We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vegetarian options”
Review of The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Buccaneer is one of the well kept secrets on Corn Island. Located on ship wreck beach, we open our doors to all visitors of Corn Island. We feel very connected to the history of the island and we prove this in all aspects of your stay. We offer great tasting food and good service from your reservation until the dishes. It is always a good time in our pirate inspired restaurant.The Buccaneer is located conveniently on the premises of Paraiso Beach Hotel on Corn Island. The restaurant is open air, decorated with a typical island style thatched roof. You will have a dining view on our garden, the beach and the Caribbean sea.Whether you like a private dinner, a family lunch or group catering, just let us know and we will accommodate you. Even live music is offered regularly.For everyone who likes great food and professional service, The Buccaneer offers all possibilities.
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

I like that The Buccaneer serves fresh vegetables and fruit smoothies. I recommend the curry dishes and the goat cheese sandwich

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank lindiehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornIsland, Owner at The Buccaneer, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you! We'll do our best to keep it up! I always have fresh green beans, broccoli, colliflower etc. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile



We stayed 2 nights at the Paraiso hotel and ate at the Buccaneer, because it was convenient. The first night I had the special of the day ( King fish) and my husband had some kind of a chicken dish. The second night I had Thai green curry and my husband had chicken fajitas. The food was okay, nothing special, but the prices were a bit steep IMO.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank scorpiogirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the paraiso hotel and decided to have our supper at the Buccaneer as well as we could just put it on our hotel tab.
I have to say the food is just mediocre, nothing special, just the price is special as it is a bit steep.
And quite often you get a good stench of the sewer swamp just outside the restaurant that blows right thru the restaurant which is a huge turn off.
Other than that the restaurant looks nice and very tropical with a lot of Dutchies, surprised they don’t serve patat with mayonnaise and Currie sauce, or kroketjes and frikandelletjes.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank rotjong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We had the burger $8, fish taco$8, and the breakfast $5. Yes prices are more expensive but they use better quality ingredients. Real cheddar! Thick bacon! French fries that are actually crispy and not limp like everywhere else in Nicaragua!. Not too salty and nicely flavoured with herbs and spices. Yes, they did run out of bacon but almost every restaurant on the Island was out of ingredients due to the poor weather stopping boat shipments for a week. Plus, it is unfair to say you are forced to eat here. There is a comedor literally 3 minutes walk away next to the church where you can have basic lunch for as little as $3. (almuerzo). They are happy to arrange a taxi which arrives in minutes and costs $0.80 per person to anywhere on the island. If we had more time we would definitely eaten here again and ordered off the more expensive dinner menu. The venue is quite lovely at night. This is a good option for a more refined meal.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Bar_none_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for couple of nights at the Paraiso Beach Hotel where we had excellent lunches and dinners in the Buccaneer. The lobster tacos are an excellent choice for lunch as well as the sandwiches with fresh baked bread. There is also a big variety of fresh smoothies and a smoothie of the day. A good variety of dinner choices available and very friendly staff.

Also great breakfast!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank LauraDW1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Buccaneer also viewed

Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
 

Been to The Buccaneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing