We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art, gardens, spa and more at a safari camp? YES”
Review of Segera Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Segera Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Before going to Segera Retreat (SR) we stayed at several high-end, luxurious camps in Kenya and Tanzania. Here are some of the features that set SR apart for me: 1) guests stay in a second-floor luxury villa above a private patio rather than a tent; 2) SR has 6 villas total, each located privately from the others; 3) the entire resort is protected by thorn and electric fence so you don't need an escort to walk back to your villa at night; 4) meals are served at a number of fabulous venues around the property including "the stables," a candlelit wine cellar, and the Explorer's Lounge (full of memorabilia from "Out of Africa, Hemingway's travels, etc.; 5) the spacious grounds are immaculately and beautifully landscaped with trees, bougainvillea, water features; 6) the owner's fascinating and important African modern art collection is displayed inside and out; 7) SR has a beautiful swimming pool and adjacent patio bar; 8) Chef Elizabeth made fantastic and healthy meals loaded with veggies grown on site, customized to our pescatarian preferences; 9) Rossanne the wonderful masseuse is on site every day; 10) every time you leave your villa throughout the day, the staff refresh the linens and well-stocked complimentary mini bar; 11) our safari guide Elvis was passionate and knowledgeable about every animal we saw on drives and during a walk, 12) manager Jentz was a delight to talk with and made everything go seamlessly; . . . . I could go on and on but SR seemed as much a unique luxury spa retreat as a safari camp. The game is not as plentiful as in Maasai Mara but nevertheless we saw lions, cheetah, elephants, the rare Grevy's zebra, oryx, abundant birds, and the reticulated giraffe. I was told that SR employs a total of 200 staff. I've never experienced this level of service, pampering, and privacy at any other safari venue.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank patentmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegeraRetreat, General Manager at Segera Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Many thanks for sharing your beautiful memories. We have been delighted having you with us in beautiful Laikipia. Now you are part of the family - your villa attendant Isaac, guide Elvis and Jessica have spoken about you in todays morning gathering, everyone misses you! We are glad that Segera's loyal friends and supporter "Hippo Creek Safaris" has curated for you this lovely & unforgettable Kenyan Safari. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and remain with best wishes.

Jens & the Segera Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017

Everyone who goes on a high end safari in East Africa, and wants to feel like they are on safari on their own whilst living in luxury and style, should go to Segera. We’ve been to quite a few of the high end lodges in Kenya, and Segera is far and away one of the most unique, original and brilliantly executed and designed. It really is a stunning jewel-like oasis, designed with amazing flair, imagination, sensitivity, and attention to detail.

However, one of the things we most loved was very simple - the efforts they make to make you feel like you are there on your own. For example, for each meal, you find yourself eating in a different delightful spot, all alone - in a cabana by the pool, on a verandah looking over the plains, etc. It’s a great idea, and it’s one of many ways they so thoughtfully enhance your time here.

As for the wildlife, you won't get the same volume of animals as for example in the Masai Mara, but where you are also forced to compete with packs of tourists charging everywhere to see the same animals. Or if you go to places like Amboseli or the Serengeti, where you cannot drive off road to get closer to the animals.

However, at Segera, because it is a private 60,000 acres+ of protected savannah, you are almost certain to experience the animals on their own - totally essential in our opinion, and also get close to them, as here, you can drive off road. On the two game drives we did - we were very lazy thanks to a reluctance to leave the wonderful setting of Segera and our villa - we hung out with a pride of lions and a herd of very relaxed elephants. At the waterhole outside our villa (Villa #1), we watched a herd of 90 buffalo come in the moonlight, 20 giraffes and herds of zebra.

By the way, the food is truly excellent and imaginative (we are both vegan) and Elizabeth the chef seemed to take much delight in surprising us with new and original recipes each day. All the staff are also great, and Jens is the consummate manager and overseer of it all. All in all, a wonderful three days spent here.

Finally, we want to emphasize the conservation element of Segera. Jochen Zeitz, the visionary owner of the lodge, views conservation in the 21st century in exactly the right way - pragmatically, where it works in conjunction with community and commerce, that in this day and age you need to include the community in your conservation plans, so they understand and support you. With Segera’s rangers, and that level of community support, no animals have been lost to poaching or bush meat in recent memory. That is a huge deal. By going to Segera, you are supporting this kind of forward-thinking conservation.

Room Tip: Villa 1 for the water hole out in front - game viewing from bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEscapists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Our stay was absolutely unimaginable! The setting was breath taking and the camp beyond beautiful, with an incredible attention to detail wherever you looked. The food was exceptional and the presentation by Chef Elizabeth will be some of my most memorable meals! The staff, lead by the amazing and talented Jens Kozany, was incredibly kind and attentive. Not only were they so helpful and fulfilled all our wishes, there was a wonderful family feel amongst the staff and the guests. Getting to know some of the staff was a wonderful part of the stay. Our tours into the bush were lead by the irreproachable Elvis who shared his incredible knowledge with us as well as his passion for wildlife. This is our first trip to Africa, I highly recommend Segera Retreat for anyone who wants a truly unique once in a lifetime adventure!

Room Tip: All the rooms have exceptional views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motofoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegeraRetreat, Manager at Segera Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Many thanks for sharing you incredible memories. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future, you will always be part of the Segera Family.

Warm regards, the entire team in Kenya.

Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The Segera Retreat is where luxury and authentic safari meet. The property itself is not only beautifully crafted, but also adorned with captivating African art. Each villa is attentively prepared each day and, having spent a week with the staff, I can assure that if there were something you needed to feel more comfortable, they would do their best to provide it. Your travel party will be thoughtfully accommodated throughout, from meals to outings, and pampering spa visits in between. The safaris are expertly guided and, if you wish, can be a private experience every time. Not only will you have the opportunity to explore the approximately 50,000 acres of un-gated conservation land, but also, the opportunity to learn more about the culture that surrounds you while at Segera; both on site at the C4 Gallery, through the books in the common areas, and through the well spoken explanation of the staff, as well as off site, at a community beading center in a neighboring town. Oh and speaking of surroundings- I not only saw wildlife while dining outside, but from my private balcony! At the Segera Retreat you are fully immersed and well taken care of. The high quality service and property is operated with a conscience-it is solar powered, recycles it's water, and is nearly completely self sustainable. Not only does it take of you, but also the space it inhabits. The Segera retreat is a very special place and I would recommend it to anyone seeking an African vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Devyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegeraRetreat, Manager at Segera Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dearest Devyn -
Many thanks for your beautiful words. Kelvin, Joseph, Elizabeth and the rest of your Segera Family are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards from sunny Segera, Jens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We have been to Kenya many times, but it was our first time in Segera. This place is mind-blowing. The retreat is absolutely beautiful, every little detail has been thorougly selected and put in place. The staff is adorable and the director Jens Kozany makes sure every wish you have will be fullfilled.
We were lucky to meet the owner Jochen Zeitz and his wife Kate, who have created a sanctuary of peace and sustainability.
A couple of years ago, game life was quite poor in this area, whereas now you see elephants, zebras and giraffes all day long. Going out on game drives with great guides it is rare not to spot lions. We even saw our first leopard.
There is a magic about this retreat and even after a couple of days our skins felt differently and we have never experienced that before.
It was a combination of exquisite food, anything was possible even a Fondue Bourguinone, I would say unheard of in this continent, and a continious feeling of being cared of in a breathtaking environment. Chapeau Mr. Zeitz!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank TinaFalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegeraRetreat, Manager at Segera Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Tina - wow, thank you for these beautiful words. So great to hear from you and your lovely family. Looking forward to see you again soon, you will always remain part of the Segera Family. Warm regards, Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
47,7 km away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
8,8 km away
Loisaba Tented Camp
Loisaba Tented Camp
#11 of 56 in Laikipia County
43 reviews
0 km away
Moof Africa Organic Hostel / Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
21 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Segera Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segera Retreat

Address: Laikipia, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range: R10 370 - R19 519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Segera Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re seeking to reconnect with nature and embrace a new way of viewing humanity’s relationship with the natural world then Segera is the place for you. Considered the gateway to Kenya’s wild, we bring you exceptional private service in a unique oasis. Six timber and thatch villas surround a profusion of botanical life in the landscaped gardens and from their raised wooden platforms gaze out over the savannah. The sumptuous Segera House and perfectly positioned Villa Segera boast similarly spectacular views and even greater privacy and luxury. The owner’s exceptional African Art Collection is presented throughout, while the magnificent backdrop of Mount Kenya can be viewed from our common areas. Delicious home-grown food is the order of the day at Segera, served in a number of locations around the Retreat. Experience the difference with a guided camel safari at Segera! Whether you decide to walk amongst the herd or ride through the Laikipian bush on these magnificent creatures… a camel safari promises to deliver a totally unique African experience! Our expert guides and friendly herders will take you on an adventure of a lifetime to get up-close and personal with the wildlife of this beautiful area and a delicious gourmet picnic completes your “Out of Africa” camel expedition.Did you know?With the support of the Zeitz Foundation, Segera is at the forefront of change in Kenya, in which it contributes to the vision of an ecosystem in the healthiest possible state. At 20 000 hectares, Segera consists of high-altitude acacia grasslands and is centrally located in the highlands of Laikipia. The activities here include cultural tours, bush walks, game drives and spending time with game scouts and anti-poaching staff. Helicopter flights are also available. This area is a sanctuary for elephant, lion, leopard, buffalo, eland and a wealth of plains game, including the endemic reticulated giraffe, Grevy’s zebra and beisa oryx. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing