We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All the Amenities and More”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Bungalow
Bungalow
Bungalow
Bungalow
Bungalow
Bungalow
Bungalow
Bungalow
Bungalow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MAFCGV
Palm Springs, California
1 review
“All the Amenities and More”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

After a rocky arrival - because we found the home had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. No sheets on beds - dirty laundry in baskets - no propane in BBQ - no toilet paper - no paper towels, etc. Once we made contact with the home owners, things were put into motion. Homeowners very upset over this situation and made concessions.
But this house has EVERYTHING!, From cooking and baking to entertainment.
Everything you need to relax and enjoy.
Spacious - Quiet - and Relaxing is what this home has to offer. We loved watching the deer meander through the front yard in the morning as we
sipped out tea and then watched them frolic in the evening in the back
while we enjoyed the hot tub or lounged in the hammocks. The serenity of the chimes on the back patio AWESOME!
Another nice feature is it is less than 1/2 hour to Yosemite's entrance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The location of the 2nd bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review after arriving to an UN-cleaned house! Not only was this mortifying as home owners but it was also a great lesson for us in managing this rental. We have since changed cleaners and have also changed the way we confirm the cleaner's dates. We could not be more thankful for the way you reacted to this issue and how you still managed to have a great time afterwards. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
1 review
“Perfect bad for Yosemite tour”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

So you're maybe about an hour from Yosemite gates but this place is worth it. Clean, spacious & welcoming. Very quickly felt at home. The BBQ & hot-tub are brilliant. The hammocks hung in a shady part of the garden are my latest go-to happy place in my head!
The house is clearly labelled for the visitor. Communication from the owners prior to arriving was quick, clear & comprehensive.
During the summer we kept cool and I'm sure the fireplace and ample bedding would keep winter visitors warm too.
If I'm ever looking for accommodation in this area again, I'll plan my visit around this place's availability & if anyone I know is going, I'll send them here.
The fact that even if you're only booking the house, the owners still don't rent out the other building is a great touch.
One tiny snag: for some reason, when I search "Midpines House" on the iPhone app I get "no results" but it's there if I search on the website. Weird. Maybe they're Android fans! LoL!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Spot near Yosemite”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We immensely enjoyed the Midpines House this December – some friends and I reserved the house to celebrate my birthday and enjoy some time in Yosemite.

The house is a two bedroom HOME – not a cabin at all. All modern appliances, hard wood floors, secluded, nicely decorated and very clean. As a hotel manager I was very impressed by the house and the little touches of hospitality made by the owners – a bottle of wine and a welcome letter set the tone for a very relaxing few days – there is a working hot tub with a deck, gas and charcoal grills, ample parking and lots of room for my small dog to explore and stay in sight.

We received a very detailed list welcome letter prior to our arrival that helped us feel confident we made the right choice in choosing to rent a vacation home over a hotel, lodge or any other accommodations.

One of the lodges in Yosemite was the model for the interior shots of the film The Shining – the owners of Midpines have a large selection of DVDs to choose from and, of course, The Shining was among them- it was cold and very rainy during our stay, so we stocked up the wood burning fireplace and settled in one evening to watch The Shining – terrifying!

We inadvertently left some items behind and owe the owners an apology for this – please accept.

If you haven’t rented a vacation home before, rest assured these guys know what they are doing and go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay – we couldn’t have been happier with the fabulous Midpines House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsomeD...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A truly wonderful place to stay. Comfortable, roomy, luxurious with a very large tree studded yard and bush outlook.very well equipped kitchen. Everything works. Being part gas and part electricity, we even got by during the 3 hrs blackout.outdoor hot tub is a real treat. Only downside, Yosemite a somewhat long drive.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl Z
1 review
“Excellent vacation house”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Excellent vacation house, very pleasantly decorated, very clean, everything is well organized and labeled.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing