We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
22
16
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
16
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering rory hosts braai walks cottage escape sleep animals game
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Had a sleepless night on a very uncomfortable mattress. Roof leaking over bed and used floss left in drawers from previous guests-overall cleanliness was lacking. The bathroom is also very small and cramped-simply not as luxury-a-place as expected. Did not receive any money back for the nights we didn't spend there. Sorely disappointed.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BrigitteH1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvetteMuldoon, Owner at Shondoro Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

This review is from the wife of the previous person, so its the same couple. The 'floss' turned out to be a thread from a cleaning cloth so actually the cottage was cleaned just before you arrived. Our matresses are of hotel quality and approved by the AA, you are the first people to complain. You did not even come to talk to us but left out of your own accord. The thatchers are fixing the roof as we speak, thank you for informing us of the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Cleanliness problems. Cramped space. Shower head very low. Owner took no responsibility after noting these issues. Small area to take walks. Didn't see any animals, but they might be there?! Left after a sleepless night.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudolphHarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvetteMuldoon, Owner at Shondoro Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

(This review is from the husband of the above reviewer, so its the same couple placing two reviews.) As stated your cottage was cleaned the morning before your arrival and creatures such as gecko's and insects do sometimes enjoy living on our farm as well. You did not even talk to us, so how could we react and take "responsibility". As indicated there are many more walking trails but because you just left without speaking to us we could not tell you. Maybe the bush is not for you and your wife as we are deep in nature and it seems your did not enjoy that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We had an absolute super time at Shondoro. It was so beautiful and peaceful - it is just amazing to be in the bush - and the walking trails are very well maintained. Our chalet was rustic - just the way we like it. The location is wonderful but I think when it rains the road can be a bit tricky. The double bed in our room creaked a bit - I am not sure why. And thank you to Yvette and Rory - you really made our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank S8066RLpaulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The overall experience was good - quite and peaceful exactly what we were looking for. Yvette and Rory were excellent hosts.
We suggest for the shower head to be moved upwards - as it is really a bit to low - especially for taller peoeple

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 56sanetl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Wonderful stay with great friendly helpful hosts. Rory and Yvette did everything to let us feel most welcome. When we forgot some things they did everything to get it back to us. We will certainly come again

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mariuss397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews