We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay at Ant's Nest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Perfect stay at Ant's Nest!”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

My husbond and I spent three wonderful nights at Ant's Nest at the end of february together with our kids aged 5 and 7. The place itself is just fantastic with great acommodations, and beautiful surroundings with lots of animallife just outside your window.

We did the horseride every morning. The horseback-safaries are brilliant because you are able to get much closer to the animals than you would in a jeep or by foot. On the second day of riding we ended up right in the middle of a group of giraffes. The lodge has a great selection of well behaved horses, and can cater for every age and ability. Our five year old daughter rode about 7 hours in three days and loved every minute of it!

Two of the afternoons we did a bug-and-spor walk which especially the kids really enjoyed! The guides are extremely knowledgeable and can tell you anything you want to know (or maybe don't really want to know:-)) about all the bugs and animals in the bush. On the last afternoon we got to do the rhino-sundowner, where we helped feed the rhinos, and learned more about the "save-the-Waterberg-rhino"-project. A great experience!

The food at Ant's Nest is just amazing! I can honestly say that we have never eaten so much on vacation before! At Ant's you are never hungry, and every meal were just perfect!

At last I really have to mention, and say thank to, the wonderful staff at Ant's Nest! You are truely fantastic every one of you, and you all made this trip to the best vacation ever for us! We really hope to see you again some time!

PS. Please say hi to Numa from Christian and Jenny!

Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vinbi_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
210
123
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maisons-Laffitte, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017

My husband and I went for a 4 nights stay at Ant's Nest and Ant's Hill. We fell in love with the place!
The staff is really lovely, helpful and professional. Their motto is to please the customer!
The food is delicious
The horses are all well behaved; The horse riding guides are very experienced and respectful. We were very close to the wildlife!!
We want to come back and bring our daughter next time.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Cant thank everyone at Ants Nest enough. Another fabulous trip. Lovely lovely staff, more family! Beautiful and well trained horses. Delicious food and drink. Every need thought about and catered for. Just excellent.

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing place! Horse riding experience makes safari really special. Even for less experienced ones... Never been so close to rhinos and other animals. Fantastic welcoming team who will make you feel like at home. Great for kids.

Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fabien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We stayed at Ants Nest just before the Christmas and New Year break and i'm sorry we didn't have time to stay for the holiday itself. The setting is beautiful and each day can be tailored according to what you want to see or do. The food is amazing (thank you chefs!), good wine and our fellow guests were great company! Thank you so much to all the team, it was a real struggle to leave you all, wish we were back there now with the rhinos, the dogs and ALL the other animals!! Natalie & Jim

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12nat2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaalwater
40.2 km away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 37 in Vaalwater
392 reviews
27.4 km away
Waterberg Game Park
Waterberg Game Park
#14 of 37 in Vaalwater
29 reviews
0.0 km away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#11 of 37 in Vaalwater
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
#5 of 37 in Vaalwater
74 reviews
33.2 km away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
142 reviews
38.1 km away
Jamila Game Lodge cc
Jamila Game Lodge cc
#6 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest

Property: Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Address: Gunfontein, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Vaalwater
Price range (per night): R1 797 - R23 975
Hotel Class:4 star — Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ant's Nest & Ant's Hill are two private bush homes situated in the malaria-free Waterberg region of South Africa. Approximately 3 hours north of Johannesburg. These two bush homes are on a privately owned reserve and can offer guests game viewing activities which include game drives, game walks and fantastic horse riding. They can cater for all levels of riders and also accept kids of all ages. This is a wonderful destination for couples, honeymooners, families or just good friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ant`s Hill & Ant`s Nest Hotel Vaalwater
Ant`s Hill And Ant`s Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing