We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
60
3
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
3
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main gate saxon hotel sunset cruise lodge manager game drives safari experience attention to detail butler zulu camp lions johannesburg housekeeping wildlife guide element kruger
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2022

Lovely place and had a nice rest - but the management lied about the boat that was broken. Pretended it broke that day but staff confirmed that it has been broken for months. They still keep on advertising the sunset cruise as part of the package even though they know it’s not working. And then calmly lie about it. When I asked why they don’t just remove it from marketing and booking - they clearly stated that they are worried clients will not book. Left a bad taste on a nice trip

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johannbS5568KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2020

Now I know how Her Majesty The Queen is treated!
We arrived at Zulu Camp ( this is the part of the reserve that contains the chalets, restaurant, bar and spa) mid afternoon November 2019. While touring the camp I asked our manager Brendon where all the other guest were? He said there weren’t any other guest – you have the whole place to yourself. We stayed 3 nights in chalet number 2 which was beautifully appointed with full bath – separate tub and shower plus an additional outdoor shower overlooking the small creek running through the camp. Jan was our server, bartender & butler during our stay and truly made us feel special (like royalty). Our chef Matthew would inquire what our likes were for lunch and dinner and prepared several fabulous meals with his culinary flair.

We had a game drive on the afternoon we arrived and two drives everyday: one early morning 06:30 and one in the afternoon around 15:00. They were all spectacular! One evening we had a sunset boat ride with our captain Tinus on the lake near the dam. Here we saw rhino and crocodile with wonderful cocktails and charcuterie. We did not use the spa however we did use the shooting range and Pieter and Dion were wonderful instructors (10 out of 10 at 100 yards .30-06 Springfield).

By far the best part of our stay were the game drives. Our driver and guide Jacques did an outstanding job and we tip our hat to him. He really knows what he is talking about, is enthusiastic and answered all our questions.

Shambala is owned by the same group that owns the Saxon Hotel in Johannesburg. See our review of the Saxon. As I mentioned in my Saxon review, everyone at Shambala is at the top of their game. We give 4.5 stars. My wife’s only slight complaint was no wifi. I loved being off the grid. We hope to return someday!

Room tip: CHalet 2 had an outdoor shower that overlooked the lake.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NewZealandPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GeorgeCohen, Managing Director at Shambala Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2020

Dear NewZealandPatriot,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay with us at Shambala Private Game Reserve!

It is such a pleasure to receive this kind of feedback from a guest, especially regarding our valued team members.We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Best regards,

George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2019

from the gate guard Simon..to the lodge manager Rhomello,our private butler Thabang..chef Dayne(thank you for the extra couple of pounds)..and the most fantastic Monnique,thank you all for making our engagement weekend unforgettable..even the game put their best foot forward..lions elephants,buffels,giraffes,and just for good measure a cheetah kill...monnique thanks for all the trouble with the extra flowers romantic rose pebble dinner.your alsways friendly and comforting gestures when i was nervous for asking the big question....guys this place is a must do for everyone

Room tip: we stayed in room 2 next to the waterdam
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FILI V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GeorgeCohen, Managing Director at Shambala Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Dear FILI V,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Shambala Private Game Reserve - and also for choosing to spend such an important weekend with us. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us on the farm and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2019

If you want to be treated like royalty, feel relaxed and comfortable while experiencing all the magic of African wildlife then this is it. The staff was amazing, attentive, and knowledgeable. It was very private as there is only 8 chalets. These rooms are beautiful, well appointed and very comfortable. The sound of a rushing water stream ran next to our room. Exceptionally fine and customized non stop dining. The boat in the dam was icing on the cake. We saw hippos, rhinos, elephants, zebra, lions, leopards, hyenas, giraffe, and about 5 other varieties. We even fished. Grace at the spa was also wonderful. My husband and I took our 22 yr old daughter and my 74 yr old mother, perfect for all and we had the experience of a lifetime. If you like nature and luxury, then you must go! There was WiFi at the main lodges area.

Room tip: You might ask for chalet 4 or 5 or greater for some distance from the main area. But all are wonderful.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snook60175
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GeorgeCohen, Managing Director at Shambala Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

Dear snook60175,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Shambala.

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the time with us - and thank you for the compliments!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019

What an incredibly relaxing 25th wedding anniversary weekend and last minute decision to add our 16 and 7 year old to the booking!
The food was sumptuous and personalised- vanilla cupcakes and fillet steak were made for my daughter on demand, while I loved the variety and preparation of the fresh vegetables from the garden.
The game drives were funny and informative and were preceded by a soothing and bubbly wake up call, a perfect dry flat white, fires lighting and warming our path and a hot water bottle and a blanket on the vehicle each morning.
Shaun, the ranger entertained, schooled and quizzed my daughters and my 7 year old's speech on Monday needed no preparation.
Quad biking was fun and the spa was relaxing ( when we arrived my daughter's favourite beverage and snack were served-such thoughtful details)
Roemelo is calm, quiet yet very observant and an exceptional manager. The rooms were luxurious with turn downs, petals, bubbles and bubbly while our kid's chalet was discreetly straightened up after each mess! My children rated this as one of their best weekends (with no TV, no wifi and no sea!).

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GeorgeCohen, Managing Director at Shambala Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

Dear Debbie H,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Shambala - and also for choosing to spend your 25th wedding anniversary with us - congratulations!

It is always such a pleasure to read this kind of feedback - this is the experience we strive to provide to guests, and we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews