We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Rustique(Nanyuki Town)
US$156
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Ibis Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
US$50
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Anka Resort(Nanyuki Town)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ken Trout 1972(Nanyuki Town)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Maxoil Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lions Court Lodge(Nanyuki Town)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
US$478
US$399
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maiyan(Nanyuki Town)
US$220
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
48
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrican artwine cellarbush lunchexquisite foodprivate airstripcommon areasonce in a lifetimemind blowingwonderful settingspent a weekhis teamgame drivesthe general managervery special placeopen airmaasai marasafari experience
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Everyone who goes on a high end safari in East Africa, and wants to feel like they are on safari on their own whilst living in luxury and style, should go to Segera. We’ve been to quite a few of the high end lodges in Kenya, and Segera is far and away one of the most unique, original and brilliantly executed and designed. It really is a stunning jewel-like oasis, designed with amazing flair, imagination, sensitivity, and attention to detail.

However, one of the things we most loved was very simple - the efforts they make to make you feel like you are there on your own. For example, for each meal, you find yourself eating in a different delightful spot, all alone - in a cabana by the pool, on a verandah looking over the plains, etc. It’s a great idea, and it’s one of many ways they so thoughtfully enhance your time here.

As for the wildlife, you won't get the same volume of animals as for example in the Masai Mara, but where you are also forced to compete with packs of tourists charging everywhere to see the same animals. Or if you go to places like Amboseli or the Serengeti, where you cannot drive off road to get closer to the animals.

However, at Segera, because it is a private 60,000 acres+ of protected savannah, you are almost certain to experience the animals on their own - totally essential in our opinion, and also get close to them, as here, you can drive off road. On the two game drives we did - we were very lazy thanks to a reluctance to leave the wonderful setting of Segera and our villa - we hung out with a pride of lions and a herd of very relaxed elephants. At the waterhole outside our villa (Villa #1), we watched a herd of 90 buffalo come in the moonlight, 20 giraffes and herds of zebra.

By the way, the food is truly excellent and imaginative (we are both vegan) and Elizabeth the chef seemed to take much delight in surprising us with new and original recipes each day. All the staff are also great, and Jens is the consummate manager and overseer of it all. All in all, a wonderful three days spent here.

Finally, we want to emphasize the conservation element of Segera. Jochen Zeitz, the visionary owner of the lodge, views conservation in the 21st century in exactly the right way - pragmatically, where it works in conjunction with community and commerce, that in this day and age you need to include the community in your conservation plans, so they understand and support you. With Segera’s rangers, and that level of community support, no animals have been lost to poaching or bush meat in recent memory. That is a huge deal. By going to Segera, you are supporting this kind of forward-thinking conservation.

Room Tip: Villa 1 for the water hole out in front - game viewing from bed!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEscapists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Our stay was absolutely unimaginable! The setting was breath taking and the camp beyond beautiful, with an incredible attention to detail wherever you looked. The food was exceptional and the presentation by Chef Elizabeth will be some of my most memorable meals! The staff, lead by the amazing and talented Jens Kozany, was incredibly kind and attentive. Not only were they so helpful and fulfilled all our wishes, there was a wonderful family feel amongst the staff and the guests. Getting to know some of the staff was a wonderful part of the stay. Our tours into the bush were lead by the irreproachable Elvis who shared his incredible knowledge with us as well as his passion for wildlife. This is our first trip to Africa, I highly recommend Segera Retreat for anyone who wants a truly unique once in a lifetime adventure!

Room Tip: All the rooms have exceptional views!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motofoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegeraRetreat, Manager at Segera Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Many thanks for sharing you incredible memories. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future, you will always be part of the Segera Family.

Warm regards, the entire team in Kenya.

Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The Segera Retreat is where luxury and authentic safari meet. The property itself is not only beautifully crafted, but also adorned with captivating African art. Each villa is attentively prepared each day and, having spent a week with the staff, I can assure that if there were something you needed to feel more comfortable, they would do their best to provide it. Your travel party will be thoughtfully accommodated throughout, from meals to outings, and pampering spa visits in between. The safaris are expertly guided and, if you wish, can be a private experience every time. Not only will you have the opportunity to explore the approximately 50,000 acres of un-gated conservation land, but also, the opportunity to learn more about the culture that surrounds you while at Segera; both on site at the C4 Gallery, through the books in the common areas, and through the well spoken explanation of the staff, as well as off site, at a community beading center in a neighboring town. Oh and speaking of surroundings- I not only saw wildlife while dining outside, but from my private balcony! At the Segera Retreat you are fully immersed and well taken care of. The high quality service and property is operated with a conscience-it is solar powered, recycles it's water, and is nearly completely self sustainable. Not only does it take of you, but also the space it inhabits. The Segera retreat is a very special place and I would recommend it to anyone seeking an African vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Devyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegeraRetreat, Manager at Segera Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dearest Devyn -
Many thanks for your beautiful words. Kelvin, Joseph, Elizabeth and the rest of your Segera Family are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards from sunny Segera, Jens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We have been to Kenya many times, but it was our first time in Segera. This place is mind-blowing. The retreat is absolutely beautiful, every little detail has been thorougly selected and put in place. The staff is adorable and the director Jens Kozany makes sure every wish you have will be fullfilled.
We were lucky to meet the owner Jochen Zeitz and his wife Kate, who have created a sanctuary of peace and sustainability.
A couple of years ago, game life was quite poor in this area, whereas now you see elephants, zebras and giraffes all day long. Going out on game drives with great guides it is rare not to spot lions. We even saw our first leopard.
There is a magic about this retreat and even after a couple of days our skins felt differently and we have never experienced that before.
It was a combination of exquisite food, anything was possible even a Fondue Bourguinone, I would say unheard of in this continent, and a continious feeling of being cared of in a breathtaking environment. Chapeau Mr. Zeitz!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank TinaFalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegeraRetreat, Manager at Segera Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Tina - wow, thank you for these beautiful words. So great to hear from you and your lovely family. Looking forward to see you again soon, you will always remain part of the Segera Family. Warm regards, Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

I have been to Segera twice, and each time I find myself in complete and continuous awe !!

This is not just another safari retreat or five star luxury accommodation.
It is unparalleled on every level. The land profoundly awakens the soul; the staff extend sincere care and kindness in a way that deeply nurtures; the food is a culinary delight and good medicine for the body.

The animals are magnificent, and being in their presence is truly enlightening and unforgettable.

Segera is not just a destination, It's a gift that keeps giving. When you leave, the spirit of the land is forever with you.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizbrown936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens K, General Manager at Segera Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Liz, many thanks for sharing your memories and for being with us when the original bi-plane from the movie Out of Africa "GAAMY" returned to Kenya and landed on African soil. Merry Christmas and a Happy 2017! Your Segera Family x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews