We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$133
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$172
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$625
US$461
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$620
US$580
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1 209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
546
122
34
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
122
34
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket kitchenour honeymoonmain buildinginfinity poolkids clubmassage roomprivate dinnerlow tidejetty barthe general managerstone townindian oceanbeautiful hotelsalt waterpool sidesea urchinsrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

First of all we would like to say a special thank you to Preetam, Anuraag and Ni Luh. You and the wider team are what make the hotel extra special. Without doubt the best service we have ever experienced, and we have been fortunate to experience many trips away!

There is not enough space to list all the individual elements that made the service 6 star (it would take us all day!) but for sure we had great food and drink (both on and off menu), especially gateau bringelle and du the mauricien for the rainy days...

Hopefully next year year we will get a chance to come back and say hello, perhaps a couple of days stop over on the way to Mauritius... we also need to check how the avocado tree is growing .

Merci zot tou. A great baby moon we will never forget. Love from Shaan, Deven and bump.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

An amazing romantic retreat, you forget
yourself in the place. The infinity pool takes your breath along with the unique structure of the hotel. The daily menu is a tasty surprise every evening , a place to stay in.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank moses12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

The warm welcome we received after arriving at Essque Zalu Zanzibar was unbelievable. This was just but a start of our stay in Zalu. The receptionists we're very friendly and extremely helpful.

The rooms we're spacious, clean, fresh and overlooked the ocean which made our minds fresh and sound. The house team ensured our rooms were immaculate and comfortable on daily basis. The swimming pool was true to the photos on the hotel website. They were large, warm and the blue lightings at night made it even more attractive and accomodative to our little princess.

Food was delicious and the smoothies were of its own kind. On 29th April we woke up to a morning breakfast surprise served in the ocean with the best selection from the chef. It was an awesome King, Queen n Princess kind of treatment. Private dinner and cake organized by the hotel completed our day in style and dancing. The chef is an expert. Thanks for introducing us to a mouth watering grilled cider and chilli prawns.

We highly appreciate Essque Zalu Team anď management for the great love and care they showed us during our stay. Special thanks goes to Mr. Preetam F&B Manager, Mr. Irfan Graphic Designer, Mr. Naresh Room division manager, Ms. Niluh spa manager, Mr. Issa who served us and the help of the pool supervisors.

We love you all and we will be back.

God bless you all

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettywekesa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

The place was amazing especially the views it was everything although the food was disappointing especially breakfast and the service during departure was frustrating other than that I loved the atmosphere, it’s very calm and staff appear to be friendly on arrival.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

It was amazing stay the staff was great and friendly the food is very good thank you for the special and nice stay,great for the honeymooners , also the view is great i will give essque zalu 5+ stars

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Razan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuarteCorreia, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Razan K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the wider digital audience, following your recent experience at Essque Zalu.

I was happy to read that you have enjoyed your time with us and please do rest assured that I shall be passing your kind comments to the team, as all the credit goes to them.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

Wishing you safe travels.


Duarte Correia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews