We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Nearby Hotels
Matingwe Lodge(Vaalwater)(Great Value!)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Waterberg Cottages(Vaalwater)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Olievenhoutsrus Guest & Game Farm(Vaalwater)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$227
Priceline
View Deal
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kololo Game Reserve(Vaalwater)
US$253
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zulu Camp(Vaalwater)
US$992
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
565
9
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingnon ridersexperienced ridersother guestslong cantersnothing is too much troublethe reserveriding abilityriding experiencegame drivesafternoon rideamazing experiencewonderful horseswhite rhinotheir jobgreat funspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Cant thank everyone at Ants Nest enough. Another fabulous trip. Lovely lovely staff, more family! Beautiful and well trained horses. Delicious food and drink. Every need thought about and catered for. Just excellent.

Room Tip: All excellent
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing place! Horse riding experience makes safari really special. Even for less experienced ones... Never been so close to rhinos and other animals. Fantastic welcoming team who will make you feel like at home. Great for kids.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fabien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We stayed at Ants Nest just before the Christmas and New Year break and i'm sorry we didn't have time to stay for the holiday itself. The setting is beautiful and each day can be tailored according to what you want to see or do. The food is amazing (thank you chefs!), good wine and our fellow guests were great company! Thank you so much to all the team, it was a real struggle to leave you all, wish we were back there now with the rhinos, the dogs and ALL the other animals!! Natalie & Jim

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 12nat2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We have just returned from staying at Ants Hill and Ants Nest and I cant praise these lodges enough. The horse back safaris, the accommodation and food are amazing but what makes these places even more extraordinary is the family feel - nothing is too much trouble. The other unique quality is the passion the team have for the animals and the work that they are doing to protect the endangered Waterberg Rhino. These lodges have it all!

Room Tip: Ants Hill - The Look Out, Ants Nest - The Weaver Suite
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMorganFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We stayed at Ants Nest for 7 nights for half term week with an 8 year old and a 12 year old. The whole experience from start to finish was truly magical and we couldn't have asked for anything more. All the staff were amazing, very friendly, helpful, knowledgable and they catered to all our desires. As beginner horse riders we were a little nervous but needn't have been - there are amazing horses that are tailored to match the rider. The rooms were wonderfully furnished and the food was amazing every single day - Kobi is a really talented chef but every single person we met was the same in their area of expertise - there really are too many names to mention but the kids wanted to shout out to Squirry for making them laugh so much. Ant and Tessa really have made a unique facility and the work they do with the white rhinos is amazing. Although a little sore from all the riding - I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Every room was unique - we stayed in the Weaver suite but from what I saw every room was of a high standard.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews