We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUT OF THIS WORLD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamonds Star of the East
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked a deluxe room, but were given a large one bed villa, which can only be described as out of this world. personal butler, fully inclusive, with a dedicated restaurant and private beach area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The towel decorations on the bed every morning were a work of art! All in all one of the best places we have stayed in all our years of travelling. The only very minor negative was that we would have liked a bigger choice of vegetarian food. Having said this, the head chef made a very good effort in meeting our needs. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Villa 2 has a nice view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMILEYONE120256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Diamonds Star of the East, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SMILEYONE120256,
thank you for your positive feedback on our exclusive resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied about your private villa, your personal butler and our all inclusive offering. Thank you for your compliments on our staff. We try to deliver always the best service and high standards to all our Guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another fantastic holiday in our little paradise!

Kind regards,
Andrew C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

The service is really very bad , I didn’t like the way they treat their customers, the room is quite ok , having good atmosphere, and more over I cannot give it a 5 star rating , and it’s too much expensive the rooms , and from the city to the room it takes more than one hour without Traffic

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 968fathimaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager M, General Manager at Diamonds Star of the East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sad that you did not like the service provided. I will personally look into the operations and see what improvements need to be done. I would appreciate you to send me a more detailed account of your concerns to gm.gemma@diamonds-resorts.com

I do hope to hear from you soon and hopefully you will visit us again

Best Regards, MSchibler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Diamonds Star of the East is heaven of earth! What an amazing place to end beautiful holidays in Tansania.

Frankly speaking words cannot describe how much we enjoyed our stay at Diamonds Star of the East. This is an amazing resort with friendly staff, a beautiful garden, white sandy beach, delicious food, a great choice of activities and a villa that fulfills every wish a human being can ask for.

The villas are very spacious, well maintained and clean. The bed is very comfortable, the walk-in wardrobe fits an entire family, the in- and outdoor showers are equipped with high-end cosmetics.

The food was simply fantastic – whether breakfast, lunch or dinner at the Ocean Blue Restaurant or at our Villa, we always ate like kings! Not just the choice but also the quality was of highest standards. And the chef even prepared our son’s favourite dish - sushi and sashimi! A big thank you!!!!

Another thanks goes to the entire crew for our “dinner under the stars” – an unforgettable night. Our kids speak about it almost every day!!!

And last but not least – the personal butler did her utmost every single day to fulfill all our wishes – Thank you again!

If your plan your honeymoon or want some beautiful holidays with your family don’t hesitate and book Diamonds Star of the East! You will not regret.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MontyStoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Diamonds Star of the East, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MontyStoller,
Thank you for the positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our resort, located in the most exclusive area in Zanzibar. We are happy that our service satisfied your expectations, as we try to deliver always high level standard with all our Guests. It is a pleasure to know that you and your kids enjoyed the special 'dinner under the stars'.
We look forward to welcome you back again!

Best regards,
Andrew C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We have just returned from an amazing week in Diamonds star of the east which was at the end of our 3 week African adventure. The resort was amazing with white sands, turquoise seas teaming with wildlife, birds, fish, crabs, starfish, etc seen daily. One of the highlights has to be the gardens, which are Impeccable and we really appreciated the little plaques that told you the plant/tree details, it was like being in the botanical gardens back home.....
The choice and quality of bar spirits was above expectations with Hendricks gin and grey goose vodka available either in the bar or available to order bottles to the room to supplement the already well stocked "mini bar" which was actually 1 small standard mini bar fridge and 1 full size fridge freezer filled with beers, local and international. Sparkling wine on arrival and all the mixers you could ever require.
The staff were amazing and we'd like to personally thank Said, Dickrack, Nobi, Pius, Jeremiah, Elizabeth, Diana and the lovely Sarah whom we are sorry to not have had a chance to say good bye..... we arrived as customers and left as friends.
The food was tremendous, breakfast, lunch and dinners either in the restaurant or in the room and our "special night" on the beach were all faultless and thoroughly enjoyable. If we had to complain about something it would be the portion control but that's because we aren't particularly big eaters. There was no way we could ever eat the full menu each lunch or evening which is a shame as each course sounded great practically every meal but people did eat the full 4 or 5 courses so it's not a complaint as such, just too much for us.....
absolulety loved the location, the staff and the food and drinks, we will definately hope to return again. Thank you all for making our honeymoon the best it could be.

Room Tip: We were happy in villa 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Diamonds Star of the East, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017


Dear Colin M,
Thank you for choosing our exclusive resort for a special occasion as your honeymoon. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us to the fullest and that we were able to spoil and treat you.
Thank you for your nice description of the food and beverage service at our restaurant and in your private villa and for your lovely compliments on our staff, which we will be sure to pass onto them.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another unforgettable holiday in Zanzibar.
Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We have stayed in Diamond Star of the East nearly two weeks spending the most perfect holidays we ever got (although we are really travelling a lot). As already mentioned in other reviews the villas are just perfect, very spacious, well maintained and clean. With a beautiful garden area and a not too deep, but big swimming pool. All the cosmetics (including even face aloe vera gel, hand cream and hair conditioner) where of very high quality as well as the bathrobes, towels and sleepers. The fridge was permanently full with all the drinks we would like to get. The alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages are of very high quality (San Pellegrino, Saphire Gin, Drambuie). All our laundry was washed regularly. We enjoyed the tasty breakfast served by our personal butler on the terrace every morning.
But the real Diamonds in this resort is his staff. We never met so many friendly, nice and professional employees in every department of this hotel. Starting by the buggy car driver Juma (who was always there for us, very helpful and always smiling), as well as the housekeeping keeping the villa very clean and making every day different and extremely sophisticated bed decorations. We were dining in the Ocean Blue Restaurant, where the waiters were making every evening an unforgettable experience. The farewell dance for us made us cry, we never been so sad to leave a place…Thank you Peter, Rajab, Elisabeth, Nassor, Dickrack, as well as the barkeeper Gerald to make every evening magic. Thank you Mohammed for the tasty food cooked with love.
And then of course the absolutely fabulous personal butlers which became our friends. We never met such friendly, kind and professional butlers. Thank You Kaikai, Phillip and Pia for all the hard work. We love you all.
The beach is also very beautiful and well maintained. The service is perfect. Thank You Jeremiah and Nassor.
Thank`s to the security staff: Lucas and Simon.
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager C, General Manager at Diamonds Star of the East, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Tanja,
Thank you for choosing our exclusive resort Diamonds Star of the East and for your kind words posted on TripAdvisor.
We're thrilled to read that you enjoyed your private villa and we’re delighted to hear your appreciation of our service.
Your compliments mean a lot to me and my team. I am very happy to convey your glowing comments to all our dedicated employees.
We all look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
25 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1 704 reviews
0,2 km away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
2,9 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35,4 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
533 reviews
2,2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
76,5 km away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1 073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Star of the East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Star of the East

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Price Range: R9 507 - R18 681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Star of the East 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent private sanctuary of eleven exclusive villas with their own plunge pool and a tastefully furnished terrace, a covered Makuti patio and a large tropical garden to enjoy exclusive privacy and the supreme view over the Indian Ocean and the famous Zanzibar sunset. The villas are named after eleven of the most precious gems in the world to match the modern and contemporary African style architecture. Personal butler service, a private beach and unmatched all-inclusive services accommodate the most discerning traveller with ultimate comfort, privacy and luxury. Literally everything and anything you could dream of is catered for at the very highest level of all-inclusive services including access to all facilities, restaurants and bars of Diamonds La Gemma dell’Est. Diamonds Star of the East is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamonds Star of the East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing