We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
50
28
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
28
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspieclean and comfortable roomsexcellent staywithin metrespleasant stayngapali beachfree transferthree nightshotel managerfree wifiswimming poolbeach loungersegg stationmyanmar tripnice hotelrivertoptowels
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

A huge day’s travel to get there. bit miffed to have to take shoes and socks off to walk up to registration desk... seems a bit unnecessary. but we were grumpy and tired.

Nice neat clean and bright room, great to have a clothes rack outside the room for use. Pool great. Food/ breakfast good. The room we had could benefit from having sheer curtains( as we had ground floor room and had to completely close curtains once in room). With all respect am surprised at the high 4.5 star rating.

It was lovely to have bed turned down and supplied beach towel and sun lounge on nearby beach. Hired their stand up paddle board and used free bicycles ( bicycles which needed serious maintenance)

One minus was poor service in booking bus tickets to Yangon. Via hotel Selected and paid for ‘superior’ seats on the 15 hr + bus journey to find as we are getting on that we are stuffed into the rear two seats and without apology 6000 kyat refund given us. They had booked the wrong bus??? The bus crew actually made us feel unwelcome The bus was freezing really really cold... being in the back corner we were the only one with a window, which we had to open to warm up. If we’d been given the opportunity we may have chosen a different way ( ie. a flight). So the hotel must be able to assure a better outcome, when they arrange transport for customers
Btw many of the locals were not great at windy roads and seem to take points for who can throw up the loudest and most often.... I feel for them but not so loud... please

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NathalieAndAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Top L, Manager at River Top Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Nathalie and Andrea,

Warmest greetings from River Top Lodge!!!

Thank you so much for your stay with us. We are very pleased for taking time to share your experience about our room, pool, and breakfast.

We do value our guests' comments for our future improvement. We would like to say we were very sorry for your inconvenience upon your arrival for taking shoes off. Regarding the issue of the booking for bus tickets, we had already checked and investigated about what was happened you being inconvenience. Our receptionist booked for you VIP morning bus. When they booked, the bus station said, seats were available. On your departure, when our staff send you to the bus and told the driver that you were supposed to be on VIP bus. The drivers told that there was no VIP bus on that morning. But our staff also made to ensure by calling to the bus station, and at that time, what they told us was there was no VIP morning bus on that day. We told them that we definitely booked with VIP Bus, why they said YES. They just told, that was misunderstanding. So our staff told to bus station’s staff to explain and apologise to you because of their misunderstanding. We, our team do apologise to you about this. And we will continuously monitor to prevent such unfortunate experiences from occurring again. We do apologise again for your inconvenience during your stay.
And we do hope to get an opportunity to welcome you back again to River Top Lodge.


With many thanks and warm regards,
River Top Lodge Management
River Top Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We chose this hotel because the price is reasonable but they exceeded our expectation.
The room is spacious and clean. Staffs are super welcoming. They have more than one room service in a day. Since we are coming to and from the beach the room is covered in sand and water, but the room is clean every time we come back to the room. We are quite impressed. The only thing I am disappointed is; we went there as a couple but they prepared the room with a separate beds. Over all, it's a good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank May Thinn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Top L, Manager at River Top Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Ms. May Thinn A,

Warmest greetings from River Top Lodge!!

We would like to thank you for your kind prefer choosing to stay with us. We, our team, are more than grateful to know that we exceeded your expectation and taking the time to share your nice review about our room, cleaning and welcoming staff. We valued our guests' comments for our future improvement. Regarding the issue of the beds, we are very sorry for your inconvenience and disappointment about it. We arranged if there is request for beds (Twins or Double) in booking because bed types are available upon request. Thank you again and we do hope to have a chance to serving you at River Top Lodge.


With best regards,
River Top Lodge Management
River Top Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Rivertop Lodge seems to be a popular place, as the occupancy rate was higher than in other places.
Friendly staff, wide enough variety for breakfast, a (smallish) swimming pool. Nice integration of the teak wood in the design of the place.
Good quality room, decorations, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SorinBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Top L, Manager at River Top Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear SorinBu,

Warmest greetings from River Top Lodge!!!

Thanks a lot for your kind prefer choosing for staying with us. We are very grateful for taking time to share your nice review about friendly staff, variety for breakfast, swimming pool, good quality room, decorations, comfortable bed and nice integration of the teak in the design.
We do hope that you can stay with us again.

With best regards,
River Top Lodge Management
River Top Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

We contacted them ahead of time & were picked up at Thandwe Airport, very nice & professional. The hotel is maybe 20-30 minutes away located across the road from a path to the beach (<100 metres). The hotel looks quite new, check in was smooth & given a nice tasty cold drink to enjoy while waiting. Our first room was the lower priced (Standard) ones in a 3 story wing with a window facing another wing & our door opened onto a common corridor with a small bench to sit (no balcony/patio). The room was decent size, clean, queen bed, AC, TV (3 English movie channels & BBC), fridge, flashlight, mini-bar, safe, hair dryer, kettle/coffee/tea, 2 bottles of water, writing area/chair, free WiFi, shower, soap/shampoo, towels, extra toilet paper, flip flops, hair dryer, beach towels, end tables & small wardrobe. Overall, nice room & amenities with housekeeping coming by at night even after making the room up earlier to ensure your room is right for you. Breakfast buffet was nice size for a small place, Asian (good local soup & more) & Western (toast, cheese, cereal, yogourt & more) with an egg station and staff refilling dishes as needed.

We moved to an upgraded room (Superior), bungalow type on ground level with a small porch & bench for sitting, sharing a wall with a neighbour. The room was twice as large as the smaller one with the same amenities but with additional sitting area with a bench, coffee table plus extra windows. Ours, 104 was across from the restaurant so with the curtains open, you could keep watch on the happenings there. They do start setting up for breakfast about 6 but didn't bother me as I was up at that time, earplugs might be needed for a light sleeper. We had a full day of rain so the larger room with larger windows was nice for sitting in. If the weather is nice, the smaller room is fine, if rainy, then the larger room would be preferred if your budget can manage it.

There are several bicycles for guest use at any time, no charge & no signing out. They have a pool with loungers & a couple of umbrellas as well as beach area with loungers & palapas. There were some very selfish guests who would put their towels on beach loungers in the morning & not come to the chairs until late afternoon even though at time, people couldn't find chairs, people, don't do that! The beach is long, beautiful, powdery sand that is firm & easy to walk or fun on when wet. The water was relatively calm & did not hear of rip tides or undertow.

There are ATM's in the area as well a couple small convenience stores nearby, within 200 metres. Very nice place, friendly staff everywhere & this place is also popular with local tourists & would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are larger & at ground level, but cost more, nice if rainy day.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Top L, Manager at River Top Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear Rob,

Warmest greetings from River Top Lodge Ngapali !!!

We do thank you so much for your long stay and sharing for your nice experience with us. We are very grateful to know that you enjoyed your stay at River Top. Thanks a lot again for your nice comments of room facilities, breakfast, housekeeping and about our staff are friendly.
We look forward to welcome you back in near future.

With many thanks and best regards,
River Top Management
River Top Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

All of the staff are very kind and nice service. I feel sick at night, morning they gave me medicine and treat like their family. Very friendly staff and take care all of the customers.
It was an excellent choice and next time I will stay this hotel again.
breakfast also tasty and free transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khinkhin1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Top L, Manager at River Top Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear Ms. Khin Khin,

Warmest greetings from River Top Lodge!!!

Thanks a lot for your stay with us at River Top. Our team do appreciate for your nice review and you found of our staff’s friendliness, our breakfast, and it was an excellent choice for your stay.
We do look forwards to welcome you back again.

With best regards,
River Top Lodge Management
River Top Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews