We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Zanzibari
Nearby Hotels
US$201
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
US$386
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$299
US$279
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$440
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$789
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
258
65
22
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
65
22
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrangipani suitelow tidesmall hotelprivate poolspice toursand beachnungwi villagethis wonderful hotelevery mealsea urchinsdecorated with flowerscleaning staffstone town tourwe loved our staymain beachour honeymoonbeautiful garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2016

A very quiet and beautiful getaway. It's like having your own private beach! The staff was very polite and helpful. The food was excellent and the beer was cold. Only one bedroom had AC but it really didn't matter since we spent most of the day out on the beach or in the water. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We stayed at The Zanzibari 10 nights to soak up some sun and enjoy the calm. The hotel is on the quiet side of Nungwi, on the east coast. This means big tidal differences with the chance of long walks out to sandbanks and the reef during low tide. You can also walk aong the coast to the village on the west coast.

The food was great! Even though we stayed so many nights we didn't get the same dinner menu twice.

The staff was wonderful! They really made us feel welcome, and put smiles on our faces every day.

They helped us get in touch with Fun Divers zanzibar, who we had absolutely fantastic dives with on several occations! We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

A nice and cozy hotel with an enjoyable garden setup. The food was good along with the service. We also wanted to dive, so they recommended Fun Divers Zanzibar, where everything went smoothly and the diving was great!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

The hotel is very well situated at the Indian Oceancoast. From our room we had a very beautiful view over the blue ocean. The staff is friendly. Breakfast and diner was very good and surprising. You could make a good choice of different courses and menus.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johannv47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Our stay at the Zanzibari hotel was wonderful! Delicious food and drinks at the restaurant and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice pool and a private beach close to the room. The room was very cozy and had a nice balcony facing the ocean. The room was also very tidy and spacious. The only negative to say was that there were no fridge in the room and the hotel didn't sell snacks and fruits. However we would definitely recommend this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank magnus_ekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews