We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fynbos Estate
Nearby Hotels
SuNel Guest Rooms(Malmesbury)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Riebeek Valley Hotel(Riebeek-West)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Riebeek Kasteel)
US$133
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ridgeback House(Windmeul)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate(Paarl)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
US$203
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge(Paarl)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
42
3
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
3
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingcape townfamily and friendsnature reservewine makerfree wifiget awaygo the extra milelarge bedroomhidden gemenclosed gardenwedding weekendswimming poolwarm welcomeold houseat homediana
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016

The location of Fynbos Estate is idyllic. Great views surround the farm, mountains, hills and wide open spaces, dotted with Olive groves, vineyards and fynbos.
The amenities are great and trails for walks or biking are a must . Beautiful garden surrounds the main Guest House, which has a wide verandah overlooking the gardens. Fynbos is perfect for a peaceful, down-time getaway. The cottages are furnished tastefully. The main highlight for me was the restaurant with outside/inside seating. The food - cooked by Johan - was so tasty, innovative, and everyone at Fynbos is welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Rooms in Honey Badger house are quiet, airy and the location is wonderful
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank di545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana1153, Owner at Fynbos Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Thanks so much for your comments and for enjoying what Fynbos offers. We are glad you got into walking and riding and partook of the tranquility we love so much
best wishes
Diana and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The setting, the food and the wonderful hosts, Johan and Diane made this one week meditation retreat the most amazing and inspiring experience at Fynbos Estate...The property is nestled below the "Dragon Ridge" in Joubert's Kloof. An amazing run up the Ridge had me view the beautiful valleys below in the rising sun. When I returned after about an hour an half the most delicious breakfast awaited me. Johan is an exceptional chef who takes your every wish to heart and create culinary miracles on a daily basis!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiebke_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana1153, Owner at Fynbos Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

HI there
Thaks for your review and so glad you got into the mnountain which is very special we know. And glad the breakfast went down a treat too.
Hope to see you again
best wishes
Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Fynbos Estate is partly located within a nature reserve – which means you have amazing views if you'd like to go for a run, hike, or MTB ride. Love food? This farm caters for all tastes (upon request) using fresh, locally-produced ingredients to conjure up amazing meals. Despite this being a working farm, all staff are helpful and friendly to comply with even the most mundane requests and the farm has a tranquil atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pack your swim gear – the secluded pool is great in summer.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudhuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana1153, Owner at Fynbos Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Many thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the mountain and the food and all of us at fynbos hopw you return
best wishes
Diana and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I was fortunate enough to spend a week at Fynbos Estate for a meditation retreat at the end of April 2016. The weather was cold and wet on arrival and despite the temptation to book into the main house accommodation, I had a budget I was sticking to and a tent that would offer a grounding experience in simplicity for a week.

Fynbos Estate and it’s surroundings are beautiful. It is a nature lovers playground. I erected my tent close to the pool, on a landing area of lush green grass, sheltered by Olive trees (Just harvested) Dragonsridge mountain as my backdrop and glorious views across the valley to the neighbouring wine farms’ vineyards. A great spot to catch the sunset each evening. And convenient location for the shared bathing facilities, which are basic, but clean with HOT showers. Essential when camping.

The Fynbos Estate food was unforgettable. Served in the "hearth of the home", communal dining area with roaring log fire in the centre of the room, farm pets circled up cozy on the rugs and wide open windows sharing exquisite views across the farmlands. All meals were vegetarian, made with fresh ingredients and prepared with such creativity, care and attention. The Meletzane bake and courgette cupcakes with cream cheese icing, especially delicious! Johan (The owner) is a wizard in the kitchen, has a selection of great homemade Fynbos products; jams, marinades, sauces, dressings and is the master behind their wonderful wine label too.

Fynbos Estate is a magical space, off the beaten track, and yet only an hour and 15minutes from the bustle of Cape Town. An extraordinary place to getaway in order to reconnect. The mountains, gardens and warmth of the hosts Diana and Johan (and greater team) make for a “magic” retreat / getaway / gathering.

Room Tip: If you're camping, make sure it's by the pool, close to the olive trees, you'll catch incredible sunsets in the evening.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LadyExpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana1153, Owner at Fynbos Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Layd Explorer
What a pleasure that you enjoyed your retreat here and appreciated the sunset and the views and the gardens and of course the food. As you probably gathered Johan loves to cook vegetarian so this is very happy news for him
Hope to see you again
Diana johan and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

We went to Fynbos as a family for a retreat. It couldn't have been more amazing. The hosts are extremely accommodating and welcoming - even to the extent of catering for one of us being vegan. Beautiful surroundings, free wifi, and the food.... Where do we start. Fresh, innovative, healthy, tasty. We were never hungry or overly full... Beautiful memories that we will not forget... Will definitely go back.

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank Joya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana1153, Owner at Fynbos Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Joya,
We are delighted that you enjoyed Fynbos and chef Johan is very pleased about your enjoyment of his vegan food.
warm regards
Diana and Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews