff is amazing and they ended up as our African family. They did their outmost to help us, and they made the stay unforgettable. The resort and its facilities exceeded our expectations.

Shoutout to the three zucchini's, Didi and Easter for putting a smile on our face every day. We will come back to this resort next time we are in Zanzibar!

Love
Sofie and Julia

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sofie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Tanzanite, the hotel is clean, food not bad and the staff were very friendly. It is however pretty isolated and a 15 to 20 minute walk to the restaurants and bars with a sand beach.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1,5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0,8 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
668 reviews
26,2 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2,3 km away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#8 of 19 in Nungwi
1 148 reviews
1,7 km away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#16 of 19 in Nungwi
229 reviews
74 km away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanzanite Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Beach Resort

Address: North-East Coast | Zanzibar, Nungwi 4036, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nungwi
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: R926 - R6 058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Tanzanite Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanzanite Beach Resort is situated on a beautiful beach in Nungwi, on the northwestern side of paradise island of Zanzibar, Tanzania. Accommodation is in 18 tastefully decorated self-contained double bungalows, all with private balconies and magnificent views over the Indian Ocean. Whether you are looking for a special family vacation, a romantic getaway or business with pleasure, Tanzanite Beach Resort makes sure that your stay is comfortable, fun and relaxation.Karibu! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Tanzanite Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanzanite Beach Hotel Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing