We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diamonds Star of the East
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$378
US$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$158
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baraka Aquarium Bungalows(Nungwi)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
US$140
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$459
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$560
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$457
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
177
17
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
17
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerpersonal butlerbutler serviceblue restaurantprivate poolvilla guestsin villa diningbeautiful garden areadedicated restaurantour honeymoonlarge villawalk in wardrobeluxury resortsitting areacomplete privacylobsterthe sea breeze restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

The service is really very bad , I didn’t like the way they treat their customers, the room is quite ok , having good atmosphere, and more over I cannot give it a 5 star rating , and it’s too much expensive the rooms , and from the city to the room it takes more than one hour without Traffic

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 968fathimaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager M, General Manager at Diamonds Star of the East, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sad that you did not like the service provided. I will personally look into the operations and see what improvements need to be done. I would appreciate you to send me a more detailed account of your concerns to gm.gemma@diamonds-resorts.com

I do hope to hear from you soon and hopefully you will visit us again

Best Regards, MSchibler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Diamonds Star of the East is heaven of earth! What an amazing place to end beautiful holidays in Tansania.

Frankly speaking words cannot describe how much we enjoyed our stay at Diamonds Star of the East. This is an amazing resort with friendly staff, a beautiful garden, white sandy beach, delicious food, a great choice of activities and a villa that fulfills every wish a human being can ask for.

The villas are very spacious, well maintained and clean. The bed is very comfortable, the walk-in wardrobe fits an entire family, the in- and outdoor showers are equipped with high-end cosmetics.

The food was simply fantastic – whether breakfast, lunch or dinner at the Ocean Blue Restaurant or at our Villa, we always ate like kings! Not just the choice but also the quality was of highest standards. And the chef even prepared our son’s favourite dish - sushi and sashimi! A big thank you!!!!

Another thanks goes to the entire crew for our “dinner under the stars” – an unforgettable night. Our kids speak about it almost every day!!!

And last but not least – the personal butler did her utmost every single day to fulfill all our wishes – Thank you again!

If your plan your honeymoon or want some beautiful holidays with your family don’t hesitate and book Diamonds Star of the East! You will not regret.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MontyStoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Diamonds Star of the East, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear MontyStoller,
Thank you for the positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our resort, located in the most exclusive area in Zanzibar. We are happy that our service satisfied your expectations, as we try to deliver always high level standard with all our Guests. It is a pleasure to know that you and your kids enjoyed the special 'dinner under the stars'.
We look forward to welcome you back again!

Best regards,
Andrew C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We have just returned from an amazing week in Diamonds star of the east which was at the end of our 3 week African adventure. The resort was amazing with white sands, turquoise seas teaming with wildlife, birds, fish, crabs, starfish, etc seen daily. One of the highlights has to be the gardens, which are Impeccable and we really appreciated the little plaques that told you the plant/tree details, it was like being in the botanical gardens back home.....
The choice and quality of bar spirits was above expectations with Hendricks gin and grey goose vodka available either in the bar or available to order bottles to the room to supplement the already well stocked "mini bar" which was actually 1 small standard mini bar fridge and 1 full size fridge freezer filled with beers, local and international. Sparkling wine on arrival and all the mixers you could ever require.
The staff were amazing and we'd like to personally thank Said, Dickrack, Nobi, Pius, Jeremiah, Elizabeth, Diana and the lovely Sarah whom we are sorry to not have had a chance to say good bye..... we arrived as customers and left as friends.
The food was tremendous, breakfast, lunch and dinners either in the restaurant or in the room and our "special night" on the beach were all faultless and thoroughly enjoyable. If we had to complain about something it would be the portion control but that's because we aren't particularly big eaters. There was no way we could ever eat the full menu each lunch or evening which is a shame as each course sounded great practically every meal but people did eat the full 4 or 5 courses so it's not a complaint as such, just too much for us.....
absolulety loved the location, the staff and the food and drinks, we will definately hope to return again. Thank you all for making our honeymoon the best it could be.

Room Tip: We were happy in villa 9
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Diamonds Star of the East, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017


Dear Colin M,
Thank you for choosing our exclusive resort for a special occasion as your honeymoon. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us to the fullest and that we were able to spoil and treat you.
Thank you for your nice description of the food and beverage service at our restaurant and in your private villa and for your lovely compliments on our staff, which we will be sure to pass onto them.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another unforgettable holiday in Zanzibar.
Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We have stayed in Diamond Star of the East nearly two weeks spending the most perfect holidays we ever got (although we are really travelling a lot). As already mentioned in other reviews the villas are just perfect, very spacious, well maintained and clean. With a beautiful garden area and a not too deep, but big swimming pool. All the cosmetics (including even face aloe vera gel, hand cream and hair conditioner) where of very high quality as well as the bathrobes, towels and sleepers. The fridge was permanently full with all the drinks we would like to get. The alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages are of very high quality (San Pellegrino, Saphire Gin, Drambuie). All our laundry was washed regularly. We enjoyed the tasty breakfast served by our personal butler on the terrace every morning.
But the real Diamonds in this resort is his staff. We never met so many friendly, nice and professional employees in every department of this hotel. Starting by the buggy car driver Juma (who was always there for us, very helpful and always smiling), as well as the housekeeping keeping the villa very clean and making every day different and extremely sophisticated bed decorations. We were dining in the Ocean Blue Restaurant, where the waiters were making every evening an unforgettable experience. The farewell dance for us made us cry, we never been so sad to leave a place…Thank you Peter, Rajab, Elisabeth, Nassor, Dickrack, as well as the barkeeper Gerald to make every evening magic. Thank you Mohammed for the tasty food cooked with love.
And then of course the absolutely fabulous personal butlers which became our friends. We never met such friendly, kind and professional butlers. Thank You Kaikai, Phillip and Pia for all the hard work. We love you all.
The beach is also very beautiful and well maintained. The service is perfect. Thank You Jeremiah and Nassor.
Thank`s to the security staff: Lucas and Simon.
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Diamonds Star of the East, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Tanja,
Thank you for choosing our exclusive resort Diamonds Star of the East and for your kind words posted on TripAdvisor.
We're thrilled to read that you enjoyed your private villa and we’re delighted to hear your appreciation of our service.
Your compliments mean a lot to me and my team. I am very happy to convey your glowing comments to all our dedicated employees.
We all look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This really is an ideal resort if you're looking to relax and take in the beauty of Zanzibar in a luxurious & private resort. You have access to a private beach, a fully serviced pool area. Theres a number of restaurants from which to choose from. I would most definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank mangwanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Diamonds Star of the East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear mangwanya,
Thank you for choosing our exclusive resort and for leaving us a positive feedback about your experience with us.
I am pleased that you had a great time at Diamonds Star of The East and that our service satisfied your expectations.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again to spoil and treat you for another amazing stay in Zanzibar.

Kind regards,
Andrew C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews