We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 653)
Filter reviews
1 653 results
Traveller rating
963
478
124
48
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
963
478
124
48
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews samaki restaurant coco bar spices restaurant captain marco huge bath main restaurant stone town pool bar buffet style masai guards hakuna matata our honeymoon water aerobics all inclusive package evening entertainment prison island indian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1 653 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

After spending two weeks on a Safari hopping around we decided to stay a week at the Royal ZNZ to finish off our trip.

The Royal ZNZ is a beautiful property located directly on the beach. It offers multiple pools, two restaurants, four bars (One swim up) a spa, fitness center, and large gift shop.

The property itself is all open, meaning everything down to the gym is basically outdoors.However with the great weather and beautiful views this concept works perfectly for the resort. The landscape is down nicely and maintained well. They even have their own gardens located behind some of the guest rooms where they grow spices and vegetables.

The rooms are very spacious and modern with a touch of African decor. The beds are very comfortable, and they offer mosquito nets, however we never found bugs to be a problem in the rooms.

The pools are gorgeous and I really cannot do them justice simply by attempting to explain them. An infinity pool located overlooking the beach is breathtaking. Aside from that they have three large pool that all connect, which offer twin up bars and adequate covered and un-covered lounge areas.

While staying, we took the opportunity to dine at both restaurants. Breakfast is always offered buffet style, but you have an option of buffet or a menu for lunch and dinner, depending on which restaurant you choose to dine at. Everything we had was amazing. We had two vegetarians in our party and they were always given a large selection of items as well. While we were staying there they did a buffet dinner directly on the beach, which we really enjoyed. They had a huge variety of food stations which included everything from a salad bar to lobster and fresh seafood.

We also enjoyed a couple treatments at spa while we stayed. The masseuses were excellent and they offer the massages with a view of the beautiful beach. After traveling and moving around so much, this was definitely a nice option.

I like to close off by highlighting the staff. Everyone, down to the Maasai, that they employee as security, were the most friendly, authentic, and attentive group we have ever came across in our travels. No matter who we encountered they would always greet us happily, and usually by name (this was impressive due to the high volume of guest that stay there) We had a slight hiccup when we arrived, and Kim the General Manager rectified it immediately, and proceeded to check in with us days after to make sure our stay was a pleasant one. As someone who has worked in the industry for years, she really went above and beyond to make sure we were satisfied with our overall experience. Lastly the chefs were excellent, as I mentioned we had a few Vegetarians and slightly picky eaters in our group. They were always accommodating, and even stopped by our table at times while we dined just to check in.

Overall I would highly recommend this Resort. A beautiful property, ideal location, and an excellent staff, makes for an unforgettable vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you so much for your exceptional review and generous recommendation for Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

Considering the "slight hiccup" you mention so politely was actually a substantial problem and inconvenience to your vacation, your review is even more deeply appreciated. We're thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated your terrific descriptions of so many aspects of the resort and your experience, particularly your kind words about our wonderful team!

It was a pleasure to meet you and your group and I'm glad that I too was able to help make your stay better.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort to finish your vacation. Although I know you all thought of it as a "once in a lifetime" trip, I hope that the lure of Africa will call to you again one day and we can welcome you back to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is a huge resort, with a few room complex, 4 pools, an infinity pool, and a pool bar... Nice and plasent service- allways with a smile, nice big rooms, beautiful view.
The perfect place to REST.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank KarniB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Karni,

Thank you so much for a lovely review and for the use of one of our favourite words... "REST"!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and couldn't agree more about our beautiful view. I never cease to smile at positive comments regarding our staff, thank you for that, I know they'll be happy to see your kind remarks.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your vacation, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We stayed her for 7 days on our honeymoon following a 7 day safari. We wanted to stay at the Hideaway but it was fully booked months in advance. Royal Zanzibar wasn't perfect, but overall it is a good choice.

Our major complaint is they did nothing to recognize our honeymoon. After check-in, they put us in the block the farthest from the beach which we thought was pathetic given we were celebrating such an important occasion. We didn't expect anything more than we paid for, but we did expect a warm congratulations and a bit of consideration such as a room not in the worst block they had (out the door you could see a garbage heap of junk in the distance). After complaining a few times throughout the day (which is draining in itself) they moved us the next day a few blocks closer to the beach. It may seem insignificant, but boy did it spoil the first couple of days. We thought -- what jerks!

Anyway, overall we have to say it is still a good place and we think we still made a good choice, despite the cold reception. I'll give you a rundown.

ROOMS:
We had a superior deluxe room, which are on the the third floor and are newly renovated rooms. It is spacious with a view of the ocean and large balcony. The bathroom has a separate shower and tub and was also large. Staff came while we were dining each night to turn down the bed and wrap the mosquito net around the bed. There is an empty fridge that you can stock yourself with anything you take from the bar.

WIFI:
There is coverage on most of the property. It was weakest in our room. It wasn't spectacular but it was good enough most days. When the resort was busier on the weekend, we found it slower.

FOOD:
There is one buffet restaurant for all meals, as well as a beachside restaurant with a menu for breakfast and lunch. Dinner at the beachside restaurant is an extra cost and we didn't think the prices were reasonable so we did not try it. Even though there was only one restaurant for dinner, we were happy with the selection, They moved dinner to the poll one night and to the beach another, which was a nice touch. They did a good job switching meals up so it wouldn't get too boring.

DRINKS:
Nothing good to say about the selection of drinks. Very cheap liquor, beer and wine.

POOLS/BEACH:
One reason we selected this place is the beach is nice. Many other places have low tied where the sea weed shows up and it looks really ugly in the photos. There is no such problem here. There are several pools although there aren't loungers around all of them. Most people were on the beach or by the pool near the water with the infinity pool. They would serve drinks to your chair but no food.

ENTERTAINMENT:
This is another reason we selected this place. They had beach volleyball, stretching, water aerobics and a whole lot more every day. While we only participated a couple of times, it sure is nice having something else to do during the day than just sit around. They did a good job. They also had good entertainment every night after dinner. We stayed most nights and were happy with what we saw. They had a market one night with local crafts which we also really liked.

GETTING THERE:
It should only cost you $40 US to get there. Google a guy named Tanim. I think he's reviewed on the Safari Junkie website. There you can find his phone number where you can WhatsApp him to book a ride. He had a comfortable and clean van and was a very nice guy. Don't let anyone else charge you more. Also, price from Stone Town to airport is supposed to be $10 US. Don't pay more than $15.

Overall, we are happy with our choice despite some hiccups. 7 days was probably too long though. 5 was all we needed.

Room Tip: Superior deluxe on the third floor are newer.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoBloorTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your very detailed review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the oversight of your honeymoon. Without knowing your names I'm unable to determine if the information was on the booking and if so, how did we go wrong. If you wouldn't mind sending an email with your booking details I would very much like to look into it and see if I can determine what happened, that's not a mistake I would like us to repeat.

I'm also sorry that you didn't like the original room. One of my favourite parts of these newly built rooms is the amazing view from all of them. Even further back in the property the view over the gardens and pools is terrific but I'm glad that Reception was able to move you to a room closer to the ocean if that was your preference. The "garbage heap" that you mention is actually our theater, the roof was damaged during a recent storm. Unfortunately repairing it is going to disturb the guests in the blocks close by and as there are no windows looking that direction we've done our best to tidy it and leave it alone for the moment. I'm sorry it made you feel the room was lesser than our other rooms, it's certainly not intended to be.

We were very pleased to hear that the remainder of the stay was positive and enjoyed knowing that you liked our activities and our evening events.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your honeymoon, we hope to be able to welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is beautiful, very spacious and the location is fantastic.
You won't be disappointed when you stay here,
The food is nice. We took a canoe to visit the neighboring beaches. Zanzibar is a small paradise. The people are very friendly and the whole island is very picturesque.
The Royal Zanzibar is very nice but I would recommend to explore the bars and restaurants around it. The terrace from Langi Langi is very pretty, The massages on the beach are great. I think it's good to spend a little money on the local population.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Car482015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the property and location so much to your liking. It was also nice to hear that you had explored the area around the resort a little.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

The resort is beautiful and we loved spending time at the beach. The pools and grounds are well maintained and the staff are very friendly. We had our infant with us and they would always entertain him while we ate. I would recommend the resort to anyone looking to have a wholesome family holiday experience.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank HenrietteH370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Henriette,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your wonderful review and recommendation for Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and I'm glad that our staff continued to take good care of you and your infant son throughout your stay.

Thank you once again for selecting Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your family vacation, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews