We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people have started booking this hotel
Expedia.com
US$234
View deal
Booking.com
US$240
View deal
FindHotel
US$240
US$171
View deal
SAVE US$69
Hotels.comUS$234
Official HotelUS$234
PricelineUS$234
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4 800)
Filter reviews
4 800 results
Traveller rating
3 203
1 022
326
131
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3 203
1 022
326
131
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the study sunrise pool pool area ala moana shopping adult pool waikiki beach our honeymoon min walk red lobster the main strip partial ocean view friday night fireworks city view heart of waikiki valet parking morimoto addiction
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 4 800 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2021

Great stay, the rooms were cozy, there is no balcony in the standard room which was kind of disappointing because we were told there were balconies in all rooms and they could have totally extended into balconies.
The lobby had a bar/club area that was not being used but that was a nice area, they offer several EV charging stations but they don't monitor who parks there. we had to fight every night with gas vehicles parking in our spots and the FD said that it is a first come first served basis. Other than that the stay was wonderful, the pool areas are very nice!

Date of stay: December 2020
1  Thank gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Modern Honolulu Front Office, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2021

Aloha Gloria,
Thank you so much for staying with us and we're glad to hear you had a wonderful time! Please note that all of our rooms with a king bed do have balconies but the doubles do not. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

This hotel in ala Moana is chic, updated, and nice bathroom. I was able to check in early. The staff from the front desk, bell service, and pool/bartenders were great.

After a terrible stay at another place, this place was wonderful. It was night and day Even the city view was nice for me since it was facing the ocean partially. Theres coffee in the room with cups and variety of coffee pod choices.

Another great thing about this place is the charging outlets and there’s a Bluetooth speaker so you can listen to your jams while on the spacious balcony.

They also will hold your luggage if you have a late flight back. I’ll be back to this place and recommend this place in Oahu.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank L2129ZYamandat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Resorts, Owner at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2021

Thank you for letting us know you had a great stay with us. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon! Warmest regards. -GP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021

I am very happy with The Modern. Most the the "not so great" things are out of their control due to the global pandemic but they have managed to work around it to make guests' stay as comfortable as possible.

Check-in was seamless - we arrived on Christmas day and it was pretty fast getting everything settled. We had an amazing room. (1Br Ocean Front Suite - which by the way are exactly how the pictures on their site depict it to be!) You cannot go wrong with TWO balconies! We were on the 8th floor and their regulations for their elevator was 2 people max OR 5 person max for families. There were three so it was not "terrible". However, during the daytime when the hotel is pretty active it is a little bit of a mission getting an elevator due to the occupancy restrictions. Here is a tip - if you are coming back from the pool on the 1st or second floor - take the stairs to the main lobby floor and catch the elevator there ;) Thank me later.

There is no room service due to the pandemic but they will provide you with a change of linens and towels at your request and you can leave the used ones outside of your door and they will have someone come pick it up. Same goes for garbage - they do daily sweeps and you simply just leave it outside your door.

Overall I think it was a great stay - they could have brighter lighting in the halls.

Date of stay: December 2020
1  Thank Mark_Antonious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Resorts, Owner at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021

Thank you for your lovely review. We greatly appreciate your constructive feedback and will keep it in mind as we work on improvements. -GP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021

My wife and I stayed for 2 weeks at the beginning of December, 2020 with Diamond timeshare points. The woman at the front desk was very nice and accommodated our request to stay in the same room for both weeks. The hotel was on capacity restrictions, and we got room 1626 on the mountain end of the building. We had expected only a "city view," but was pleasantly surprised to be able to see a sizable ocean view from our balcony. I think that from how the hotel is situated, practically all the rooms would be able to see the ocean, at least from the balcony (the higher the floor the better). This was perfect for us, because during Covid, our favorite activity was sitting on our personal balcony reading with the ocean spread out below us. The one caveat would be to make sure you have a balcony!

We liked the hotel's setting, next to the Illikai and inland from the Ala Wai Marina, and with the Ala Moana shopping center a few blocks away. It's across the street from a Red Lobster/Outback, McDonalds, and a small food store. It's a few blocks from the Hilton Hawaiian Village's sandy beach, but it has two pools and a hot tub. During Covid, we preferred our balcony: the pools were nice, but they were insisting on you wearing masks, even when 10+ feet from others. Our biggest difficulties were making sure we received a microwave oven (not standard equipment for the room, but we asked for and received one), and the balcony chairs, which fit the "mid-century" look they wanted, but were virtually impossible to sit in, unless you filled them with pillows to support your back. It would have been nice to have access to a lounge chair. We found the one ice machine and washer/dryer the hotel had, which were on the 12th floor. An ice bucket was a rare commodity, but we did get one when we asked. Our room did have a bar-type refrigerator included. Hot water was very quick to arrive. Elevators were quick as well. The street could be extremely noisy, but the windows (when closed) were very effective, and traffic quieted down considerably at night. The hallways in most of the hotel are VERY dimly lit, but you get used to it. The air conditioning was very good and very quiet. The staff was very friendly. We went through a timeshare presentation, but it was very respectful, and the vouchers we received could be used at the Times Supermarket which was about a one half mile walk inland from the hotel.
We really loved The Modern-Honolulu. Our main requests would be 1) a microwave guaranteed, 2) get more comfortable/usable chairs on the balcony and 3) lighten up the hallways. We didn't try the limited food options that were still available (pretty expensive), but had great access to multiple restaurants within a half block and the supermarket close by. It was a less than a mile to main Waikiki and The Yard House restaurant (happy hour) and Duke's restaurant (Taco Tuesday!).
It was very difficult to jump through Hawaii's regulation hoops to get there, but we had a very relaxing stay at The Modern Honolulu. They say they will be renovating rooms into larger timeshare-type rooms (kitchens, washer/dryer), but that hasn't happened yet. Until they renovate, this is a moderately priced gem.

Room tip: Quietest rooms would be further from the street, or a higher floor. Most rooms have ocean view at least from the balcony.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ianandsue2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Resorts, Owner at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your time with us. We are dedicated to your comfort and wellbeing, always willing to assist and provide you with the best experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort in the future. -GP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020

This review is for Kelsey! 

We arrived at the Alohilani Resort after our flight for the west coast mid-afternoon after a morning flight. We got checked in at the front desk and were about to approach the elevators to drop our bags when Kelsey approached us from the Concierge desk to welcome us. 

While I would normally prefer to drop my bags in the room and freshen up before anything else (including talking about planning activities), Kelsey was SO warm and welcoming that it was not the least bit inconvenient. She was extremely professional, friendly, conversational, and most of all knowledgeable about area and activities.  She made us feel like she was an old friend we haven't seen a while.
 
She not only helped us get set up with tickets/logistics for some activities we wanted to do on the trip, but also made herself available via text/phone throughout the course of our 6-day trip and was extremely responsive and did everything she could to help us have a wonderful and seamless experience. Stellar service. 

I can only hope that every traveler can have Kelsey wherever in the world they travel! 

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cemartin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Resorts, Owner at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2020

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! It is a pleasure to know our team has made your stay a memorable one. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future. Warmest regards. -GP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews