We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great suburb, close to the ocean and not too far...”
Diamond Head in the Morning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Diamond Head in the Morning
Looking toward the Mountains Dining Table & Kitchen - fully stocked
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Diamond Head in the Morning
Looking toward the Mountains
Dining Table & Kitchen - fully stocked
Maui Bedroom at Rear of house with private entrance
Pool Umbrella Stands
Pool Area from back of property
China Walls Surf Spot near the house.
Private Beach right down the street
Diamond Head View at Sunset
View of Koko Head and House pointed out
Kayaking in front of the house
Learn to surf near the house!
Jana and Steve Wedding June 2011
Evening Wedding Dinner Inside
Bride & Groom Learning to Hula after dinner!
Lots of Dive Classes in front of the house!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
musquit0
Tasmania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great suburb, close to the ocean and not too far from the city”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed for 9 nights and the house is excellent. There is plenty of room and Edgar is excellent. He is happy to help out and chat if you want but also gives you space. The place is ideally suited for a group of travelers or a family. Around 20-30 minutes drive to the middle of Honolulu, as long as it's not peak hour. A rock ledge that you can jump into the ocean off is 5 minutes walk away. Beaches are a short drive in either direction. Would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaktam
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Dont Stay Here There Are Better and Cheaper Rentals Close By”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Setting

The setting is both stunning and convenient location. Stunning because it overlooks Diamond Head Bay and the views are just “Stunning”. The location is perfect; It took us just half an hour to get from the airport in Honolulu to the house. And you are close enough to all the main town attractions like Waikiki beach and Honolulu centre to enjoy them but then just far enough out for peace and quiet. The house itself is just 5 minutes walk to the sea.
The house itself is in a high end residential suburb which has some beautiful houses.

The Owner

Edgar one of the owner cannot do enough to be helpful in both emails prior and during your stay. He is a top bloke and cannot do enough to be helpful but, being helpful and honest does not overturn a lot of the negatives

The Accommodation

But here is the big and I mean big negative; The house (a bungalow) is a mishmash of décor, its twee in places and over furnished in others. The whole house needs and I mean needs an upgrade, it needs decorating and finishing off. In parts it like a junk yard – for the English reader; A bit like Steptoe and Son.
Examples; The pots and pans have months of burnt on cooking that no amount of scrubbing will get them clean. Some pans are held together with wire as handles. The plates and pots are crazed from age. The units through out the bathrooms and kitchen are white melamine – circa 1970’s and in bad need of replacing throughout. The exterior is flaking and sad. There are two sets of dinning tables one that seats 10 and twee one that seats 8…..why????
A lot of things / stuff is here to enjoy until you try to use them one example; snorkling gear. The masks were filthy and needed some attention, luckily my daughters and I are qualified divers and did this easily. There are lots of fins but none that are serviceable.
Outside is a messy concoction of tables, chairs, sunbeds and more tables and chairs all of which look tired and need throwing away.
The aircon units in the bedrooms are both noisy and inefficient; A jet engine would struggle to compete, when they are running you cant get to sleep, when you turn them off – it gets too hot.
There are no safes, the doors don’t lock, even though we are assured by Edgar that there are no breakins and everything is safe. You try and go out and not be concerned that your passport will still be there on your return.
All in all some money needs spending on this house. The location, nor the helpfulness of Edgar does not make up the that we paid top dollar for a dwelling that is sad and needs upgrading.
The sad part is this report sounds mean – Edgar is a top man - but its an honest review of an

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: The property is bad need of renovation through out
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSch...
Laguna Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good quiet location, 20 minutes away from the City”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

The house has 3 bedrooms with each a one bed. The 4th bed is in the living room, all wide open. It's good for 3 couples but not more. While true a large house, it's long with a separate living room. The Ocean view is partially obstructed, without a nice setting so you can have dinner with a view. The house needs updating, paint. Some chairs are torn. The hot tub is nice as is the pool. But the surrounding are low key, the tikki bar torn, A/C units cheap & loud window units (and you need A/C in the summer). No ceiling fans other than one high up. Some windows can't be closed or opened, with little cover. No security, outside doors do not lock! Had to wedge an umbrella onto one widow so the rattle was not heard through our earplugs. No way to sleep without them and A/C and it never get's really cool. (I rented as I knew A/C would be needed) We have rented many houses, and felt this was over priced for the type and age of the house and furnishings, and shows on the pics better than in reality, but fair for the great spacious location, if that's what you desire. This is not a house I would recommend to somebody that likes it neat and clean. No screens on doors and some of the windows was a major drawback, you will have mosquito in the house with your friendly Gecko. Edgar is super nice, but should invest back in the property, especially charging folks 700 bucks and more per night. My family was not impressed. I liked it, but only for low key people. We rented Kona View Estate the following week (check it out, I highly recommend it to anybody) who charged less than halve for much more. Edgar does not take Credit Cards.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No screens
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jun 2013
Oh My! I am blushing...Thank you for such kind words, it is always a pleasure to have the house filled with Love and Laughter, so glad I was able to spend a little time with you and wish you all the VERY BEST. Hope to see you again, Aloha Edgar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colleen M
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Best Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We were planning a Hawaii vacation around a wedding on the island. Had never rented a vacation home before. This home was wonderful we had toddlers, teenagers and grandma. Edgar and Lynn were very helpful with anything our family needed. Everyone enjoyed this home and vacation. All of us would stay in this home again on our next Hawaii vacation! Thanks Again Edgar and Lynn - Colleen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The over all setting of the property was just perfect
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2012
Mahalo Nui, we loved having you stay with us, your children were so pleasant and seemed to be smiling the entire time. Wishing you the very best and the welcome mat is always out for you. Aloha Edgar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing