We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
259
21
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
259
21
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the river ol pejeta game drives viewing wildlife comfortable experience northern white rhino bucket shower fantastic experience their lives rhino sanctuary night game endangered animals main tent hot water bottles at night ensuite bathroom whole team magical place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2019 via mobile

I don’t even know if I can find the words to describe the way that our family feels about this place. The experience, the people, and the grounds are absolutely amazing! The camp is gorgeous... it is located in the middle of a conservancy with the best views. The first night we arrived there was an elephant right outside the back of the reception office and after that we had monkeys and other great animals in the same area. The rooms are very clean and very nice! They are roomy and have everything that you need for your stay. The employees are INCREDIBLE. We had two guides (Duma and Mike) that took us on our game drives and showed us the area. These gentleman are some of the most kind and knowledgeable individuals that we encountered in Africa. No question was a dumb question to them. They taught us so much about the animals and shared their lives with us. There was also a gentleman by the name of Moses, he was the most organized person. We wish every place we stayed had him. He had our schedule down to a T and also had everything in order. He made sure that all of our questions were answered and all of our needs were taken care of. Lastly, we had three people that helped us throughout our stay.... Alfred, Edna, and Joshua. All three were so kind and helpful. Alfred always had a smile on his face and made us feel like we were at home. If we asked for it, he made it happen. Edna was so personable and learned our names and made us feel like family. Joshua was very polite, and always made sure our meals were perfect. We saw so many great animals here and learned so much. When we come back to Africa we WILL stay here again. As I said in the beginning... there are no words to describe the feeling that this place gave us. This was only the beginning of our trip, but we were so sad to leave these amazing people. We HIGHLY recommend this place ... please let them show you how great they are! WE LOVE YOU ALL FROM COLORADO! ❤️

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ssanchez17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2019

Hello,

Thank you for the fabulous review of your time with us! We are thrilled that we could all be part of such a special family experience and so appreciate your comments.

We are looking forward to that return trip to Africa and to hosting you again. There will be a very warm welcome waiting for you!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

Yet again, Asilia doesn’t disappoint. I was slightly nervous having looked at the photos on here but they don’t do the place justice - the tents are simply lovely, just like the sister camp Encounter Mara. The food is outstanding, the surroundings are outstanding but what makes this place is the customer service and staff. Pete, Stacey and Moses, you guys have worked wonders - right from the moment we arrived, when greeted with fresh towels and drinks, to the game drives, the sundowners, the delicious three course meals, this place wreaks luxury and special attention. All the staff are superb, even the askaris. They have thought of everything. I actually think the surroundings of the camp and layout are even nicer than in Encounter Mara. We preferred the more exclusive feel with fewer tents. We had young children with us and we also came with another family, yet nothing was too much bother for Asilia staff. The kids enjoyed the activities like painting and drawing. Thank you all so much!
To be frank, it’s not cheap but it’s worth the money so save up! We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank EVerghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Hello,

We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time with us and so appreciate you taking the time to post this review! We will most certainly be following your suggestion to ensure that our images do the beauty of our camp justice.

We do hope the memories made together as a family will be recalled regularly and will have you longing to plan that return visit soon. We look forward to hosting you and the children again!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2019

During my recent trip to Africa (#23), after my work is done I take the time to enjoy this amazing continent! I have covered a lot of it and I am always looking for new adventures. I happened upon a write up on Ol Pejeta Bush Camp and was intrigued. I was not disappointed! This is a little heaven on earth...My wife and I were only there for two nights but we were totally spoiled. The amount of wonderful animals we saw was equal in not surpassing our trips to the Mara. The best gem was the white Rhino Conservancy. Truly AMAZING to see these majestic animals up close. Finally, the staff at Ol Pejeta were just world class, so much attention to the little details. We were treated to an exceptional breakfast overlooking the marsh and a sundowner that made you simply want to sell it all and move to Africa..LOL Our last night the staff created a special dinner in front of the fireplace, our napkins became roses, (quite an art to do that) and our candle light moment was one of the most romantic we have ever had. JUST GO TO THIS PLACE!!!! You can really experience old world charm with all the amenities you need to feel truly spoiled.

Room tip: All seven tents are located on the river and all have excellent views!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank allenwc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2019

Hello,

It was an absolute pleasure to spoil you and we're so pleased you had such a special time here together. We're very proud to know that our sundowners spark such incredible desires!

Thank you for taking the time to put your review together. We would love to spark that desire to move to Africa again so we do hope we will have a second opportunity to welcome you on another of your explorations of the continent. Come back soon!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2019

Stayed here for 3 nights in a group of 3. Stacey and Peter (the hosts) are the most welcoming people and make you feel right at home. The staff are also all so kind and friendly, and provide an excellent service both with the tent rooms and the food at mealtimes! Delicious!
The rooms are lovely - our two tents were very spacious and had lovely decor. Each separate tent bedroom had an ensuite bathroom with toilet, sinks and bucket shower. The showers were excellent - you order a shower and they bring hot water, then you have about 4 minutes of hot water. If that's not enough you can ask for more, but conserving water is important so hopefully nobody should need more. If you run the water slower so less comes out at once then you get longer in the shower as well.
The weather was lovely while we were there, and we sat outside our tent drying our hair in the sun - don't bring hairdryers here... it's Africa! Plus they can't be used in the plugs or you'll fry everything.
The wildlife was incredible! Saw everything we hoped to, and got extremely close to all of it! (If you want our sightings list, it's at the end of the review.)
We went for two drives per day that we were there. Morning bush drive with bush breakfasts - yummy! Back to camp for a delicious buffet lunch. Out again in the late afternoon after siestas or showers, and had sundowner drinks and bitings (snacks) out while the sun set. One evening we did a night drive as well!
Our driver Abdi was absolutely the best, and we loved being with him every day. Almost cried when we came to say goodbye, as you just end up feeling like the people at Bush Camp are like an extended family even after 3 days! So welcoming and friendly. Sending you all lots of hugs!

Cannot fault a single thing with this camp. There is even WiFi available, although we chose not to use it - when you're in nature you should really immerse and take a break from your emails! Loved feeling cut off from technology by choice, but if you want to use it then the option is there.
(Also, we went to Soleo Lodge afterwards -Bush Camp Ol Pegeta is definitely much better for all of the wildlife - other than maybe the southern white and black rhinos. Saw much more at Ol Peg and loved our time there much better! The standard kept by Stacey and Peter is much higher, and everyone is much more kind and welcoming. Definitely preferred Bush Camp over Soleo!)
We will 100% be wishing for our return everyday - would love to come back many times to this lovely place with all the amazing, kind hearted people. We miss you all! Sending love and thanks from us all xxx

List of sightings: Lions (a female walking home, another female chasing a warthog and a young male with zebra kill), Cheetah (two sleeping right next to the road which then got chased by some female waterbuck!), Elephants (a herd of ~15!), Giraffe (over 20!), buffalo herds, hyena (spotted with babies, and also one striped), impala, Grant and Thompson gazelle, waterbuck, zebra, Rhinos (they have the last Northern Whites, several Southern White and even some Black), baboons, jackals, warthog, eland, hirax, vultures, hares, too many birds to list including Martial eagles, Kori birds, ostrich, superb starlings, lilac breasted rollers, and grey crowned cranes, and finally even two hippos walking along the bank on our last night.
Fantastic bunch of people, food, accommodation, and wildlife, everything was perfect and you're missing out if you don't go here!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SarahCottr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

Hello Sarah,

It was such a pleasure to spend time with you and we're thrilled your stay was so enjoyable. Reading this has brought smiles all round. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post it.

We do hope that longed for return will become a reality. We look forward to being able to welcome you again!

Warmest regards,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2019

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is like being with a family. Pete and Stacy, the managers and husband and wife, make you feel like part of a family. Eating is communal and one or both of them always join. The staff is superb and it goes without saying the animals also. It was a rare treat to see the last 2 White Northen Rhinos left on this planet.

Our tent was number 10 and away from the main dining and lounge tent. The elephants and buffalo were only yards away. It was a real treat to end our trip at Ol Pejeta Bushcamp.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita00331
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Hello Rita,

It is so special to be able to see those Northern White Rhino and sure to be a lasting memory of your time here. We are so glad you had such a wonderful conclusion to your safari! Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We do hope that longing for your Ol Pejeta family will have you planning a return visit! It would be a pleasure to welcome you here again.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews