We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in Sri Lanka”
other travellers have booked this property
La Cannelle Cinnamon Plantation Villa, exclusive and fully staffed. Your piece of paradise.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Cannelle Cinnamon Plantation Villa, exclusive and fully staffed. Your piece of paradise.
La Cannelle Plantation Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
La Cannelle Cinnamon Plantation Villa, exclusive and fully staffed. Your piece of paradise.
La Cannelle Plantation Villa
La Cannelle Pool in the Afternoon
La Cannelle Villa Pool at Night
La Cannelle Day Beds
Doors to La Cannelle Planter's Suite Private Veranda
La Cannelle Cinnamon Beginning to Flush
La Cannelle Driveway at Night
A Freshly Harvested Bundle of La Cannelle Plantation Cinnamon
La Cannelle Cinnamon Bundles
One of La Cannelle Plantation's Prolific Mango Trees
Fresh Cashew Nuts from a La Cannelle Plantation Tree
La Cannelle Summer Ale
La Cannelle Apple Tart
Flying Peacock on the La Cannelle Plantation
Peacock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Weligama, Matara, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dilian111
1 review
“Paradise in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Breathtaking jungle sunrises, immaculate hosting from Siril and his wife (caretakers), and a peaceful location away from the noise all made La Cannelle an absolute dream for us.

The food Siril prepares for breakfast (which was included in our booking) as well as the nightly dinners (which you request and come at a very nominal charge) were the best food we had during our entire stay in Sri Lanka.

The pool is stunning and cleaned every morning. The rooms are large and very comfortable. We're enamoured with the location as much as the hosts and couldn't recommend it enough.

Thank you Jack for building this paradise and much love to Siril and his wife who made our stay one we will never forget.

We'll certainly be back !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for appreciating the efforts of the La Cannelle team. We endeavour to surpass our guests' expectations and such praise validates and confirms our attempts at excellence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ania8888
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in private nature reserve”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

La Cannelle is simply the best private villa experience I have had. It is very secluded and private first of all. We lived outdoors all the time, from the 6am sunrise swim and coffee/tea to the sunset and star gazing, and observing nature in between. Because it is a working cinnamon plantation (i.e. no one chases animals, it is like a private nature reserve), there is plenty of wildlife here. Peacocks stroll or fly by, chipmunks run around, you have an occasional water monitor paying a visit. We heard monkeys but we did not see them. There are also two very well behaved female dogs which the owner of the villa found in the jungle and nursed back to a good life (domestic animals are generally disregarded here). My daughter loved the dogs sitting at our feet every day on the veranda (they are not allowed to enter the house or the dining part of the veranda – they are ‘jungle’ dogs after all). The house is very well furnished, it has everything you can possibly need on a holiday. My advice is to pack lightly as the resident housekeeping couple will look after you very well, daily laundry included. I loved my daily yoga on the private terrace attached to the master bedroom (the yoga matts are provided). The beds are huge, have TV with far too many channels – I skipped watching TV – it would be a shame to spend holiday time glued to the TV – but it is there if you like this. Bedlinen is very nice, plenty of towels in the bathrooms, poolside, and towels for the beach too. Aircons and fans are efficient and quiet. There is the whole sideboard full of games plus badminton and petanque set which we did not really have time to try as there were so many other activities on offer. Make sure you visit Weligama Bay for swimming, Mirissa Bay for surfing and beachside drinks and dining and sunsets. We also went to Galle twice, visited a tea plantation (Herman Tea), went to Dondra Head which is furthest south point in Sri Lanka. We were lucky with timing because during our stay there was a coconut pluck, which happens every two months, and cinnamon harvest which happens twice a year. My daughter has had the best botanical first hand education lessons ever. Best of all, we saw blue whales even though it was too early in the season. Sri Lanka has many many non-migratory whales, residents so to speak, so the chances of seeing one or two or more are very high. The housekeeping couple, Ranji and Siril, cooked delicious curries, and my daughter who was not initially keen on spicy food, tried all dishes in the end. This is a perfect place for a mini detox without actually thinking of one. Fresh fruit every day – they have a juicer/mixer, avocado and mango and coconuts grown on the property. Curries were mostly vegetarian – none of us is a vegetarian but it is great to eat well and lightly in this climate. I highly recommend this place to anyone with kids (like us), and I would imagine couples would have here the most romantic stay ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Thank you Ania for such a lovely review. We make every effort to provide our guests with an unforgettable holiday and a chance to truly relax and enjoy a highly unique nature experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn W
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A qualified thumbs up”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

La Cannelle is every bit as beautiful as the photographs on the website. It is magical. Great thought has gone into the furniture, fittings, linens and decoration. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and cool. Ideal for a few days of relaxation.

However, despite a general willingness to help, and a fascinating tour of the plantation and a demonstration of cinnamon stick production, the service is not up to the description on the website nor up to the standard one has come to expect in a villa of this standing and in this price range in Sri Lanka. Some examples:

On arrival, we had to ask the staff to clean (and clean out) the very grubby fridge.

“Splendid Spread” breakfast hardly lived up to its name with a scrambled egg portion the size of a pigeon’s egg; with butter on the table still in its packet and without a plate (for which we were charged extra); with cold hard toast; with mass-produced fruit “cordial” in a land groaning with fresh tropical fruits and, final disappointment, instead of the enticing jar of La Cannelle’s own jam shown on the website, a pot of the cheapest possible supermarket pineapple spread. Meanwhile, to be told that the buffalo curd and treacle was unavailable was a total nonsense to anyone who has spent any time at all in Sri Lanka. It is always available (and put in a pretty prompt appearance once we had challenged the assertion).

We had another major problem. After booking and paying in full, we were supplied, at our request, with further information. This included the new news that there were 5 dogs on the property. Two of these turned out to be wholly undisciplined, jumping up and scratching and making free with the property, even wandering into the bedrooms. With two small children, these were an absolute menace and although, when we emailed the owner, he said that they would be dealt with, we saw little evidence of that and the caretaker, whose English is very limited, intimated to us that we were not the first people to have complained about them.

We sent the owner (abroad) a list of the areas of dissatisfaction and he replied shortly that our email would be acted on. Since then, we have heard nothing. We hope that he will have taken action to bring La Cannelle back to the level of perfection, indicated on the website, clearly in the mind of the designer, but, sadly, not lived up to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: The undisciplined dogs and the poor customer service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
We did respond to the guest. We try very hard to ensure guests are happy. In this case we are very sorry the guest was not fully satisfied. There were 2 problem puppies on the property and they have since been moved to another property. We have never received any complaints on the food we serve and on the contrary we have received consistently high reviews regarding our food. We strive to always satisfy our guests and ensure the best possible experience. We appreciate the feedback of guests and take such information very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to offer your input.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippov
Rosenheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"like coming home"”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I don't have to say much about the beauty of the location - the pictures speak for themselves ..... just that the pictures do not reflect the size of the property. Being at La Cannelle is a privelege and we were glad to be there from August 24 to Sep 3, 2015. La Cannelle has been designed to be a place to rest / breath / listen to the nature / swim / learn about Cinnamon cultiviation / production as well as about Coconut (there are sixty coconut trees at La Cannelle) .... and also to enjoy the Company of the caretaker couple Cyril and Ranji. They are really making this stay special and were for us like "father" and "mother" during our stay. The food they prepare is excellent and I can only recommend to eat dinner at La Cannelle rather than going out.
La Cannelle is not easy to find as it is at the end of a small road. It is advisable to either rent a driver during the time you stay at La Cannelle or to do smaller trips with Tuk-Tuk.
The beach is in principe not far, but due to the river, you need to make a large detour to go there, thus no walk, but Tuk-Tuk distance. The most beautiful beaches in the proximity are Mirissa and Jungle beach (Unawatuna).
We did see a lot of animals while being at La Cannelle and it has been to good to have binoculars with us for bird watching. Some days, big warans have been walking around, other days leguanes, squirrels, turtle, monkeys, (not close, but spottable).
The Sound at La Cannelle is full of bird singing from morning to evening.

Weligama itself is still a very traditional place, but with the completion of the big Marriott Hotel at Weligama beach, things may change and become more touristic.
So, hurry up and get a booking at La Cannelle - it is worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole composition of house, garden, nature and service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallace B
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Secret Little Paradise”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

La Cannelle is an exquisitely designed, spacious 2 bedroom villa surrounded by beautiful well manicured grounds all contained within a thriving cinnamon plantation. As soon as Siril opened the elusive gates to the property on our way in from the airport, we felt we had entered a little Sri Lankan paradise. This sense of peace and tranquility was felt throughout our one week stay where we could lounge by the always sparkling clean pool and enjoy an amazing array of birds and other wildlife on grounds. Apart from the magnificent villa and grounds, we were very well taken care of by Siril and Ranjit who kept the place neat and clean, shared with us their knowledge of Sri Lanka's unique cinnamon production, and prepared deliious meals for us from local produce. Their curries were superior to the restaurant versions we tried. There are lovely beaches nearby (Siril will happily order a tuk-tuk for your transport there) and our two teenage boys enjoyed experimenting with the surf. The charming city of Galle is also a short drive away and definitey worth a trip, as is a day whale watching. Also, not to be missed is a tour of nearby Handunugoda Tea Estate - wonderful family run operation. Finally, the owners of the property, Annabel and Alex, have a rich understanding of the area were always happy to share with us their knowledge of local addresses and special places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious modern well designed villa and pool
Liked least: a few mosquitos !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing