We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
265
236
103
49
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
236
103
49
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sao tome main island equator line tiny island paradise island local beer small village boat ride my partner english speakers local staff warm water take advantage every meal attention to detail nice beaches three days
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

The ilheu das rolas is a fantastic place to visit, with stunning viewpoints and postcard beaches.

But the hotel is an absolute joke on so many levels:

* Front desk: absolutely incompetent, it took 8 emails over 4 weeks to finally have an answer. Took 20 minutes to check us out.

* Room: greasy furniture in dusty rooms built in seemingly dodgy wooden sheds. The TV must be over 30 years old.

* Pool: the pool is the only decent feature of the hotel. The pool bar is absolute joke. Virtually impossible to order a cocktail between 1PM and 7PM since no staff attending. When they do show up it gets even better. They handover a menu of 25 cocktails only to tell you after 10 minutes that they can only do one. Problem is that they don’t know the recipe. I had to tell them what spirits and juices they needed to pick to make my pina colada...

* the wider resort: ageing infrastructure which seems not to have been maintained for 20 years

* restaurant: half-decent food. Don’t expect to be understood unless you speak fluent portuguese. They tried to rob us by insisting we pay for the food despite the fact we were on full board package. The only way out was to raise our voice and start arguing.

In conclusion the island is well worth visiting, but don’t be fooled by the compelling marketing of pestana. This is very much a 0 star hotel - don’t stay more than one or two nights (just enough to make the best of the island) or you would be loosing time, money and patience.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Th0masA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equador, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Equador Ilheu das Rolas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Mr. Th0masA22
We would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Equaor for your stay as well as your time spent publishing your opinion. Our guests’ feedback is crucial when it comes to honoring our commitment.
After reading your feedback, we would like to present our sincere apologies since we were not aware of your expectations. We would like to tell you that, at this moment we are doing some improvements in our Hotel. So the next time you come over, you will see a big difference. So, we expect to welcome you again at the Pestana Cascais, or at another Pestana Hotel.
Best regards,
Lucia Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Our house was very nice and clean, but sometimes we had no water for a while. The pool is huge, the biggest I've ever seen. It is well cleaned and there is even a pool bar. Unfortunately it closed very early in the evening and often different drinks were lacking. The food in the restaurant (buffet) was really good but conversation with the staff was very difficult - even at the reception. Most of them only spoke Portuguese and neither English nor French. We managed to discuss things in Spanish. The whole resort would need some refreshing and refurbishing here and there. But everything worked, from transfer to check-in and check-out was everything well organized.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Myrthi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equador, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Equador Ilheu das Rolas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Myrthi74

We have received your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel and that were passed to the whole team.
We appreciate the time spent for filling it as it is with the feedback from our customers that we can evaluate and improve the quality of our services.
We were naturally pleased and willing to do even better because we see that our hard work and dedication are recognized.
Hope to see you again soon on this or other Pestana Hotel
Best Regards
Lucia Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

The rooms were neat and beddings comfortable.

Pools were neat. The beaches clean. Staff friendly

Excellent, Great, Perfect experience.
Transfer to the place was safe on the yacht. Our bus driver was polite.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank YOFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equador, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Equador Ilheu das Rolas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear YOFY

Thank you for choosing Pestana Equador and to sharing your experience with us. We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay but, as we believe that the best can be improved, we will continue always in search of improvement so that in future we can not only meet your expectations but exceed them.
Your comments will be passed to the whole team and we hope to see you back soon at our Hotel or other Pestana Hotel
Best Regards,
Lucia Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Nice and quiet hotel in " Ilheu das Rolas " , The Hotel staff is nice and helpful to please the visitants .In a beautiful natural environment the Bungalows are well equipped . The Hotel is surrounded by nature as is primal , not much of insects all-doe and peaceful place to rest . At the restaurant zone at night a show of the country culture . Even if they live in a pour commodities , the smile in they're face is always there . Beverages are expensive specially the wine .

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Nelson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equador, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Equador Ilheu das Rolas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear Mr. Nelson C
We have received your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel and that were passed to the whole team.
We appreciate the time spent for filling it as it is with the feedback from our customers that we can evaluate and improve the quality of our services.
We were naturally pleased and willing to do even better because we see that our hard work and dedication are recognized.
Hope to see you again soon on this or other Pestana Hotel

Best Regards,
Lucia Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Highly recommended for the tour interested in new venue or discovery indeed, its mandatory we can trip down to the southern small island das Rolas and have a look on equatorial line cross utmost the central of the universe with excellent vision ever seen.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank fr690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equador, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Equador Ilheu das Rolas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear Mr. fr690,
Thank you for choosing Pestana São Tomé Hotel in your recent trip and to sharing your experience with us. We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay but, as we believe that the best can be improved, we will continue always in search of improvement so that in future we can not only meet your expectations but exceed them.
Your comments will be passed to the whole team and we hope to see you back soon at our Hotel or other Pestana Hotel
Best Regards,
Lucia Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews