We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2017

From the moment we stepped onto the impressive reception area the service was superb. We were welcomed with refreshing drinks while we took in the breathtaking scenery. We stayed at Hideaway for one week, the trip really exceeded our expectations. The resort beach was mostly private, with only a few hawkers who would sell things but they are quickly sent away by the security guards who patrol the area. The resort beach is one of the best beaches in Zanzibar, where the water is warm and crystal clear and a lovely turquoise blue every day. During low tide it is not advised to swim or walk in the water as there are sharp rocks and sea urchins, but this isn't a problem at all during high tide. The infinity pool overlooks the beach and provides a spectacular view of the ocean. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and had picturesque views of the beautifully manicured gardens and sea. We had booked 2 luxury junior suites which were a bit far from the dining area, pool and beach, but there are golf carts available to transport you to those areas. On the upside this part of the resort was also much quieter and you are hardly disturbed. The spa and wellness center was like entering a little world of pure luxury and indulgence with the moorish architecture and outdoor jacuzzi, showers and sauna Unfortunately we felt the spa treatments were a bit pricey at $90 for just over an hour. There is a wide range of cuisines for all tastebuds. Mr Ghosh the restaurant manager and chef Utham were very willing to cater to any specific needs. Gido Salapion was by far our favorite waiter with his friendly face and excellent service.The only criticism is that drinks were not included in our package and we had to pay for them seperately which proved to be inconvenient. Hats off to the resort for the special gala evenings and nightly entertainment which were enjoyed by all. Overall it was a lovely experience and a superb resort with friendly and polite staff, Thank you Mr Sayed and Mr Shehan...the Hideaway experience was truely spectacular and provided us with memories that will last a life time.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool/dining area (such as the luxury junior suites) are quieter
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank aneesaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motasem Shehan S, Front Office Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear aneesaa1,

We are very thrilled to hear that your stay was perfect and flawless. It is very rewarding for all our colleague’s to hear that you enjoyed our property, and that most importantly our staff contributed to your overall satisfaction of your stay and that you felt welcomed from the very beginning.

Reviews like yours are always very inspirational, and it gives us motivation to come with new services and ideas to pamper our guests even more.

Thank you for your time you took to share your experience with other guests.

Kind regards
Motasem Shehan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 1 585 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2017

My husband booked this hotel as part of our honeymoon trip. From the moment we arrived it took our breath away. Absolutely stunning grounds and hotel. Beautifully decorated with African art and carefully tended landscape. The service at the hotel throughout our stay was amazing. The hotel bumped us up as a special treat for our honeymoon to an exclusive privileged area, our own private villa, private beach area and our own private butler! Villas were complete with private pool and a stunning view of the beach and hotel from the terrace. The room was also beautifully decorated for us. We had two butlers tend to us during our stay, Fanuel and Bori, both were extremely helpful and lovely. The food provided in the all inclusive package was lovely. We only stayed two nights and both nights the hotel had in house entertainment for the guests which was great. On our second night the hotel had arranged a beach buffet dinner for everyone which was an amazing experience. Beautifully decorated and food was also good. During our stay we used the pool, beach and jet ski which was great. The sand and sea is beautiful. We asked for a late check out on our last day as we had an evening flight and the hotel was very accommodating. I see why this hotel is rated as one of the leading hotels in the world - you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mins1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motasem Shehan S, Front Office Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Mins1981,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are indeed delighted to read that you stayed with us during the very special occasion of your honeymoon.

We are truly grateful to read such a positive observation with regards to the overall look and feel of the resort. It makes us so proud knowing that the arrangements made exceeded your expectation and resulted to a unique experience. Also, we are very happy that you appreciated our hotel and its facilities, the food as well as the impeccable service and hospitality provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we hope of welcoming you back, hopefully a little bit longer, in a not too distant future

Kind regards
Motasem Shehan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We spent our honeymoon here and we are very satisfied that we have chosen this resort. We were literally spoiled by staff, especially Steve, Maria, Jacob, James and the others whose names we unfortunately forgot. Everything that we wanted, the staff tried to provide us, they were very kind and helpful. Whole resort is very beautiful and it could meet different tastes. We wanted relaxation and enjoyment and this place provided it to us completely. Everything was hakuna matata :)

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank drobac_marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motasem Shehan S, Front Office Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear drobac_marina,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing Hideaway of Nungwi to celebrate your honeymoon!

We're delighted to hear we were a great home-base for the honeymooner.
and appreciate your compliments to our location, staff and hotel amenities. Next time you are celebrating something special, we hope to have you back again

Kind regards
Motasem Shehan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

My wife and i stayed at the Hideaway along with some friends. We were a group of three couples. We stayed at the Hideaway of Nungwi on a full board basis. The property and the beach are just outstanding. The rooms are fantastic and the views of the Indian Ocean are breathtaking. The resort has really good facilities, infinity pool and the Spa is very good. The restaurants on the property are good and the variety of the cuisine is excellent. The Dive center is also great and staff there are also very friendly. The entire staff on the resort went out of their to ensure that our stay was very memorable and everyone was extremely friendly. In particular we would like to acknowledge the following members of the staff for their hospitality:
1)Executive Chef Uttam Chowdhary and Chef Bimal
2)Manager Ghosh who went out of his way to ensure that our stay was comfortable
3) Wait staff Omar, Elias , Kissa, Upenda and Anna Gerise for making our stay very memorable

We would highly recommend the property to anyone looks for a luxury vacation in Zanzibar

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gramgopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motasem Shehan S, Front Office Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear gramgopal,

It was a pleasure to welcome you Hideaway of Nungwi Resort and Spa.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and services at Hideaway of Nungwi.

We are grateful for your positive feedback regarding our spacious rooms, impressive pool facilities and lush landscaped gardens.

Your appreciation with regards to the genuine hospitality of each member of our team, including Chef Uttam Chowdhary and Chef Bimal Manager Ghosh , Omar, Elias , Kissa, Upenda and Anna Gerise is truly valued. We shall ensure to share your praises with them.

Once again, thank you for personal recommendation and we sincerely look forward to your return visit in a not too distant future

Kind regards
Motasem Shehan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We stayed at Hideaway of Nungwi in October 2017. We were a family of 8 members.

We had used a tour operator to book our stay at the hotel and to arrange for separate tours around Zanzibar.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and very accommodating to our needs. They were helpful in arranging a special dinner for my Father's 60th birthday on the beach. Which was excellent. The layout under the stars on the beach created an unforgettable ambience. The food and service was fantastic. Truly a night to remember. We are grateful to Mr. Said and his staff for arranging the exceptional experience. The complimentary birthday cake was also delicious and very well presented.

We stayed on half board basis. The hotel food in particular the breakfast spread was really wide and caters for all tase buds. Dinner includes a wide selection of food from pizza, pasta, sushi, Indian and continental meals. Aside from the Buffet one can pick a dish from the a la carte menu which is really nice.

There is midday coffee/tea which is served by the poolside and again at 4pm coffee/tea service with sandwiches. This is a welcome snack. However at times the waiters will serve some pastries and popcorn - however only if you ask. I think it needs to be made clear what snacks are available and if they are available to all residents. The only way we knew snacks were on offer was when we saw other guests around us having them and it wasn't until we asked for the same were we served.

There was one night in the week when they serve a wide variety of seafood and bbq near the poolside. The food quality and flavours were overall really good.

The spa is brilliant. In particular the therapists from Kenya and Zanzibar are brilliant! Highly recommended.

The hotel rooms are clean and well presented. On arrival we were initially given separate rooms. This was a bit disappointing noting that we had booked with the tour operator well in advance and had specifically asked them to check that we be given rooms next to each other. We were informed that the reason as to why we did not get rooms next to one another was because it is subject to hotel availability but surely if one is booking so well in advance this is something that can be accommodated.

After some back and forth with their front desk and the help of Mr. Said they did on our second day allocate us very nice rooms next to each other. But the hassle of having to unpack and repack could ideally have been avoided.

They have buggy service to take you to and from the pool, restaurant and main reception area. This was a very handy service for the elderly family members.

The Hotel provides water bottles in the room. However the cap to turn the bottles was so tight that we always needed to get assistance to open the bottles.

Beach access is through stairs and mostly under a cliff. But the beach is very clean and well kept. There are a few sun beds located under the cliff (during low tide) which provides a very serene atmosphere to swim and relax.

There is only one swimming pool which is used by all residents. At times the pool area can get busy.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the spa are good. Rooms mid way between the pool and the reception have a nice view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shushee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motasem Shehan S, Front Office Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Shushee,

At the outset we would like to thank you very much for sharing review in TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that we met and surpassed your expectations and thank you very much for your compliment on our services and the hospitality. We have shared your feedback with all our colleagues which will be a source of inspiration for all of us to further excel in our journey to delight our esteemed guests.

It is our desire that every guest who stays with us should leave as an ambassador of our hotel. We at Hideaway strive to excel and surpass guest’s expectations at every interaction

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you plan your next visit and assure you of our best of attention and services at all times.

Kind regards
Motasem Shehan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
24,6 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1 708 reviews
2,6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
3,2 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,4 km away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
22,8 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1 785 reviews
35 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Price Range: R3 328 - R7 609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing