We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$300
View deal
Official Hotel
US$178
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
travelup.com
US$171
View deal
eDreamsUS$293
TravelocityUS$300
ZenHotels.comUS$302
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 920)
Filter reviews
1 920 results
Traveller rating
808
708
243
99
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
808
708
243
99
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area two blocks full kitchen hot tub lobby waikiki poolside surf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1 920 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2019

Just right. Location is fabulous, We walked everywhere and jumped in the ocean. Waikiki at night is a delight. Aqua Bamboo is just right not posh but nice people nice location. nice rooms.I recommend this place because it is so local and easy to walk about from and quiet

Date of stay: May 2019
2  Thank Mana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua B, Manager at Bamboo Waikiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2019

Aloha Mana!
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our corner of paradise, and that your accommodations and our convenient location all enhanced the quality of your vacation. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Mahalo.
Manager, Guest Services - Aja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019 via mobile

We stayed in three hotels in Waikiki during our two week visit. All three were at the same price point. The other two were lovely. I booked Aqua Bamboo based on TripAdvisor reviews which was a disappointment as the hotel did not look like the pics.

Yes the hotel is tired and being renovated but this is no excuse for providing beige, fraying, scratchy towels and thin, worn, stained sheets. The first night we were there it was too late to have the sheets changed after I discovered the stains and the state of the pillows. To avoid using the towels I wiped myself with a face washer. At least that was white.

After a complaint to reception the linen and towels were changed but there was little improvement. I was asked how my stay was at checkout and mentioned the towels were disgusting. I was refunded one night’s resort fee.

When I have mentioned the state of the room in other forums and facebook groups some have said there experience was ok. But why would you risk it? I should have read the one star reviews more closely and seen there was a theme of dirtiness before I booked. Lesson learned.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank ozlinda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua B, Manager at Bamboo Waikiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2019

Aloha Linda and Chris,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your recent stay was less than satisfactory, and that our effort to correct your concerns were not enough. We regret to hear your comments, as this is not the comments we are accustomed to receiving from our guests; however, we will share your thoughts with our management so that we may seek to improve our overall guest experience. Should you reconsider a return stay with us, we hope to welcome you again for a more enjoyable stay in the future.
Mahalo.
Manager, Guest Services - Aja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2019

We stayed 8 nights at the above hotel with all our family .
The hotel looks tired and need of an overhaul but the rooms were clean and neat.
The beds were except-able but the pillars were a bit hard.
The biggest problem with America now is the resort fees you have to pay per day per room and the amount of tips you have to pay which is a minimum of 18% and the meals are expensive already.
The outdoor pool area was excellent as we used to meet there every afternoon for drinks and relax it was excellent.
The hotel had a free shuttle to and from the Alana Mona shopping centre but i must say the trip was painful due to the driver never shutting up. I was glad to get off the shuttle.
You got free towels for the beach and beach chairs as required.
Great position in relation to the beach and to the shops like the Food Pantry also there are bus stips just across the road from the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
2  Thank ianmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua B, Manager at Bamboo Waikiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2019

Aloha and thank you very much for sharing your review. We are glad to have provided you with a satisfactory stay, and that your room's cleanliness met your needs. We also appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the need for an overhaul of your accommodations, and sincerely apologize for the unpleasant shuttle driver. We believe you will be pleased to hear that we have started room renovations, which are expected to be completed by the end of this year. Your valuable feedback will help us to improve, and we hope for another opportunity to better serve you in the future after renovations. Mahalo.
Manager, Guest Services - Aja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2019

How is it that we feel so at home at Aqua Bamboo? I think the start of a welcome from staff like Kawana, and Aja, sets the pace for a wonderful stay. We had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean, overlooked the pool / hot tub area - and then enjoyed those hotel amenities (whenever we weren't taking the short walk to Waikiki beach). We'd heard that there were renovations happening, but aside from some work being done to pillars out near the pool ... no sign of workers and equipment, no noise at odd hours ... just a perfect, wonderful, memorable stay!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank holidaybound1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua B, guest svc supervisor at Bamboo Waikiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2019

Aloha holidaybound1212!
Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that Kawana and Aja from our guest services team gave you a warm welcome and that you were comfortable in your accommodations. We can't wait to welcome you back to for another stay! Mahalo. Zenie A, Guest Services Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2019

We stayed twice on recent visit pre and post cruise on Pride of America (see separate review). Total stay was for five nights and cost was well under $800. $154 a night (including all fees and taxes) in heart of Waikiki, a short walk to the beach, right on The Bus (see separate review) line . Very friendly, helpful staff - good sized, clean room (showing some age, but remember where you are). Not sure a better deal can be found. I relied on Oahu Revealed and TripAdvisor reviews and we were well pleased with our choice. If you want to take advantage of the free DVD's, brush up on your PlayStation skills (I have none and was frustrated). If you want a luxurious resort. look elsewhere. If you want a friendly, convenient, excellent value this is a great choice. The pool area looked inviting, even though I did not use it. Free coffee and papers in lobby, great cost. Not perfect, but a great value.

Room tip: Perhaps higher floor for better view, but rooms will be smaller due to pyramid shape
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mforkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua B, Manager at Bamboo Waikiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2019

Aloha and thank you for sharing your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our convenient location close to Waikiki beach, shops, and dining, and that our friendly staff made you feel welcome and taken care of. It is our pleasure to help make your stay relaxing and memorable and we appreciate your kind feedback. We'd love to welcome you again for another fabulous stay soon. Mahalo and a hui hou (until next time)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews