We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Lodge Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Yoma Cherry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Like so many other reviewers, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Yoma Cherry Lodge is set in the middle of smallish bay (you can walk the length of the bay in about 15 minutes) and the setting is idyllic....palm trees, white sand, gentle sea and only one other large(ish) hotel on the same stretch. Yoma Cherry Lodge exceeded expectations because of its beautifully kept gardens, fantastic beachfront location, and the professional way in which the lodge is run and managed. I think we had one of the best rooms (if not THE best)...room 3, a beachfront room, which has doors opening on the beachfront deck. From here it's about 10 steps to your own permanently reserved table for meals, and then a few more steps onto the beach. The lodge has their own beach beds and umbrellas set up every morning and they are only for lodge guests. Other reviewers have mentioned the fishing boats and noise, but this did not bother us at all, and in fact added another dimension to our stay. Almost in front to the hotel (it changed daily) fishing boats come and go and we found it fascinating to watch the local fishermen bring their hauls ashore and see it being sorted and distributed to waiting tuktuks. Yes, there is a bit of hustle and bustle and the noise of boat engines, but only for short periods and it did not reduce our enjoyment of staying at Yoma Cherry Lodge. For most of the day there is hardly anyone on the beach and quite often when we swam in the sea (gentle waves while we were there) we were alone. The food and drink offering at Yoma Cherry Lodge is excellent value and service impeccable. Our room rate included breakfast which was delicious and plentiful. The lunches and dinners we had at the lodge were very good value and tasty, although we didn't have all our meals there (it was easy to hail a tuktuk and try out restaurants in the vicinity, or walk along the beach for simple meals at the two small shacks nearby. Yoma Cherry Lodge impressed us on every level (no doubt due to the keen eye of English manager, Sue, a charming lady who was noticeably present and keen to talk to guests to make sure everything is ok). This is not a budget stay, but extremely good value given the excellence of the lodge and it's gorgeous location. Thoroughly recommended. We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed the entire time. We think the beachfront rooms are best for view and proximity to the beach. One tiny niggle, wi-fi was poor (so get a local sim, very cheap and easy in Myanmar).

Room Tip: Beachfront room 3 is perfect for view and proximity to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write the review which all the Yoma Cherry team will be delighted about, as they all take great pride in their work, and really want each guest to have a happy time here. We are so very pleased that Yoma Cherry Lodge far exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel is, to me, magical. If you want swimming pools and hectic nightlife go elsewhere. However if you want somewhere tranquil and friendly its perfect. Sue (from England), not only runs the hotel but also runs a brilliant charity school (600 children) in the village.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so very pleased to hear that you like it here so much, as all out team do their utmost to make your stay very special. We look forward to seeing you again. Very best wishes from the Yoma Cherry Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Yoma Cherry is one of those rare hotel finds that far exceeds your expectations. You are greeted with a smile and a refreshing Sprite with lime and the hospitality just continues. The lodge has a charm to it and personal touches that add to the beautiful atmosphere all around you!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write the review. Each of our staff read every review, because they really want to know that you enjoyed your time here. We all try our very best to make your stay very special, so thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

I and 7 friends recently stayed two nights at this lodge and I wish it had been longer. Ever dream of a tropical beach edged with palm trees-this is it. The beach is separate from the largest beach lined with hotels. Only this hotel and a couple of guest houses here. Also a few local boats, some of which can take you out snorkeling or sightseeing. Four of our party had beach view rooms on the front, the rest facing the attractive garden. We also enjoyed the beach front restaurant and never ever felt like going further afield.
We used the local transport to go to the main beach to walk and explore -50 cents a ride or 15 mins walk along the road. I only wish I had had longer at this delightful hotel.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you so very much for your review which is most appreciated by all the Yoma Cherry team. Each member of staff does their best to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible, we are so very pleased that you enjoyed your time here. Once again thank you so much for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

For this price everything is amazing .. very nice welcome people . Rooms are clean and spacious . Everything look tidy and cute. And price is totally fit the quality . I recommend it .i think this hotel owners take care about to make all with love . I think I would stay here for a few days , Beach is great too .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank lexa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, General Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write the review which all the Yoma Cherry team much appreciate. As well as relaxing on the beach, you can go snorkelling, take a boat trip or go fishing. Another great place to visit is the elephant camp outside Thandwe. A car picks you up, drives you to the river and there you take a boat for about one hour. The countryside is beautiful and the elephants are taken great care of. You can also take bike tours, go trekking or diving. Once again our thanks to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
1 km away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
4,4 km away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
3 km away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 20 in Ngapali
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4,7 km away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
2 km away
Jade Marina Resort & Spa
Jade Marina Resort & Spa
#13 of 20 in Ngapali
148 reviews
4 km away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#10 of 20 in Ngapali
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoma Cherry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoma Cherry Lodge

Address: Lintha Village | Ngapali Beach, Ngapali, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range: R1 134 - R1 572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yoma Cherry Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoma Cherry Lodge is a small boutique hotel with 15 bedrooms. Set in a beautiful garden amidst palm trees, on Kiplings Bay, Ngapali, the hotel is situated on a a beautiful beach. Each morning, guests can watch the fishing boats come in with their catch of the day, and in the evening you can watch the boats sailing out to sea, whilst sipping a cocktail and watching the sunset. The beach is very quiet and there is only one other hotel located on the beach. The sea is crystal clear and wonderful to swim or snorkel. The hotel has a restaurant overlooking the beach where you can eat fresh seafood, local Myanmar food or it also has some western dishes. Our massage pavilion is a great place to totally relax. Our staff are friendly and efficient and the whole Yoma Cherry team wish you a wonderful holiday here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Yoma Cherry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing