We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
233
91
31
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
91
31
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool swell bar huge aquarium abc store q tips ocean view this newly renovated hotel popcorn ceilings lobby bar waikiki beach other star hotels premium room cardio machines sink area basic amenities hotel gym the toilet seat
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I would rate this hotel a 3.5 star, it's not a luxury resort but it's clean and convenient.  It's not good value for money, but there's not a big choice in Waikiki. We paid for an Ocean View King room.  The room had an ocean view, from the side! We were actually looking into two other hotels. We paid $262.50US per night including all taxes (so we thought!!) 16 nights 6 months in advance from Australia.  BUT what you don't get told is about the resort fee tax that is payable on arrival!! This is a new tax the Hawaii has introduced and to say the least….it sucks! It added an extra $35US + tax (5%) per night. So another $582US had to be paid at check-in.  So now our special rate isn't looking so special anymore - an average room will set you back around $330US per night.

There's no mini bar but there is a fridge and American pod coffee machine which you can buy at Walmart next to Ala Moana shopping centre as you only get 2 a day and they won't give you more.  This resort also does not offer room service meals of any kind. No laundry or dry cleaning service, there's a DIY laundry available instead.

It's not cheap here, but it is one of the cleanest.  It used to be the old Pacific Beach Hotel which was only a 2-3 star. It's still owned by the same people, some of the staff have been here for over 10 years. It's simply a new paint job and higher prices than it used to be.

The location you cannot fault. Opposite the beach and walking distance to bars, shopping and restaurants.  The biggest downfall is the service trucks and leaf blowers that start up at 6am 7 days a week. We were on level 11 and the street noise is shocking. You'll be entertained all night with the horrible music that plays non stop from the resort's restaurant on the street below. After 2 weeks here we were ready to cut their power!

The Room - very basic. No folio book to tell you if you can even order room service, pool hours, what's available in the hotel or how to use the tv? Nothing.  The only condiments in the room is shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and a bar or soap. Not even shower gel or a shower cap.

The bathroom is small. You have to shimmy between the door and toilet to get into the shower. There's an electric toilet but all it does is heats the seat. It basically doesn't work. You still have to lift the lid and flush it yourself.  The air-conditioning is loud and is set to automatically come on and off, you can't control it. Off is the only choice - but there's no 'on’ button so it's easier not to touch it. It's on automatic and when it comes on it's like a Freight Train coming through your room.  We had a king bed which was very comfortable.

Hotel Bars - don't bother. A standard middy of beer at the bar will set you back $13US + tax. It's cheaper in Australia.

The concierge does not belong to the hotel, it's owned by Expedia which keeps the excursion and car rental costs down. So don't ask them anything about the hotel they don't know. But they will organise excursions easier and cheaper.

Pool - beautiful pool and heated spa. BUT don't try and set yourself up in a cabana by the pool they are an additional cost! Yep after paying  $330US per night for a standard room now you get charged for using the pool facilities. We asked why we are paying a Resort fee each night and we still have to pay to use the pool...no answer! Just set-up on a poolside lounge instead. But again don't sit on the lounges directly in the pool, you have to pay for those too! I also didn't like the fact the pool is not key restricted which means anyone on the street can walk up and use the hotel pool, which they do.  Locals use the pool as their own. I find that weird considering this hotel is trying to be 5 star? Maybe this is standard in Hawaii??

VIP nights! This hotel holds functions for external organisations and hotel guests are banned from going all over the grounds during this time. Lobby, lobby bar and pool are all out of bounds from mid afternoon until midnight.  One of these functions held a pool side function with a DJ poolside who played “doof doof” nightclub music until 10pm flat out and it's only Tuesday! Customers are not made aware and calling reception falls on deaf ears! They've got my money I'm no longer important to them!  Week 2 we were poolside and at 3pm the staff started removing the deck chairs and blocking the pool off because yet again another private function was being held at 6pm. So pool and bar were now out of bounds to guests again. This place is just downright rude!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kimbo767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, General Manager at ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Aloha Kimbo767,

Mahalo for choosing 'Alohilani for your recent stay in Honolulu. I am very sorry to hear of the inconveniences that you experienced during your time with us. Providing an exceptional guest experience is our number one priority and we greatly value your feedback. We are committed to upholding the highest standards of cleanliness and comfort at 'Alohilani and I have communicated your concerns with our Directors and we will be taking extra steps to address them. Please accept our deepest apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Matt Grauso, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

I would highly recommend this resort to stay at. Staff friendly, resort first class and would stay again. Proximity to the beach, shops activities were a great incentive to stay. Great food and beverage served!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank juliesims577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohilaniMgmt, General Manager at ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Aloha juliesims577,

Mahalo for choosing 'Alohilani for your recent stay in Honolulu. We greatly value your feedback and are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with our newly transformed hotel conveniently located across from Waikiki Beach, our dining options, including Iron Chef Morimoto's newest restaurants Asia and Morimoto, and our friendly staff. It was a pleasure to host you. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out if we can be of any help in planning your next trip to Honolulu!

Mahalo nui loa,
Matt Grauso, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

A most enjoyable holiday experience. Friendly , helpful staff and quality room. Thought the pool not big enough for large hotel. Found it too crowded with kids on floats. Overall a lovely experiece in a central area close to major retail, eateries and beach.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank heatherjean60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohilaniMgmt, General Manager at ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Aloha heatherjean60,

Mahalo for choosing our newly transformed 'Alohilani, across from the Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, and we are pleased you enjoyed our friendly, helpful staff. I am very sorry to hear of the inconveniences that you experienced during your time with us. Providing an exceptional guest experience is our number one priority and we greatly value your feedback. I have shared your feedback with our Pool Experience Manager to ensure that immediate improvements can be made. Please accept our deepest apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Mahalo nui loa,
Matt Grauso, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Amazing location, friendly staff, beautiful hotel! Close to beach and shops! Tons of restaurants to choose from. Rooms are inviting and beds Are super comfy! Great value for location! Perfect in so many ways!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathyciko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohilaniMgmt, General Manager at ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Aloha,

Mahalo for choosing 'Alohilani for your recent stay in Honolulu. We greatly value your feedback and are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with our newly transformed hotel conveniently located in Waikiki, across from beach, our friendly staff, and dining options, including Iron Chef Morimoto's newest Asia and Momosan. We will certainly share this with their Director. It was a pleasure to host you. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out if we can be of any help in planning your next trip to Honolulu!

Mahalo nui loa,
Matt Grauso, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Stay at this hotel was great and very comfortable.
Highly recommended - stayed on the 14th floor and it was nice and quiet
Recently renovated. Nice and clean
Centrally located and walking distance to all shops.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank faymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohilaniMgmt, General Manager at ‘Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Aloha faymena,

Mahalo for choosing 'Alohilani for your recent stay in Honolulu. We greatly value your feedback and are delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with our newly transformed hotel conveniently located in Waikiki. It was a pleasure to host you. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out if we can be of any help in planning your next trip to Honolulu! Mahalo nui loa,

Matt Grauso,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews