We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$207
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/25
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hurb
US$314
US$178
View deal
SAVE US$136
Free cancellation until 21/06/25
Expedia.comUS$207
FindHotelUS$207
Lol.travelUS$314
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
127
176
117
44
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
176
117
44
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ping pong shuffle board game room free breakfast rooms are small yogurt hot tub the breakfast area nice stay time share late at night high floor short walk to the beach coffee maker corner room shops and restaurants diamond head
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018

Hotel was very nice and close to many locations including Waikiki Beach. While the rooms are small they are comfortable. However, they do have a $22 dollar resort fee that seems pointless. While the gym is much better then others the fee seems excessive. Pool is small and the extras they offer don't seem worth the added cost. Other then that the hotel is great and the staff is very helpful.

Date of stay: June 2018
2  Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We are happy you had a pleasant stay with us but disappointed there were a few issues that kept it from being outstanding. We apologize for any difficulties and hope you will come back so we can provide you with a better experience.

Jernell R.A. Mendonca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

The room are not really large enough for 2 adults. The bathrooms are extremely small. If you sit on the toilet, your knees will be hitting the toilet paper holder. This also has you wedged between the wall and the bathtub. They charge $22 resort fee, with horrible amenities. The internet is slow at best, the pool is again very small, they offer a mini golf that is nothing more then a succession of putting greens. The highlight of their amenities is the chess game from the 1980’s. The parking garage, which is $34 per day, has 129 spots that are for 500+ rooms. If you stay here make sure you take the rental car insurance, the van I rented has 6 new dents from door dings. There is only about 4 inches between each car. This is not a good hotel. The only redeeming grace is the employees seem to care and understand, as they hear it daily. They are very used to the frustrations.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank MrMeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear MrMeers,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip and for your honest review. We are extremely sorry you had a negative experience here, and we assure you all of your concerns are being taken seriously. Please know we are making adjustments and working to deliver better hospitality going forward. We hope you will consider staying at our hotel again in the future so we can provide the terrific service you should always expect from us, every visit.

Jernell R.A. Mendonca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Great option if you’re ok not being on the beach. Easy walk to Waikiki Beach, beside luxury shopping area, very friendly staff, and excellent breakfast included. We were on a higher floor and the room had fantastic views of the beach, the Princess hotel, and of Diamond Head (we know we got a great room). We were also able to watch the Friday night fire work display from our room. The rooms and bathrooms have been updated but are quite small. We’re glad we booked two rooms for our family.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 5onthegoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for being our guest at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We are delighted to know you had an amazing stay and enjoyed the beautiful view from your room. It was a pleasure to have you and your family here, and we hope to see you all again soon.

Jernell R.A. Mendonca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

Smallest rooms you will ever see in your life it’s an absolute shame. Parking is terrible and don’t expect to find ANY parking late hours. Breakfast is mediocre to say the least and the size of the pool is barely enough to fit 10 people. If you have a fear of elevators I would not suggest staying here. When we boarded the elevator, we suddenly dropped 2 floors and were stuck for an hour. There was no assistance and had to call the police for help. Overall terrible stay!‍♂️

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank kenechi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Hello Kenechi O

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take matters such as this very seriously. As a result, please allow us some time to look into this matter further and someone will be in touch.

Jernell R.A. Mendonca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I missed my flight into HNL due to a delay in a connection flight. The hotel charged me for a no-show. I made several attempts to talk to a manager, but was gaffed off every time. Even when I called to talk to the reservation supervisor, she quickly dismissed my issue stating that if she waived everyone's no-show charge they wouldn't be in business. What a ridiculous policy! Every person I talked to was rude, apathetic, and had no consideration for the customer. Don't waste your money here. There are a lot better places to enjoy your stay in Hawaii.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hello Chad B,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take matters such as this very seriously. As a result, please allow us some time to look into this matter further and someone will be in touch.

Jernell R.A. Mendonca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews