We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Breakfast Buffet”

Plumeria Beach House
Reserve with OpenTable
Plumeria Beach House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 2 604 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kahala Avenue
Description: On the edge of the sands of The Kahala Hotel & Resort, the oceanside Plumeria Beach House is our open-air, all day dining restaurant. Reminiscent of a comfortable island home, with indoor and outdoor terraces, Plumeria Beach House is an ideal choice for casual dining, quiet meetings and cocktails at sunset.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Food was good, but location was even better. You can order off the menu or you can do the breakfast buffet. Omelette bar, miso soup, salmon, rice, oatmeal, breads, muffins and pastries, hawaiian donuts, fruit bar, bacon, spam, sausage, potatoes. My son would have loved some crab legs (I know that's not a breakfast item). Guava and Orange juice, coffee. I made a reservation on Open Table. Beautiful view of ocean (sit outside). Parking was validated. It was a bit pricey for breakfast but the view was worth it and we walked over and saw the dolphins in the lagoons and the turtles. I think they validate you for four hours. I wish we had swimsuits on under our clothes and jumped in the lagoon. Beautiful beach. Next time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Valerie2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahala_Resort_Hawaii, Manager at Plumeria Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Aloha Valerie2270! Thank you for the great 5-star rating of Plumeria Beach House. We are delighted you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the beautiful views of the ocean. We hope you will dine with us again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We went to enjoy the seafood buffet ( offered on Friday and Saturday dinners). The selection and quality of food was good and bake for money was acceptable. Here it is the ocean /beach front location with outside dining which is the big attraction. Hence sadly this hotel has had a very mixed history of providing decent food and a high standard of service. On this occasion the service could only be described as sloppy - after all for a buffet dinner what does the service involve? A decent welcome , a description of what is on offer, taking drinks orders and replenishing drinks as required and clearing plates. The waiters failed on all of these tasks - and then had the nerve to add on a 20% service charge as our party was ‘for 6 or more guests’. We asked them to remove this charge and decide ourselves what we thought the service was worth - I am sorry but it didn’t come close to the expected service charge.
Come on - welcome guests properly - be attentive - be professional- clear plates! It isn’t rocket science - but skilful restaurant management is more of a science - and here at the Kahala, it seems to have slipped off the syllabus.

2  Thank GreatExpectationsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahala_Resort_Hawaii, Manager at Plumeria Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Aloha GreatExpectationsUK! We are disappointed to learn you did not have the 5-star experience we strive to provide all of our guests at Plumeria Beach House.We are will share your feedback with our team as we should welcome guests, be professional and clear the table. We hope that you will consider dining with us again. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

The restaurant for breakfast is very standard.
Lack of variety, everyday you will find the same menu, lack of different dishes makes this restaurant a VERY expensive place for having breakfast !

Thank Mauricio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahala_Resort_Hawaii, Manager at Plumeria Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Aloha Mauricio D! Thank you for sharing your experience. We are disappointed you did not have a great breakfast experience. We have a full breakfast buffet daily with made-to-order omelettes and our a la carte menu for guests. We hope you will consider dining with us again. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We had our lunch in Plumeria Beach House right after my wedding in Waialae Beach Park. We were a group of 8 and allocated us a nice table outside with an amazing view. They have nice food selection in their menu for lunch. Our special day was made even more special by our server & the entire team who took care of us and even came up to our table to congratulate us personally for our wedding day. They served us a complimentary cake which was really appreciated. The food were great, service is top notch, ambiance were amazing. Its a good place to dine either your celebrating an occasion or just casually dining.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ana Liza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahala_Resort_Hawaii, Manager at Plumeria Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Aloha Ana Liza A! Thank you for the perfect 5-star rating of Plumeria Beach House and celebrating such a special day with us. We are so delighted our team was able to make it even more special for you. We hope you will dine with us again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Took my son and his family and my husband here for Father’s Day brunch. Our table was outside with a wonderful beach view. The buffet was very extensive. Everyone enjoyed their meal. The grounds around this restaurant are beautiful with fish, turtles and dolphins.

Thank Cubette6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahala_Resort_Hawaii, Manager at Plumeria Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Aloha Cubette6! Thank you for the wonderful 5-star rating of Plumeria Beach House. We are so honored you chose to dine with us to celebrate Father's Day and enjoyed your meal together. We hope you will dine with us again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plumeria Beach House also viewed

 

Been to Plumeria Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing