We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 210)
Filter reviews
3 210 results
Traveller rating
2 311
558
185
88
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 311
558
185
88
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the dolphin lagoon plumeria beach house seaside grill private beach arancino dolphin experience plumeria restaurant pacific dream photography lanai room koko head breakfast buffet four seasons our honeymoon turn down service free shuttle shuttle service busy waikiki
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 3 210 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

From the time we arrived we knew this place was special. Our room was large 500sqf + well appointed . We decided on a room with a Lanai and is well worth the $$.
Magnificent views of the mountains and partial ocean view which made our evenings quite enjoyable . The accessibility to the beach makes a whole world of difference quite and almost private ( beaches in Hawaii are public ) . Although we did not do the dolphin experience they where so nice to look at. The buffet breakfast was great , our travel agent suggested getting the room rate with breakfast he even included a 100.00 credit that made it even better. They have a shuttle that takes you to Waikiki which is nice . Looking forward to visiting next year.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JandLgoaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahala_Resort_Hawaii, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So glad you enjoyed! We look forward to serving you again on your return. Mahalo for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Kahala is magical!❤️
The beauty of Kahala lies in the location. You are about a 20 minute cab ride to the hustle and bustle of Waikiki for a fun day of shopping or you can relax poolside or on the beach tucked away at Kahala. The service at Kahala is incredible from the minute you arrive to the minute you have to leave. Our experiences at Kahala never disappoint... always excited to go back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tamtrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahala_Resort_Hawaii, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mahalo for sharing. The Kahala also offers a complimentary shuttle to key shopping points in and near Waikiki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

The Kahala Hotel and Resort is an old school smaller one. It is very peaceful, the staff work hard to remember your name, and are extremely kind and helpful. The food is all around very good, bedrooms are spacious, the beach front is beautiful, and it has most things you could want as a nice base on Oahu. From our visit, the people visiting include couples, families, and a good smattering of Asian weddings (or at least beautiful photo shoots). This is not a late night party / dj / people rocking out until all hours kind of hotel. It is also not a place to come and be overly budget conscious. That being said, it is a lovely splurge. If you go, be sure to walk down the hall of photos on the first floor and do try the Sunday brunch. It is sort of an event, so make your reservation early to get the best time for you. The salmon eggs Benedict is a religious experience. Note, this is not a brand new hotel or resort, it is more along the lines of not too shabby chic.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahala_Resort_Hawaii, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha, Debra. Glad we met your expectations. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Just stayed at Kahala and we are looking forward to coming back. Gorgeous place, super kind, friendly staff, a serene private beach (not really private but it feels like it), great drinks...
A few suggestions: the breakfast buffet could use more variety or daily changes, the pool bar and beach service need to stay open past 5:30/6pm, it would be great if the beach was lit at night.
Calling out a few names for the amazing service: Kal and Gary at the valet, Sharon at the breakfast service and Jesse at the beach service. We will definitely come back!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RXavier1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahala_Resort_Hawaii, Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We appreciate the very kind words! Your suggestions are valued and noted. Mahalo for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

My family stayed at the hotel for April vacation and got royal treatment all the way. The list of celebrities, politicians and athletes on their wall of fame goes from the Obamas to Snoop Dog.
For one, they have a world class golf course attached to the hotel, and it has a private beach with the most amazing sunrises. It is a little further removed from the downtown Honolulu madness, but we enjoyed the peacefulness and great food. The kids definitely enjoyed the dolphin pond. They have about 4 dolphins, and kids can suit up and go play with them at feeding time with the purchase of pass. The trainers seemed all friendly.

We thought about staying st one of the hotels at downtown Honolulu, but we didn’t want to deal with the crowd at Waikiki beach. It’s a little pricey, but totally worth it. There are daily free shuttle into town for guest who want to go shopping, dune out or just see downtown Honolulu. We too the shuttle several times to the zoo, aquarium, and to dine out a few times.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nnenna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahala_Resort_Hawaii, Owner at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Aloha, Nnenna. Thank you for your five-star review of The Kahala. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we hope we treated you like a celebrity! We're so glad your kids enjoyed our amazing resident dolphins and that you were able to use our free shuttle to explore Honolulu’s attractions. Come back soon! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews