We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$401
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/29
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$409
View deal
Traveluro
US$465
US$253
View deal
Official HotelUS$282
Hotels.comUS$409
ZenHotels.comUS$465
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 920)
Filter reviews
1 920 results
Traveller rating
808
708
243
99
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
808
708
243
99
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area two blocks full kitchen hot tub lobby waikiki poolside surf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1 920 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2019

Very central to waikiki, everything in walking distance. Despite other reviews here, we had two rooms with no issues with cleanliness at all. Both of our rooms were suites with kitchens, full bathrooms, and multiple beds.
The staff was helpful with suggestions and information that definitely helped smooth over the rough edges on a late night arrival!
The building is definitely older and could use a going over, but if your goal is visit Honolulu and Waikiki - not spend your days in a room - this may be the place for you.
We enjoyed it and would stay again.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Qpgmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua B, guest svc supervisor at Bamboo Waikiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2019

Aloha Qpgmr,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback and is pleased to hear your room accommodations was to your comfort. We are currently working on room renovations for a better and improved guest experience and would love to welcome you back once completed!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019 via mobile

To say this place is a sh@#hole is being polite to sh@$holes. Most of the upper floors were sold off as condos and are currently used as airbnb's so there is probabally no regulations on upkeep to include smoke alarms. I'm pretty sure the one in my room was over 10 years old. Even though we stayed in one of the private rooms, room 508, the whole hotel looked dirty and unkempt. If you look at airbnb and the room 508 pops up then move along. Unless you want a nice view of the dumpster below. Avoid this place at all costs.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank StevieRay1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua B, Manager at Bamboo Waikiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2019

Aloha,
We regret to read your review. First and foremost we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay here at the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, as customer care to our valued guests, the cleanliness of our grounds, and safety during their stay is a priority at all times. Unfortunately, we cannot speak on the condition of the privately managed unit 508, that you stayed in, but we welcome you to experience one of our 48 rooms we manage, available on floors two thru twelve, which offer both city and courtyard views, We encourage you to address your concerns from your stay in unit 508, with the host you booked with. Should future travel bring you back to Hawaii, we invite you to contact our Guest Service Manager directly to book your stay. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019

Property needs a thorough cleaning; the room was filthy with mildew on the windows, hair all over the bathroom, air conditioning unit discharged ashes and was completely dirty and unkept. Staff was helpful. I travel extensively, minimum 100 nights/year mostly on business, typically in 3* hotels and this property is a 1* property in a good location.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryno24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua B, Manager at Bamboo Waikiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2019

Aloha and thank you for your thorough review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed convenient location and helpful staff. However, the other valuable details that you have brought to our attention will be shared with our management so that we may address and improve them for the benefit of our guests. We believe you will be pleased to hear we have started room renovations, which will include replacing the windows and AC units. We apologize for any discomfort and inconvenience you experienced, and hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the future. Should you like to discuss your concerns further, we invite you to contact our property directly so that our management may address them.
Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

This boutique hotel is in a great central location. The staff are super friendly and deserve five stars.
We stayed in a one bedroom suite that had a full kitchen and two little balconies.
I am very particular to cleanliness and this hotel though worn down, met my criteria. I am a very detailed person though and found some things that could be improved ; having said that- the price was right for what we got. So if things were perfect you would pay way more for this hotel.
We got beach towels and beach chairs to take to the beach and that was great. Beach is about two easy blocks away.
We did utilize the hot tub spa as it got cold one day. The courtyard was clean and comfortable.
The other reviews about the air conditioner and street noise were correct but I just brought ear plugs and it was fine.
Upgraded kitchen appliances balanced out the the worn structure. We had all the essentials including a small table to dine and for that this was a great value.
The review is three stars for room and location and one special extra star for the staff.
Can’t give five stars due to worn parts, but again if it was perfect and new the price would not be affordable!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank samanthasL8650IC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua B, guest services supervisor at Bamboo Waikiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Aloha samanthasL8650IC,

Thank you for your recent visit. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your room accommodations was to your comfort. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our team! We strive for friendly and helpful service while exemplifying the aloha spirit.

We are currently undergoing renovations and would love to welcome you back once completed!

Mahalo,
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019

Back again this year for the 7th year and again its a wonderful place to stay.Clean rooms really good staff free shuttles,heated pool and heated hot tub,coffee all day down on the main floor,apples with newpaper on the main floor,with bus stop right across the street and less than 3 minutes away from the beach.Way to go Aqua Bamboo Staff for all the great work and gfriendly staff.

Room tip: Very good hotel and very friendly staff
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua B, Manager at Bamboo Waikiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Aloha!
Thank you very much for your 5-star review. We are so glad you enjoyed a wonderful stay overall, and had a wonderful vacation experience. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future!
Mahalo.
Manager, Guest Services - Aja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews