We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
8 reviews
Living room with stone fireplace
Dining for up to ten
Full kitchen
King Bedroom with seating area
King Bedroom with seating area
Queen bedroom
Bedroom with full & twin beds
Located inside Yosemite National Park
Patio includes charcoal grill for outdoor barbecues
Large Deck with gorgeous surroundings
Yosemite West
Enjoy the spacious deck surrounded by foliage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eleanor-i...
Windsor, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“furnishings dated, overall smaller than expected, lacks some basics”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Three of us stayed this Halloween weekend. To my surprise, the living room/dining area was quite tight, considering this house is advertised to hold 10 guests. Kitchenware was lacking--maybe one serving spoon, a non-functional wine opener (and no wine glasses), no toaster and certainly not enough silverware if indeed ten people were there. I had purchased a living social deal and did ask for the nicest place, given there were only 3 of us. But one bedroom was deemed "the Elvis Room," with its red globe lamps and blue plush chairs. Chandeliers were out of place. The carpet included 70's orange. I hope this wasn't "the nicest" place the mngt company had to offer. Bathrooms were ok, except a toilet ran. Basic wooden chairs around the kitchen need cushions; we had to grab throw pillows from the sofas to be comfortable.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our unit. These are individually-owned vacation homes, without the cookie-cutter appearance so often found with motel rooms. As such, these provide clean & comfortable accommodations for those wishing to experience the beauty of Yosemite National Park.

The kitchen is a standard-size kitchen for a vacation home. It is not intended to be nor advertised as a luxury executive retreat. Any items needed can be requested from the registry; the toaster is kept in a kitchen cabinet to keep the counter uncluttered. You may not have looked in all of the cupboards and drawers for utensils and equipment. There are no wine glasses at this home as it is designed for family use rather than partying.

For those seeking top-level accommodations, we recommend either the Ahwahnee Hotel or Tenaya Lodge (both of which will cost much more per night for three rooms). Our accommodations are designed for those seeking a more affordable and home-like alternative.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgraham8
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Took a trip recently to Yosemite with extended family, and Brookside was a great home base. With three bathrooms (two full, one half) we were able to all get ready in the morning at a comfortable pace. It was nice to have a table that seated all ten of us. The living room and dining room furniture, as well as the beds, were comfortable and cozy. There was outdoor seating and several balconies which added to the charm.

With some modernization (WiFi for instance since we were out of cell phone range, updated kitchen appliances and general decor), this place would be a true gem when visiting Yosemite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
We are so happy you found Brookside Cottage to be a comfortable and convenient location to enhance your Yosemite vacation! We pride ourselves on being able to provide clean and comfortable accommodations.

Unfortunately, cell phone reception is spotty in this entire mountain area, although additional cell towers being proposed will help; all of our vacation homes have landline phones serviced by ATT. At this time, we do not have phone-based internet service at Yosemite West—but ATT has mentioned they will be adding fiber optics to the area, giving the possibility of ‘real’ internet service by next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike70123...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok place ...Clean bath rooms, but a lot of spiders”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property is very old, and has strong smell of moister. What bothered us the most, we got all stung by spiders. I little bit of cleaning and care, can make this property in much better shape. we were charged about 740$ for 2 Days, compared to Sequoias rentals who charged our friends about 1220$ for 2 days, but the Sequoias was extremely clean.
our cottage had 3 bedrooms, but they closed one bedroom, as we were only 3 people, they were very strict on the number of people


Bath rooms: Excellent, and very clean
Hot Water: always available
Kitchen: Good Conditions and very clean
Furniture: Old but ok, the coach was not comfortable to sleep on
Wifi: NO

if you are willing to pay a bit extra, I would go with more updated places, such as Sequois they are very clean and more comfortable
Coach was not good for sleeping

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: spiders
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for any negativity you experienced during your stay with us. We provide clean and comfortable accommodations at affordable rates, and want all of our guest to enjoy their time with us. We appreciate your compliments on our clean bathrooms and kitchen. We are located in a mountainous area, and sometimes the native inhabitants do get inside. Should this occur, we advise that you inform the staff immediately so they can be dealt with appropriately. We would like to point out that our living room set is under one year old, and that with three beds no one should have been sleeping on the couch. Our rates are based on the number of people staying on the property, and so we do need to enforce those numbers in order to remain fair and economical for everyone. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celeste W
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Lovely Way to Spend the Holidays”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I brought our respective families to this lovely forest cabin for a family Christmas. His father, who is a notable curmudgeon was pleased, and my mom who has had two knee replacements was able to get up and down the stairs, so that was good!

The person who answered my questions via phone was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The cabin we stayed in had more rooms than we needed, so they just locked the extra bedrooms and only charged us for the rooms we were using. Online booking was easy.

The facility was clean and well kept. The decor was dated, but the overall effect was pleasant. There was a nice open fireplace/hearth in the living room, augmented by central heating. Wood was not provided so you should be prepared to bring your own if you wanted to build a fire.

The cost was reasonable. Once we split the bill 3 ways it was pretty much equivalent to a night in a mid-range hotel. This company was much cheaper than the other rental cabin company in the area.

I would definitely recommend this cabin and company to a friend. This particular location is perfect for extended family getaways. It was great to have everyone together for the holidays in a clean, cozy, comfortable location where everyone could have their own space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely living room with beautiful fireplace and new couches.
Liked least: The kitchen knives were duller than most butter knives.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peg M
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A reasonable, comfortable stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Brookside Cottage was a nice place and a very convenient location for our large family of nine adults and two infants. The cottage was very comfortable and exactly as advertised. The people at the management office were wonderful to deal with an very helpful. It reminded my son of my parents house when he was a child, and on the whole it had a comfy, 80s/90s vintage feel. It was a bit tight for 9 adults. The fireplace was a hit, and the parking and access were fine. The only negatives were the lack of a laundry (we had two infants), and there was no wi-fi or cell service or those addicted to their mobile devices -- but none was advertised so it was expected. Overall we had a fine stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the fireplace
Liked least: no laundry
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$345
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing