We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
240
34
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
34
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish schoolfishing boatsmain beachlocal fishermencharity schooldrying fishboutique hotelde mersmall baybeautiful gardenplaying footballhotel ownersideal choicebeach frontevery morningabsolute paradiseeight days
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017

There are abundant hotel options in Ngapali and i am really glad i made a good decision choosing Yoma Cherry Lodge. It has everything most hotels have (private section of the beach, good view, big, clean, cozy room, breakfast, airport pick-up, spa...) but it is amazing in a slightly different way.

- It has a quiet entrance in an alley instead of the main road, so there isnt much nuisance to the tourists.
- it enjoys the far less-busy section of the long stretching beach of Ngapali. As far as
i can count there are just 3-4 small scale hotel/hostels at that beach. So you will feel like owning the beach.
- having said that, you dont feel luxurious at the same time because there is a good deal of local fisherman/kids minding their own business (playing beach football, unloading fish, riding bike ...). The whole picture is harmonious.
- Yoma Cherry Lodge runs a school just next to the hotel. You can show some support by volunteering as an English teacher, or simply sharing the joy with the young kids there. (i made some donation of reusable clothing, bags to the school!). Very good initiative. Love that local-touch feeling!

This is an absolute paradise to me. The staff is super friendly and helpful. My departure flight from Ngapali got delayed for a few times (while i was not noticed by the airline at all) and Yoma Cherry Lodge helped monitor the situation and keep me informed. Big shout out to the concierge staff!

If there is any drawback of the Lodge, it has to be the distance from most of the restaurants in Ngapali. I literally had to walk for quite a while each time for lunch, dinner. But its no big deal to me :) Plus, it is out of the Lodge's hand.

Room Tip: every room is perfect.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Like so many other reviewers, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Yoma Cherry Lodge is set in the middle of smallish bay (you can walk the length of the bay in about 15 minutes) and the setting is idyllic....palm trees, white sand, gentle sea and only one other large(ish) hotel on the same stretch. Yoma Cherry Lodge exceeded expectations because of its beautifully kept gardens, fantastic beachfront location, and the professional way in which the lodge is run and managed. I think we had one of the best rooms (if not THE best)...room 3, a beachfront room, which has doors opening on the beachfront deck. From here it's about 10 steps to your own permanently reserved table for meals, and then a few more steps onto the beach. The lodge has their own beach beds and umbrellas set up every morning and they are only for lodge guests. Other reviewers have mentioned the fishing boats and noise, but this did not bother us at all, and in fact added another dimension to our stay. Almost in front to the hotel (it changed daily) fishing boats come and go and we found it fascinating to watch the local fishermen bring their hauls ashore and see it being sorted and distributed to waiting tuktuks. Yes, there is a bit of hustle and bustle and the noise of boat engines, but only for short periods and it did not reduce our enjoyment of staying at Yoma Cherry Lodge. For most of the day there is hardly anyone on the beach and quite often when we swam in the sea (gentle waves while we were there) we were alone. The food and drink offering at Yoma Cherry Lodge is excellent value and service impeccable. Our room rate included breakfast which was delicious and plentiful. The lunches and dinners we had at the lodge were very good value and tasty, although we didn't have all our meals there (it was easy to hail a tuktuk and try out restaurants in the vicinity, or walk along the beach for simple meals at the two small shacks nearby. Yoma Cherry Lodge impressed us on every level (no doubt due to the keen eye of English manager, Sue, a charming lady who was noticeably present and keen to talk to guests to make sure everything is ok). This is not a budget stay, but extremely good value given the excellence of the lodge and it's gorgeous location. Thoroughly recommended. We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed the entire time. We think the beachfront rooms are best for view and proximity to the beach. One tiny niggle, wi-fi was poor (so get a local sim, very cheap and easy in Myanmar).

Room Tip: Beachfront room 3 is perfect for view and proximity to beach.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write the review which all the Yoma Cherry team will be delighted about, as they all take great pride in their work, and really want each guest to have a happy time here. We are so very pleased that Yoma Cherry Lodge far exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel is, to me, magical. If you want swimming pools and hectic nightlife go elsewhere. However if you want somewhere tranquil and friendly its perfect. Sue (from England), not only runs the hotel but also runs a brilliant charity school (600 children) in the village.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so very pleased to hear that you like it here so much, as all out team do their utmost to make your stay very special. We look forward to seeing you again. Very best wishes from the Yoma Cherry Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Yoma Cherry is one of those rare hotel finds that far exceeds your expectations. You are greeted with a smile and a refreshing Sprite with lime and the hospitality just continues. The lodge has a charm to it and personal touches that add to the beautiful atmosphere all around you!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write the review. Each of our staff read every review, because they really want to know that you enjoyed your time here. We all try our very best to make your stay very special, so thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

I and 7 friends recently stayed two nights at this lodge and I wish it had been longer. Ever dream of a tropical beach edged with palm trees-this is it. The beach is separate from the largest beach lined with hotels. Only this hotel and a couple of guest houses here. Also a few local boats, some of which can take you out snorkeling or sightseeing. Four of our party had beach view rooms on the front, the rest facing the attractive garden. We also enjoyed the beach front restaurant and never ever felt like going further afield.
We used the local transport to go to the main beach to walk and explore -50 cents a ride or 15 mins walk along the road. I only wish I had had longer at this delightful hotel.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you so very much for your review which is most appreciated by all the Yoma Cherry team. Each member of staff does their best to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible, we are so very pleased that you enjoyed your time here. Once again thank you so much for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews