We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Stunning! ”
Review of Yoma Cherry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yoma Cherry Lodge
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ngapali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

I can not recommend this beautiful hotel enough. It's situated on the beach, the location is incredible and so unspoilt. The rooms are clean and well maintained, we had the large beach front room, which was huge and lovely.
The food is stunning and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or professional. We were so sad to leave this little corner of paradise and would love to return one day.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveladybug73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

I was reluctant to spend four days at a beach, worried that there would be nothing to do. And while I was right,it was the best possible ending to nearly three weeks travelling around Myanmar. We chose Yoma Cherry on a recommendation of the Lonely Planet and again we were worried that there would be tonnes of people and a lot of other hotels.

Boy, were we wrong. Yoma Cherry is located in this gorgeous bay - nothing but sunsets, palm trees, and local dudes playing soccer every evening. It was magical.

Since it was approaching the rainy season, we splurged for the beach view rooms and it was so beautiful. There was no wifi or television in the room, but there was so much space, lovely furniture, beach views, and ample air conditioning.

We spent the days reading (they have a small selection of books in the lobby), swimming, drinking beer, listening to podcasts that we downloaded in the garden, getting massages,and walking the five minutes into the town.

The staff were so lovely as well. We were there for so long they began to anticipate our orders and drink preferences - and our jokes about Canadian celebrities who have made their mark in Myanmar.

Overall, it was just perfect. That's it.

Room Tip: Wonderful Value and Atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurajmjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We were so looking forward to spending a week at the Yoma Cherry Lodge because the reviews on it were extremely positive and we wanted a special and different experience from our previous holiday in Ngapali, when we stayed at the Bayview Resort. Our holiday at the Cherry Lodge was without a doubt special and what made it so, among other things, was the pleasant and natural surroundings, the beautiful well-kept gardens, the pristine beach, the perfect water temperature for swimming and the peaceful and natural atmosphere. There was no hustle and bustle and no annoying hawkers harassing you to buy cheap tea-shirts and imitation Rolex watches and there was not a jet-ski in sight - thank goodness! But we did enjoy the fresh coconuts and fruit sold by a couple of hawkers doing the rounds a few times a day. The lodge is next to a fishing village and for us it was a unique experience to watch the fishermen go out early in their fishing boats and then unloading and drying out their catch on the beach - the aroma made it more authentic!

The breakfasts were adequate but nothing special so was the rest of the food served at the restaurant. The whole grilled fish ordered for dinner was a disappointment and had to be returned - the flesh would not pull away from the bone, maybe it was not cooked enough. The staff were friendly and did their best to please and even specially made the requested banana fritters for us even though it was not on the menu, but we were disappointed that more local dishes were not on the menu, like mohinga, kaukswe, balachaung etc. as it would have made the food on offer not only authentic but a new tasting experience for the western palate. We would recommend dining at the Maison de Mer, which is only a few minutes walk from the Lodge - the seafood dishes are well worth trying, especially the seafood fried rice.

Unfortunately, we were extremely disappointed to have to move to 3 different rooms for our 7 night stay, because we booked late and that was the only way the Lodge could accommodate us - an unpleasant experience which we would never recommend anyone to do. The beach room and the partial sea-view room were very comfortable and adequate but we would not recommend the garden view room (No 2) we were moved to on the last night - it was not good value for money compared to the other rooms and unfortunately it spoilt our holiday somewhat. It would have been great if fridges were provided in the rooms, however we can understand why they were not, but we find it hard to comprehend why mosquito nets were not supplied, seeing that mosquitoes are a problem in Ngapali and for that matter I believe in many countries of the world.

Room Tip: First floor with balcony with partial sea-view and beach front rooms are great - would not recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bess68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Yoma Cherry Lodge - positives (to name a few):
- beautiful rooms and buildings
- incredibly helpful and friendly staff
- lovely beach with fishermen coming and going creating a great atmosphere. Isolated compared to the other hotels who share a beach to the south
- great food for breakfast, lunch and dinner
- within walking distance of local village and the beach to the south if you want a change of scene
- free airport pick up

The only negative was the noise - being close to a school meant that we were woken up each morning at around 6am to loud music that continued through the day (we had a garden view room).

Overall - very stylish hotel with amazing service, would definitely recommend over the other hotels that are further south.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank katet431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoma_Cherry_Lodge, Manager at Yoma Cherry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

I am so sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the music, which in fact was a wedding. When there is a wedding in the village, the music does start at 6am and does go on through the day. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about it, this is their tradition. The wedding takes place outside people's houses so therefore the sound of the music can be heard if the house is near.

I am pleased to hear that you were happy with our hotel. staff and service. We all do our very best to give all our guests, an especially good holiday here. Thank you so very much for recommending Yoma Cherry Lodge which we really appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at Yoma Cherry Tree lodge. The setting was stunning with a gorgeous private beach. The room was airy and spacious with good air conditioning. The service was what really made it extra special. The staff went out of their way with their service and were very friendly. We were particularly impressed with Tele at the beach bar. The massages and the spa were good and very relaxing. The perfect place to stay in Ngapali.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Crown3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
1.0 km away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
4.4 km away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
3.0 km away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#4 of 19 in Ngapali
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
#12 of 19 in Ngapali
117 reviews
2.2 km away
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
4.0 km away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#10 of 19 in Ngapali
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoma Cherry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoma Cherry Lodge

Address: Lintha Village | Ngapali Beach, Ngapali, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range: R1 156 - R1 541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yoma Cherry Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoma Cherry Lodge is a small boutique hotel with 15 bedrooms. Set in a beautiful garden amidst palm trees, on Kiplings Bay, Ngapali, the hotel is situated on a a beautiful beach. Each morning, guests can watch the fishing boats come in with their catch of the day, and in the evening you can watch the boats sailing out to sea, whilst sipping a cocktail and watching the sunset. The beach is very quiet and there is only one other hotel located on the beach. The sea is crystal clear and wonderful to swim or snorkel. The hotel has a restaurant overlooking the beach where you can eat fresh seafood, local Myanmar food or it also has some western dishes. Our massage pavilion is a great place to totally relax. Our staff are friendly and efficient and the whole Yoma Cherry team wish you a wonderful holiday here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Yoma Cherry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing