We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome cabin - cozy, provisioned, roomy”
Living room with stone fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with stone fireplace
Authentic Log Home in Yosemite West
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
11 reviews
Living room with stone fireplace
Authentic Log Home in Yosemite West
Fully equipped kitchen
Queen Bedroom
Queen Bedroom
Bedroom with queen & twin bes
Bedroom with queen & twin beds
Patio with charcoal grill
The Log Home in Yosemite West
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Mutt239
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Triple D in Yosemite”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Dated, Dark, & Dingy sums it up. While the cabin boasts a fabulous location, it has been years since it has been updated and deep cleaned. The location was perfect and overcame some of the deficiencies given the time of year and traffic in/out of the park. However, the levels of dust compounded how aged and worn the all the furniture and bedding appeared. For some travelers not having AC in the summer may be a factor, however each night it cools down sufficiently.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Dear Mutt 239
Thank you for your review. We are glad the location of The Log Home was convenient for your stay. Since the construction of the Log Home
does not allow for lots of windows, you don't get that "Light- Open" feeling.
Many do, however enjoy the "rustic charm" of the 'Log Cabin'. When you return to Yosemite West we will be pleased to have you stay in one of our
newer, more modern units.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aelior
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome cabin - cozy, provisioned, roomy”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin was beautiful, charming, well provisioned. The children had a wonderful time and so did we. it's a 30 min driver to Yosemite valley.
Points too improve:
1. there was a power outage, which left us with no way to heat the cabin (there was a fireplace, but no wood), no way to light the cabin and no way to cook food (tough with kids).
The Yosemite West guys provided us with a duralog and some sticklights, but a lot can be improved on that. I would expect at least for emergency light to be available and some firewood (to be used only in such cases - that's fair). A gas cooker or a generator would be even better. I can imagine that getting a serious power outage in a snow storm could be very bad.
Another point - garbage had to be thrown in a special dumpster which iis nowhere near the cabin bu next to the registration office - i.e. drive it in your car everyday to throw it away. why can't a dumpster be provided to the cabin?

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
We are glad you found the Cabin charming and well provisioned. We at Yosemite West take great effort to provide for the comfort of our guests.

The power at Yosemite West is underground and the outage you experienced is very rare. We regret that the outage occurred during
your visit. We will take your suggestions into consideration and thank
you for your Review.

The National Park Service requires the special dumpster due to the
wildlife in the Park and due to restrictions, we are unable to provide
these special dumpsters for each dwelling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that you will visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marianna...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place, works well for families with kids”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Log Home for 3 nights - there were nine of us in total. The house was in good condition when we arrived. Kitchen had everything we needed: coffee maker, toaster, microwave, plenty of dinnerware and plates. Plenty of towels in the bathrooms. No shampoo - so bring your own. Also - while there're 2 bathrooms, there's only 1 shower in the downstairs bathroom - so taking showers after hiking all day took a while for all 9 of us. Overall, a good experience.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_m_001
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great in parts - be clear what you're getting”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Face it - accommodation in Yosemite is pricey. This is more affordable than many but be careful that you might not get all you expected. The house has many rooms but not all will be unlocked for you - you might think you booked 4 or 5 bedrooms but if the rental says 3 then that's how many are unlocked. Also, if you are staying more than the 3 night minimum you might want a washing machine & dryer - I never found any so I guess they're not available.
So if you book this knowing that, it's fine. Yosemite West is about 20 minutes outside the main valley. That eats up a bit of time and gas each day. Many YW properties are surrounded by other similar ones, but this one isn't - it's on the edge of the development with steeply sloping forest behind. It's very quiet and you feel as much in the woods as any city-loving English family could want. (If you stay in the valley be prepared for a sensation of being packed into your hotel or campsite).
Parking area is big enough for any car but up a steep slope which our SUV had absolutely no problem with.
We stayed in a heatwave, when the mesh-screened windows needed to be left open to try to keep the temperature down at night. No problems with wildlife or insects! Décor is OK - it's not new but it's fine. Satellite TV doesn't have a huge number of channels but it works. Be aware that in most of the valley there is no cellphone signal or wifi which is fantastic if you want to escape work for a few days - go to the Valley's Deli for wifi.
I'd stay here again but would phone to get the rooms clear (and to ask where to get any washing done).

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing