We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
240
34
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
34
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish schoolfishing boatsmain beachlocal fishermencharity schooldrying fishboutique hotelde mersmall baybeautiful gardenplaying footballhotel ownersideal choicebeach frontevery morningabsolute paradiseeight days
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Small hotel right on a beautiful uncrowded beach with lovely well kept gardens and tastefully designed buildings.

Location
A smaller bay with a couple of hotels, not the main beach. A few simple restaurant shacks on the beach and one or two restaurants and small shops in walking distance. Otherwise, a quiet area with not too many options away from the hotel.

Rooms
We were shown 3 different rooms as we weren’t happy with the one we had booked. All had pros and cons.

Beach front rooms have nice views and are steps away from the beach but unfortunately they are steps away from the restaurant too. You have a table almost right outside your window as your deck is shared with the restaurant with just a small screen in between. There is no separate balcony. There is an outdoor shower where people rinse off after the beach right outside the two regular sea view rooms, next to your “private” loungers. We had the view of people showering outside our room and the deck was a major thoroughfare from beach to rooms so there is no privacy at all. This was the worst thing about the room and we weren’t sure the sea view made up for it. We were also concerned about potential noise from the restaurant. These rooms are quite small and a bit on the old side.

Rooms in the main block in the garden are further from the beach but are a lot newer and are bigger. The upstairs ones have a huge balcony with nice chairs which are a bit more private. You can’t really see the sea but you do see lots of palm trees and the garden which is nice. I didn’t like the open bathroom where the shower is not in a separate area or curtained off so the floor would obviously get wet. Strangely a bath mat is not provided.

The Extra large beach view room (there’s only one) is twice the size of the two regular beach view rooms. Extremely spacious with a separate wardrobe area. Large bathroom with double sinks and separate shower. Antique style furniture, not typical hotel decor. Looks old with signs of wear eg scuffed wood and a bit dated eg very old looking (and old fashioned) artificial flowers. The most expensive room. The deck is also shared with the restaurant. Even though there’s a small screen the loungers are not very private. One day another guest decided to lie there and we had to ask the staff to eject him. Perhaps a row of plants are needed to mark it off more obviously. This room shares a wall with the bar and the staff talking, singing, and playing music could be heard in the room. We once asked the staff if they could hear noise from our room as we were watching a movie and he claimed the room was soundproof. Wrong. I could clearly hear the breakfast staff chatting at 7am. On balance, despite the inconveniences, it was good to be so close to the beach, to have the sea view and to hear the sound of the waves at night but you need to be aware of the negatives if you choose a beach front room so as not to be unhappy on arrival as we were.

All rooms
Plus - All rooms have mosquito nets over the bed, window screens, kettle and outdoor seating area. Housekeeping twice per day.

Negatives- Not much storage for clothes and other things. There are huge wardrobes with hanging space but very few drawers or shelves which makes it hard to unpack. There were less amenities than other far cheaper hotels in Myanmar which was surprising given the price. None of the rooms has a fridge. No bathrobes which we had in hotels costing a quarter of this one. Few toiletries compared to other hotels. No bath mats, also very strange.

Beach
Having seen the main Nagapali beach, we were so glad we chose to stay at this one. The main beach is much more developed and full of restaurants. The Yoma Cherry is on a curved bay lined with coconut palms, very scenic and not built up. There are only 2 hotels and a few rustic shack type restaurants. It’s just over 1km in length and quite wide. Warm water, not transparent, some seaweed when waves pick up in the afternoon. Lots of local activity which is interesting to see but not particularly quiet. Lots of fishing boats anchored in front of hotel - anchors on the shore may make it unsuitable for young children. Plenty of hotel loungers but not enough umbrellas. Some tatty palm frond ones urgently need replacing as they don’t provide shade. Shame there are no small tables to put your stuff on. I had to put my drink on the sand and of course ended up kicking it over. Then tried balancing a drink on my lounger which didn’t work well as it dripped so much. The older palm umbrellas have a ledge to put things on but as I mentioned don’t provide shade so are pretty useless. There are lots of stray dogs some of which like to spend the day sleeping under the hotel loungers. They are shy and don’t tend to bother people (except when guests feed them directly from the restaurant!), though I did see one cocking his leg on a lounger and some poo on the beach. Lots of jellyfish one day but they were gone the next day.

Restaurant
Nice spot right on the beach. A range of local and western options with lots of fish and seafood as well as some meat dishes. Unfortunately we didn’t enjoy our meals (we had a few). The servers brought the wrong items and dishes were often different from menu descriptions eg a toasted club sandwich was made with untoasted bread and a cucumber salad with mint didn’t have any mint in it. It might help if the servers repeat the order to avoid bringing the wrong items. The portions were really small. Very small amount of curry and just a few slices of potato with the fish. We were still hungry after a main course each without starters or desserts. Grilled fish was over cooked and dry. Most dishes around 7000-8000 which was expensive for such small portions. Staff do their best and are friendly.

Breakfast
There’s no buffet and no written menu. The server didn’t tell us everything we could order, just said we have eggs, toast and noodle soup. We had to ask - do you have fruit... yoghurt..., cereal... They did have fruit and yoghurt but no cereal like granola or musli. No pastries or other baked items either. They just have eggs and one other cooked dish each day. One day there was just eggs but with the special addition of chicken sausage rather than an alternative dish to choose from. Eggs just come with toast. No bacon or other things. (although bacon is on the menu in a club sandwich so they obviously have it). Even the toast is thin and dry and the jam low quality commercial stuff in little sachets. By the fourth day I was fed up of the lack of choice and couldn’t face eggs and toast again. Even the fruit was an identical plate every day including the pineapple being under ripe. The juice is not fresh which was a disappointment in a country with cheap and plentiful fresh fruit. Coffee was very good - strong filter coffee (not instant as written in a previous review). Breakfast was pretty poor. We had better elsewhere - more choice and similar quality- at far cheaper hotels. For the price I expected more.

Mosquitoes
We didn’t experience any problems. The rooms are sprayed twice a day and there’s a net over the bed and screens on the windows. I only once saw one mosquito in the room. We used repellent in the evenings and never got bitten.

WIFI
Wifi is very poor and cuts off a lot. If this is important get a local SIM card. Available at Yangon airport in arrivals. Ooredoo allows you to give a hotspot to another device.

Staff are all nice. Very eager to please and speak good English compared to the average in Myanmar.

We enjoyed our stay but that was down to the nice beach and an okayish hotel experience rather than a perfect one. I would probably stay here again as I like the beach but without expectations of a perfect hotel.

Rooms 4/5
Service 4.5/5
Breakfast 3/5
Restaurant 2/5
Beach 4/5
WiFi 2/5
Value for money 3/5

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank traveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you for your review and we are very sorry that you were not totally satisfied, as we all try our very best to give our guests a very good time at Yoma Cherry Lodge. All tables in the restaurant overlooking the sea, are not in front of any bedrooms, apart from one beach view room which has it's own table in front of their room and is always reserved just for guests staying in that room. Although we have not had anyone in the past say that they were not happy with the shower which is to the left of one bedroom and is near the beach, we will look at possibly moving it. All rooms in the hotel are decorated and painted each year, and if a guest moves chairs or a coffee table, it can scratch the floor and sometimes there is no time to re-paint in between check out and check in. Please note that all bathrooms are 3 and 5 years old and each year we replace any furniture that we think needs to be replaced. I am sorry that you did not think there were enough amenities. I think the only thing that we do not supply are cotton buds, which is bad for the environment. The large beach view room has been insulated but as you say this is still not totally soundproof, we will make sure that we deal with this. On our website we do not say that we have fridges in the rooms, as our bar is open from 7am until 11pm, and we also offer room service during those hours. Please note that the beach and sea is very safe for children and in fact we have many repeat guests with children. Having lived in Ngapali for 15 years I have only seen jelly fish twice. We always have extra umbrellas so very sorry that you experienced not having enough. We will for sure have little tables that we can put next to all sunbeds and it is a good idea. As for stray dogs, we are going to have one staff to make sure that there are none in front of the hotel. Because this is a small boutique hotel with only 16 rooms, we do not have a buffet at breakfast time, but have fresh fruit, eggs cooked in every way, and each day we offer either sausages, bacon, noodles, fried rice with vegetables, fish soup, pancakes etc. However I think that a menu is a good idea and we will introduce this. As for our restaurant we get many outside guests, some coming from high end hotels and we have an extremely good reputation, so sorry you didn't enjoy your meals. Yoma Cherry Lodge is in the top 1% budget hotels in the whole of Asia, the top 1% in Myanmar and the top 1% romantic hotels in Myanmar voted by TripAdvisor. We very much hope you will return and that you will be 100% satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

This is a magical hotel, set on a beautiful small bay. Sue, the owner also runs a charity English school for the local fishing villages achieving incredible results. Virtually all the staff went to her school as children and speak perfect English. The food is delicious, the staff are top-notch, the rooms comfy and there is a tranquility about the place that's very special indeed.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you so very much for your review, which we all really appreciate. Each and everyone of our team try to make your stay special and are so pleased you had a good time. Just a small point is that I (Sue), am the General Manager. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Positive: location (not the party corner & away from the airport) / beautiful setting / good restaurant / special mention to the really attentive and kind restaurant staff
Negative: you will have to try hard to find one
Overall: highly recommended if you are looking for a relaxing stay surrounded by locals in a little corner of paradise. You have everything handy on site and it is not necessary to go anywhere else (restaurants...).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Fanny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you so very much for your review. We really appreciate it, and all the Yoma Cherry team are very happy to hear that you had a good time, as we all want your stay to be enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

boutique hotel, no pool but private beach and amazing view on fishermen and their boats, service is very good with pleasant locals. We acutally had the beach front luxury room, huge and full of teak accents. By renting the E-bikes we were very mobile to visit other beautiful spots in the area. Hidden gem. Close to airport.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnetteAtiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you so very much for your review, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. It is most important for us that you had a good time, and appreciate you telling us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

My wife and I stayed for a week in early December for a week and paid $125 a night for an upper garden view room which included breakfast and airport transfers.

The charm begins at the airport when you step into the vintage Dodge truck waiting for you and take you the few miles to the property where check in was prompt.

The room was very spacious and not much smaller than the average one bed flat in London. The floors are varnished teak and the roof was vaulted with large teak timbers that gave a real feeling of vertical space. The bed was huge, comfortable and below a large hanging mosquito net. The room is large enough to accommodate a coffee table and two comfortable rattan chairs which look out onto the lovely manicured garden with a glimpse of the sea through the palm fronds. There is also a covered balcony

There are tea making facilities, a very large closet for your clothes which also contain a safe. There is strong wifi, quiet and efficient air conditioning and a very large shower and toilet with pleasant, locally made toiletries.

If you need anything from the kitchen and bar you can call from the room and it arrives within minutes.

The lodge is perfectly placed. It's at the northern end, away from the hotel strip and shares the beach with just a few other places. We rarely saw more than 20-25 people on the beach during the day throughout our stay. Numbers swelled a little when the locals came to play football at dusk when the temperature dropped or when the fishermen returned. There are a handful of beach restaurants and bars that are basic but definitely worth visiting and if you want to head south to the various restaurants, hotels or to the large beach you can rent a bike.

Breakfast was to order and was tea or coffee, juice, eggs, toast and varying local dishes of noodles or fried rice. We had lunch there most days and enjoyed everything we ate. The staff speak excellent English.

This is a genuine boutique hotel. With just 15 rooms, the level of service is outstanding from all of the staff. It's also discreet. The owner lives on site and makes sure you have everything you need. It's an extremely comfortable hotel and many guests that we spoke to were repeat visitors. I can see why. We hope to visit over Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MattBayleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you so very much for your review. We always try to make your stay as comfortable as possible, and so it makes all the Yoma Cherry team very happy to hear your review. We very much hope to see you return at Christmas when you will receive a very big welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews