We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by nature, friendly family, fantastic food”
Review of Fynbos Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malmesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fynbos Estate
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Fantastic location, really 'getting away from it all'. Diana and Johan couldn't be more welcoming. The farmhouse is beautiful, surrounded by the scents of the fresh herb garden, overlooking the stunning scenery. The food was so tasty and so thoughtfully put together. Stayed in Caracal cottage which was just a short walk from the farmhouse. Comfortable and homely. Came away feeling thoroughly spoiled and revived!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana1153, Owner at Fynbos Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

HI Nicola
Thanks for this.
We are so happy you enjoyed little Caracal cottage and the food . And best of all that you went away feeling spoiled and renewed
best wishes
Diana and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2016

The location of Fynbos Estate is idyllic. Great views surround the farm, mountains, hills and wide open spaces, dotted with Olive groves, vineyards and fynbos.
The amenities are great and trails for walks or biking are a must . Beautiful garden surrounds the main Guest House, which has a wide verandah overlooking the gardens. Fynbos is perfect for a peaceful, down-time getaway. The cottages are furnished tastefully. The main highlight for me was the restaurant with outside/inside seating. The food - cooked by Johan - was so tasty, innovative, and everyone at Fynbos is welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Rooms in Honey Badger house are quiet, airy and the location is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank di545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana1153, Owner at Fynbos Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks so much for your comments and for enjoying what Fynbos offers. We are glad you got into walking and riding and partook of the tranquility we love so much
best wishes
Diana and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The setting, the food and the wonderful hosts, Johan and Diane made this one week meditation retreat the most amazing and inspiring experience at Fynbos Estate...The property is nestled below the "Dragon Ridge" in Joubert's Kloof. An amazing run up the Ridge had me view the beautiful valleys below in the rising sun. When I returned after about an hour an half the most delicious breakfast awaited me. Johan is an exceptional chef who takes your every wish to heart and create culinary miracles on a daily basis!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiebke_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana1153, Owner at Fynbos Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

HI there
Thaks for your review and so glad you got into the mnountain which is very special we know. And glad the breakfast went down a treat too.
Hope to see you again
best wishes
Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Fynbos Estate is partly located within a nature reserve – which means you have amazing views if you'd like to go for a run, hike, or MTB ride. Love food? This farm caters for all tastes (upon request) using fresh, locally-produced ingredients to conjure up amazing meals. Despite this being a working farm, all staff are helpful and friendly to comply with even the most mundane requests and the farm has a tranquil atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pack your swim gear – the secluded pool is great in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudhuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana1153, Owner at Fynbos Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Many thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the mountain and the food and all of us at fynbos hopw you return
best wishes
Diana and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I was fortunate enough to spend a week at Fynbos Estate for a meditation retreat at the end of April 2016. The weather was cold and wet on arrival and despite the temptation to book into the main house accommodation, I had a budget I was sticking to and a tent that would offer a grounding experience in simplicity for a week.

Fynbos Estate and it’s surroundings are beautiful. It is a nature lovers playground. I erected my tent close to the pool, on a landing area of lush green grass, sheltered by Olive trees (Just harvested) Dragonsridge mountain as my backdrop and glorious views across the valley to the neighbouring wine farms’ vineyards. A great spot to catch the sunset each evening. And convenient location for the shared bathing facilities, which are basic, but clean with HOT showers. Essential when camping.

The Fynbos Estate food was unforgettable. Served in the "hearth of the home", communal dining area with roaring log fire in the centre of the room, farm pets circled up cozy on the rugs and wide open windows sharing exquisite views across the farmlands. All meals were vegetarian, made with fresh ingredients and prepared with such creativity, care and attention. The Meletzane bake and courgette cupcakes with cream cheese icing, especially delicious! Johan (The owner) is a wizard in the kitchen, has a selection of great homemade Fynbos products; jams, marinades, sauces, dressings and is the master behind their wonderful wine label too.

Fynbos Estate is a magical space, off the beaten track, and yet only an hour and 15minutes from the bustle of Cape Town. An extraordinary place to getaway in order to reconnect. The mountains, gardens and warmth of the hosts Diana and Johan (and greater team) make for a “magic” retreat / getaway / gathering.

Room Tip: If you're camping, make sure it's by the pool, close to the olive trees, you'll catch in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LadyExpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana1153, Owner at Fynbos Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Layd Explorer
What a pleasure that you enjoyed your retreat here and appreciated the sunset and the views and the gardens and of course the food. As you probably gathered Johan loves to cook vegetarian so this is very happy news for him
Hope to see you again
Diana johan and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fynbos Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Estate

Address: Fynbos Estate | Joubertskloof, Malmesbury 7299, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Malmesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Malmesbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Fynbos Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fynbos Estate, an hour's drive from Cape Town, is situated in the Paardeberg Mountain close to Malmesbury. Our beautiful old Victorian Farmhouse and two guest cottages are surrounded by lush gardens, vineyards and fields and 270 hectares of mountain fynbos. Part of the estate is a small winery which makes and sells wine under the Dragonridge label, and there is also a magical indoor-outdoor venue space called the Pavilion which seats up to 80. This estate is a paradise for all nature lovers and for those who appreciate good food, fine wine and comfortable accommodation. With easy walks, spectacular views and flora and fauna, Fynbos Mountain Retreat is ideal for retreats, workshops, getaways for family and friends as well as stopovers. We offer self-catered, part-catered and fully catered options and where catered, we serve delicious homemade food using, wherever possible, farm produce. Our Pavilion with its wooden floors and mountain views provides workshop space and an ideal venue for parties, weddings and conferences. We are child friendly and have a swimming pool under the mountain. Fynbos is currently a conservancy and is in the process of becoming a fully fledged Cape nature reserve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing