We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
91
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
91
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza eggs farm bread winemakers cottage working farm farm stay farm animals on arrival attention to detail plunge pool cakes veggie garden great wine beautiful place at home few days piece of heaven
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2021

We stayed in the Melkamer. It was beautifully decorated with lots of attention to detail. The little extras that we weren't expecting really made our stay so enjoyable - the eggs and sourdough bread with condiments to make breakfast, a bottle of wine and samples of Caperitif and tonic water, rusks and filter coffee. There was a fire place and wood and fire lighters provided. Very comfortable accommodation in a beautiful setting.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bronwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2021

We absolutely loved our stay at Kalmoesfontein. We stayed in Die Melk Kamer (so charming and comfortable) and friends stayed in The Winemaker's Cottage, where we ate and swam and enjoyed the views. The kids loved the animals, the hot tub (Winemaker's) and the freedom! Adults loved the views, the hot tub, the insanely comfortable beds, the beautiful bathrooms and the thoughtful touches such as homebaked bread, a basket of freshly laid eggs, milk and homemade rusks. Oh and the fireplaces all laid and ready. Really a step above any other farm accommodation we have experienced. We will be back!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semma Badenhorst, Innkeeper at AA Badenhorst Family Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Thanks so much for your great review Laura, so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Look forward to seeing you guys next time : -)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021

Spent a wonderful weekend. All rooms are very tastefully furnished and decorated with a rustic kind of feel. A superb lunch of slow roasted lamb for thirty guests, excellent wines produced on the farm.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B5004OJpauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semma Badenhorst, Innkeeper at AA Badenhorst Family Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Thanks for your lovely review! It was such an honor for us to host such a special celebration, a wonderful and happy day. Take care and see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

Totally amazing ambiance & personal touch! Next time we will definitely stay longer. However we managed to fit in a lot just staying one night - enjoyed lovely farm wines & farm bread on the stoop in the evening, ran & walked on the farm and experienced an amazing farm lunch.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VanillaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021

This was my second time staying at Kalmoesfontein. We stayed in the Melkkamer which is gorgeous and cozy and has everything you need. Semma is so lovely and welcoming and Charl’s food is delicious. We cannot wait to go back.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank minettetreurnicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews