We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
104
3
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
3
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing village cambodian border on stilts the owner prawns catch of the day the cottages real reason pet pig exotic birds lush gardens off the beaten track muesli quiet place chin paths lagoon
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The website (www.mairood-resort.com) does it no justice, this place and the surroundings are great and better than described.
Chin and his team are wonderful hosts and the fact Chin speaks fluent English (American) means you can get all the info you need and he really goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable. The pool is a real bonus and fine for kids. Also there is badminton, volleyball etc. And a host of animals on the property: a blind pig, squirrels, a few friendly dogs and cats, butterflies, birds etc.

Free reliable wireless internet access is available.

The nearest beach is not that clean but within walking distance, through the charming Mairood stilted fishing village, is a narrow strip of sandy beach with crystal clear waters, fine for families. Don’t expect a pristine sandy beach with „all facilities” this is a slice of „real Thailand” with all the pros and cons that go with that i.e. you have to put up with a bit of rubbish.

The locals are super-friendly and not just suffering from tourist-fatigue.

The food is delcious..try the aubergines, crabs, prawns, squid and fish that is all caught by local people.

One fun excursion which cost 15usd was to rent a typical motorised fishing boat (and fisherman) and head off into the mangrove samps for a spot of clam digging (with your feet)...bring them back, grill them and eat them ...yum yum.

Another is to get a seriously good massge session at the local hospital by „real professionals”.

No doubt we will be back...
PS It’s a perfect stopping point before crossing the Cambodian border at Hat Lek which w

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Just for a night on my way to Cambodia for a quck bordercrossing for my visa. I had read the review and got curious. New Years day and after a long journey from Bangkok we were longing for some relaxed place to spent the night before going on to the border and Koh Maak the next day. On the crossroads from the mainroad were we got out of the Songthaew we saw the sign with the resorts name poibting to a small road. Ok,two motorcycle taxis and off we went on a short ride through the nice countryside ending at a fishervillage near the ocean. To our surprise the motors went on a narrow concrete path past the open livingrooms of the fishermen families till we came to the gate of the resort. Hidden away in beautiful tropical lush gardens lay the cottages in different styles. Chin, the Thai owner who lived in the USA for a long time, was wellcoming us and he was the perfect host. He and his staff are absolutely fabulous people. The atmosphere, the food , all great value. No big luxury but just the perfect place to be. And strolling out the resort into the small fishercommunity is so much more real than floating markets or elephantcamps. This is the real rural Thailand I love. Try it out, You will have an unique experience for sure you won't forget. Tip: try to stay a bit longer than one night. We will be back for sure! and one more tip: if you go to Koh Maaak try the Pano resort: Another jewel!

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I had a wonderful time with my brother at the Mairood Resort. The owners name is Chin and he is one of the best hosts I ever met. He is a perfect cook and very friendly. Also his stuff is perfectly and very kindly. The location is a great chance to come in contact with the locals. It was so relaxing for us to stay at the resort and we enjoyed the 5 days we had there.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nudansker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We made our best Thailand experience in this resort, which is located WITHIN a traditional Thai fishing village. It is the location and the very friendly staff which made this stay so special for us.
The manager and owner is a Thai but had studied in the USA. He made us feel at home from the first minute. Not also that he cooked excellent Thai dinners for us, took us on rides to the next villages, we were also able to discuss Thai culture and politics with him. As I wrote, he is Thai but has a western opinion about Thailand, that made it very interesting.
We liked the resort area a lot (which is just a normal, clean place, no 5-star atmosphere which we don't like anyway) but we also liked to walk through the fishing village which is around the place. So there you have the best combination of a cozy place to stay and a lot to see and experience around!
We will definitely come back!

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williwieberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews