We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
95
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
95
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza eggs farm bread winemakers cottage working farm farm stay farm animals on arrival attention to detail plunge pool cakes veggie garden great wine beautiful place at home few days piece of heaven
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2021

We have just had the pleasure of our second holiday at this exceptional place. Once again staying in the Stables.
If possible it was even better than before! There were some wonderful additions, a gorgeous garden in our backyard with outdoor baths for a treat. More fun things for kids and fabulous Yvette to take our son on donkey rides. She was incredibly kind and patient and so knowledgeable.

The best rusks!! Complimentary wine, Caperitif and the most heavenly Skaan tonic water. The most comfortable beds, beautifully turned out cottage with all the bits and bobs you could wish for. Homemade freshly baked bread on arrival. Could go on and on... just go and stay!!

We will definitely be coming back again and again. Would highly recommend this place for a time away from the city.

Room tip: All rooms are perfect, just depends on how many guests are travelling
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carold898
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2021

Our two-night break at the Silo was absolutely delightful. The Silo is equipped with everything you could possibly need and has air conditioning for those hot Swartland days. The large, comfortable bed had wonderfully crisp linen. Outside, there is a plunge pool, braai, and an array of comfy places to lounge all day. Everyone on the farm was so friendly and Semma made sure that we had everything we needed and that our stay was going well. I can't wait to be back here soon!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mieke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2021

We headed out to the Swartland to explore the world of Chenin and discovered a completely unique wine experience of which AA Badenhorst is a huge part of. The Wine Makers Cottage is nestled right in the middle of the farm and vineyards, we arrived to find fresh eggs from the chickens on the farm, freshly baked bread, rooibos also grown and picked there and so many extras that made us feel right at home! The decor and linen was exceptional, huge king sized beds, all bath&body products were amazing and locally sourced. We spent hours in the Wine barrel Hot Tub overlooking the valley. The restaurant does proper Napoletana pizzas, home made ice cream and breakfasts of dreams. What an absolute gem, we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vickybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2021

WOW, just a wow from me, amazing "escape" from the city. Long drive, once there you are greeted with love and smiles. The wine is boutique style and it is family-run. Done in a very South Africa "veld" style vibe, very quaint.

Room tip: The rooms are all good, quiet, very clean and Schick. outdoors showers, pools, nice veranda. They all very unique.
Date of stay: December 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Houtbaychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2021

Kalmoesfontein Farm is the absolute perfect getaway just outside of Cape Town. It is far enough from the city to feel like a real escape, but close enough to allow for a quick spur of the moment escape. The rooms are exceptionally decorated, comfortable and simply appointed - but with every little luxury you need to relax and unwind. Be sure to time your trip to coincide with host Charl's pizza evenings and you will never look at another pizza quite the same way ever again - he has redefined what is great in a pizza and it is something to behold. The farm boast swimming pools and dams and all sorts of fun escapes for the kids and naturally some the country's finest wines for the adults. Book now, even if it is for next year - you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zabantu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews