We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Nearby Hotels
Zulu Camp(Vaalwater)
US$992
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camp Ndlovu(Welgevonden Game Reserve)
US$860
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1 258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
US$57
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Legend Golf and Safari Resort(Entabeni Game Reserve)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sondela Nature Reserve Accommodation(Bela Bela)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Priceline
View Deal
Nedile Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
565
9
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingnon ridersexperienced ridersother guestslong cantersnothing is too much troublethe reserveriding abilityriding experiencegame drivesafternoon rideamazing experiencewonderful horseswhite rhinotheir jobgreat funspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We stayed at Ants Nest just before the Christmas and New Year break and i'm sorry we didn't have time to stay for the holiday itself. The setting is beautiful and each day can be tailored according to what you want to see or do. The food is amazing (thank you chefs!), good wine and our fellow guests were great company! Thank you so much to all the team, it was a real struggle to leave you all, wish we were back there now with the rhinos, the dogs and ALL the other animals!! Natalie & Jim

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 12nat2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We have just returned from staying at Ants Hill and Ants Nest and I cant praise these lodges enough. The horse back safaris, the accommodation and food are amazing but what makes these places even more extraordinary is the family feel - nothing is too much trouble. The other unique quality is the passion the team have for the animals and the work that they are doing to protect the endangered Waterberg Rhino. These lodges have it all!

Room Tip: Ants Hill - The Look Out, Ants Nest - The Weaver Suite
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMorganFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We stayed at Ants Nest for 7 nights for half term week with an 8 year old and a 12 year old. The whole experience from start to finish was truly magical and we couldn't have asked for anything more. All the staff were amazing, very friendly, helpful, knowledgable and they catered to all our desires. As beginner horse riders we were a little nervous but needn't have been - there are amazing horses that are tailored to match the rider. The rooms were wonderfully furnished and the food was amazing every single day - Kobi is a really talented chef but every single person we met was the same in their area of expertise - there really are too many names to mention but the kids wanted to shout out to Squirry for making them laugh so much. Ant and Tessa really have made a unique facility and the work they do with the white rhinos is amazing. Although a little sore from all the riding - I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Every room was unique - we stayed in the Weaver suite but from what I saw every room was of a high standard.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Ants Hill. From our arrival at the gate to our departure, we were made to feel like part of the family! The facilities are world class and the entourage of skilled staff do not spare anything to ensure you have the best experience! Highly recommended for all - young, old, single or family there is always something to do.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The staff at Ant's Nest deserves a "6" on a five point scale. The team is amazing, they managed to make us feel at home from the first minute we arrived. Safari's be it riding horses (in our case for the first time) or the walking safaris were fantastic. Staff is very knowledgeable about nature. Food is delicious and not over the top as you often see at upmarket lodges like this. My son loved it!! Ever done a early morning bush run and bumped into giraffes and rhino's? We stayed a long weekend and it felt as if we have been a week away from work. I can only strongly recommend to book now
Joost Vlaanderen

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank joostvlaanderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews