We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing horse riding safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Maisons-Laffitte, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing horse riding safari”
Reviewed 9 March 2017

My husband and I went for a 4 nights stay at Ant's Nest and Ant's Hill. We fell in love with the place!
The staff is really lovely, helpful and professional. Their motto is to please the customer!
The food is delicious
The horses are all well behaved; The horse riding guides are very experienced and respectful. We were very close to the wildlife!!
We want to come back and bring our daughter next time.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
202
115
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Cant thank everyone at Ants Nest enough. Another fabulous trip. Lovely lovely staff, more family! Beautiful and well trained horses. Delicious food and drink. Every need thought about and catered for. Just excellent.

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing place! Horse riding experience makes safari really special. Even for less experienced ones... Never been so close to rhinos and other animals. Fantastic welcoming team who will make you feel like at home. Great for kids.

Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fabien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We stayed at Ants Nest just before the Christmas and New Year break and i'm sorry we didn't have time to stay for the holiday itself. The setting is beautiful and each day can be tailored according to what you want to see or do. The food is amazing (thank you chefs!), good wine and our fellow guests were great company! Thank you so much to all the team, it was a real struggle to leave you all, wish we were back there now with the rhinos, the dogs and ALL the other animals!! Natalie & Jim

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12nat2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We have just returned from staying at Ants Hill and Ants Nest and I cant praise these lodges enough. The horse back safaris, the accommodation and food are amazing but what makes these places even more extraordinary is the family feel - nothing is too much trouble. The other unique quality is the passion the team have for the animals and the work that they are doing to protect the endangered Waterberg Rhino. These lodges have it all!

Room Tip: Ants Hill - The Look Out, Ants Nest - The Weaver Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMorganFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaalwater
40.2 km away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 36 in Vaalwater
366 reviews
15.2 km away
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
#7 of 36 in Vaalwater
50 reviews
12.6 km away
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
#6 of 36 in Vaalwater
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
Waterberg Game Park
Waterberg Game Park
#16 of 36 in Vaalwater
23 reviews
30.3 km away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#3 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
245 reviews
31.7 km away
Jembisa Bush Home
Jembisa Bush Home
#3 of 36 in Vaalwater
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest

Property: Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Address: Gunfontein, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Vaalwater
Hotel Class:4 star — Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ant's Nest & Ant's Hill are two private bush homes situated in the malaria-free Waterberg region of South Africa. Approximately 3 hours north of Johannesburg. These two bush homes are on a privately owned reserve and can offer guests game viewing activities which include game drives, game walks and fantastic horse riding. They can cater for all levels of riders and also accept kids of all ages. This is a wonderful destination for couples, honeymooners, families or just good friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ant`s Hill And Ant`s Nest
Ant`s Hill & Ant`s Nest Hotel Vaalwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing