We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/20
Hurb
US$259
US$196
View deal
SAVE US$63
Free cancellation until 21/06/20
Expedia.comUS$225
FindHotelUS$225
ZenHotels.comUS$259
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
127
176
117
44
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
176
117
44
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ping pong shuffle board game room free breakfast rooms are small yogurt hot tub the breakfast area nice stay time share late at night high floor short walk to the beach coffee maker corner room shops and restaurants diamond head
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2019 via mobile

My hubby and i just got back from our 7 days stay in this hotel. We stayed in their kingsize bedroom which was small. Including the bathroom. Though they were able to maximize the space very well. It comes with a mini ref, microwave and coffeemaker. The room looks updated. The weird thing about this room is the window type air conditioning is pointed towards the left side of our headboard so we had to put a cover so it doesn’t hit our faces while we sleep. On our third night the air conditioning conked out. But it was immediately replaced within an hour. I must also say our housekeepers on the 43rd floor were very nice and efficient always friendly and accommodating to our needs.
The room rate comes with buffet breakfast as with other H.I.E properties and with the same spreads. I only wish that they would have a little variety everyday like maybe sausage on monday and the next day its bacon and so forth. On our third day we just bought malasadas for breakfast since we got sick and tired of the same menu.
They have a huge dining area with indoor and outdoor sitting. The staff at the dining area a very efficient. They are used to the crowd and efficiently replenish the food, clean up tables and even shoo away the birds bothering guests eating outside.
The parking is on first come first serve basis. There are more rooms than parking slots. You have to settle for street parking if you run out of slot.
They also have a nice size swimming pool and jacuzzi on the 5f. With a number of pool chairs and cabanas. There is also a mini golf, ping pong table, chess game and game room good for families with kids.
Location is 10 minutes walk to waikiki beach. You can cut through the park with beautiful banyan trees. I prefer this than being right on the crowded Waikiki beach area. There is an ABC store across the street for your emergency needs.
Overall we had a pleasant stay and wouldn’t mind coming back.

Date of stay: August 2019
3  Thank Gsl_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2019

Thank you for sharing the detailed review about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We are delighted to learn from your comments that you loved our well-appointed rooms, attentive service, and delicious food options. We much appreciate your kind remarks, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jernell R.A. Mendonca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019

Hotel had more pros than cons.

Pros:
Close walking distance to beach
Located close to shops and food area
Free breakfast

Cons:
-$40 a night parking. Parking is not guaranteed. For 4/7 nights we had to find parking somewhere else. Honestly, save time and money and park across the street. It’s half the price and we never had difficulty finding parking.
-Hotel amenities close super early.
-Elevators are SLOW. You might have to wait 5 minutes or more to catch an elevator, especially if you’re on a higher floor. We were on floor 39.
-Laundry is expensive to do.
-Rooms are small
-High traffic area

Overall I would not stay in this hotel again. We mainly used the hotel as a place to sleep at night, and tried to spend most of our days out enjoying the island.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cynthiatravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2019

Cynthia,

Thank you for being our guest. It is never our intention to disappoint our guests, so we are sorry you were unhappy with the timings of our amenities. We are also sorry you encountered wait times for elevator service and that your room was not as spacious as you hoped. If you are back in the future, feel free to reach out our front desk so we can suggest a room type that might best meet your needs. We regret you were disappointed with our location and the chargeable parking. Please accept our apologies, and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.

Jernell R.A. Mendonca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2019 via mobile

The hotel is decent but for the price one would expect more, customer service for one.

Upon checking the attendant was rather rude, maybe having a bad day.

The parking lot is 36.50 a night but they have limited parking. Better off to save and spend $24/nt. across the street at the Public parking.

Upon arrival we parked in the Garage and to get out your ticket need to be validated. No one told me that. So one of the people in our party ran in while We sat at the exit gate to validate (garage is tiny no way to turn around or not
Impede exiting traffic) They were turned away saying only the registered name could do it.

The room is roughly 15 x 15’. I wouldn’t have stayed here but our company booked the room. I won’t stay there again.

High price, and no value.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Asestands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

Thank you for your evaluation. We were disappointed that the value for the price fell short of your expectations. We work hard to deliver service that is best in class, and you deserved better from us. We have followed up with our team to make sure we do not disappoint you in the future. We also apologize for the problems you experienced with our parking, and we will make sure we do a better job going forward. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to have another opportunity to show you our true hospitality.

Jernell R.A. Mendonca,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

.......but, that’s been a really difficult thing to do.

We stayed here once before (December 2018) for one night ~ in a king bed room. Getting to our room was a trying experience, as there aren’t enough elevators to accommodate the guests. Once we got there, we found the room to be uncomfortably small. And, the noisy A/C is placed right beside the pillow on one side of the bed (so, it blows air in one’s face all night). On the positive side, the room was clean and the staff was pleasant.

Being IHG Spire Elite members, we thought we’d give the hotel a second chance, as we earn points and perks with every IHG hotel stay. In order to have a bigger room, we booked their best: a “suite” (sort of ~ they use the term loosely). We scheduled our flight and hotel arrival for 3:00PM ~ their “official” check-in time. We waited in line ~ only to be told the room wouldn’t be ready for a half an hour more. Then it was another half hour. Then, another. Our suite was finally ready at 5:37PM. (Credit where it’s due: Sylvia waived our amenity fees for our trouble.) Next came the usual long wait at the elevator. OK, we knew that. Then, the suite...... It was located on the 25th floor. No elevator goes to the 25th floor. Seriously. So, one rides the elevator to the 26th floor, and then walks down a short flight of stairs ~ which would be fine if one wasn’t in HNL for medical reasons ~ which we were. The “suite” is one large room with one small cruise-ship-sized bathroom. The door to the bathroom was ridiculously narrow (see pic ~ yes, the door is all the way open). Again, noisy A/C ~ but, they do provide a white-noise effect to muffle the street noise below. And, for all this, our room wasn’t even reasonably priced ~ a bill well over $800 for three nights! Never again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gr8erEscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. First and foremost we apologize for all the inconveniences you had in both of your stays. We are also sorry for the unfortunate delay in getting your accommodations ready for your arrival, and for the maintenance issues you had during your stay. We understand your disappointment and have shared your feedback with the appropriate individuals to ensure we are well poised to serve you better moving forward. Please visit us again so we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us.

Jernell R.A. Mendonca,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

Hotel located close to the center, just 10 minutes walk from the beach. Near many restaurants and shops. Spacious rooms and a nice swimming pool atea. Breakfast is complimentary and average. Highly recommend

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Giuliadeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Thank you for staying with us, and for recommending us to future guests. We are thrilled that you loved our terrific location near the beach and many dining and shopping options. We also appreciate you highlighting our spacious rooms, pool area, and our complimentary breakfast for future travelers. Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, and we hope to have you stay with us again.

Jernell R.A. Mendonca,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews